Bechtel Plant Machinery Employee Reviews

Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 13 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regularly attending classes, helped me improve my programming skills!
Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAMarch 27, 2019
We all shared our skills with each other. There was never any fear of layoffs, so the job was less stressful. We were not allowed to work from home, so that was a little disappointing.
Pros
9 80 work schedule! Great pension plans!
Cons
Clean desk policy!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Crane operator (Former Employee) –  Portland, TXJuly 11, 2018
The pay is not good. Management is confused. Hours are not consent. Too many rainouts. Even when it’s not raining. It would be very hard to earn a living at this particular job.
Pros
Non that I can think of
Cons
Low pay. Minimal hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you want to train yourself
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  Monroeville, PAMay 8, 2018
During my short time there I looked for another place to work due to lack of training. It was a great job to get right out of school and gave me the experience needed to get another company to hire me. Not somewhere I would make my lifelong career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work environment but with great people.
Advisor Engineer (Former Employee) –  Monroeville, PAFebruary 5, 2018
Challenging work environment where there was a great comradery and support from peers and support groups. I was fortunate to work for experienced management that would provide guidance and direction when needed. Hardest part of job was adhering to all of the changing security requirements while maintaining efficiency and proficiency of the job. The most enjoyable part was completing a new test or design program with successful and beneficial results.
Pros
The company did provide many work social events both at the division and department levels.
Cons
Very strict security regulations, which were necessary, but always changing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get business and engineering experience
Contract Specialist (Current Employee) –  Monroeville, PAJanuary 3, 2018
A good place to work with great pay and excellent benefits. The experience you gain here will help you in your professional career or you can call this place home for a while.
Pros
Paid-time off, benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start, but not a great place to stay
Electrical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAOctober 18, 2017
Learn invaluable project management and written communication skills most engineers lack, but there are not many oppurtunities to develop technical skills. Most engineers spend most of their time acting as lawyers or technical writers instead of doing actual engineering work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Power Plant Operator and Water Chemist (Current Employee) –  Mishawaka, INSeptember 18, 2017
If you are an engineer this is a great company. Everyone else is considered subservient and their input is not valued or wanted. Not a place to work if you want to keep your self-esteem.
Pros
Working hours are good, no to little forced overtime
Cons
Management is scatterbrained.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here unless you are an engineer.
Procurement Specialist (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJune 20, 2017
The procurement department work environment is unhealthy. You will be micromanaged in every aspect of your day to day activates. You will have no authority to make decisions and any attempt to show leadership will be squashed. Bechtel is a very well respected company but this specific branch of the company does not live up to the name.
Pros
9/80 work schedule
Cons
Terrible management as well as no advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a Great Place to Work.
Electrical Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJune 16, 2016
It's a great place to work, but the hours can be very demanding. Also I can't describe it in detail, but you work on some advanced technology. Also while the majority of the work is project-engineering (exposing you to a variety of technologies), when things break you are expected to lead the troubleshooting efforts. This makes you dive into the details for any given technology. All this culminates in quite a bit of overtime.
Pros
Interesting Job
Cons
Lots of Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Contracts (Current Employee) –  Monroeville, PAOctober 11, 2015
Great company with great people.
Improved work/life balance recently.
Really great benefits and a 9/80 alternate work schedule.
Tendency to focus on negatives.
Pros
Benefits, the people
Cons
Negative focus
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stable Copmany
Electrical Engineer II (Current Employee) –  Monroeville, PADecember 28, 2014
The company is very stable and there is little worry or concern about being laid off. Working as a contractor for the US Navy is an exciting field and presents unique opportunities.
Pros
Excellent Heathcare Benefits, Many company sponsored events
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report

See more Bechtel Plant Machinery reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bechtel Plant Machinery. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 13 reviews
53
43
33
21
13

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
2.9Culture

Bechtel Plant Machinery Reviews by Location