Bechtel Employee Reviews

Found 1,501 reviews matching the search See all 2,404 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great place to work
IT Executive Support (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 16, 2019
The people make this a great place to work.
The people have worked here a long time and are accustomed to good work ethics. Family atmosphere.
Ethics and Integrity is a main focus.
Pros
The people
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Operator/ Foreman (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJanuary 16, 2019
Absolutely love working for this company. Great pay and environment. Opportunity to advance from within.
Raises yearly. And great co-workers.cant wait to get back with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointed with this company
Administrative Clerk (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 15, 2019
Once I found out that Bechtel does not give vacation, 401k or paternal leave following childbirth I started looking elsewhere. This company is the poster child why America's business class is failing. They even went out of their way to specifically put an exception clause with their insurance carrier thereby not covering any developmental issues or mental health issues. This would have been nice to have for my 3 year old with low spectrum Autism.

Little gets accomplished in meetings. For the most part meetings consist of a room full of egos trying to prove to the other they are smarter than the next guy. Weeks later the same problems persist.

Promotion from within happens only if you are part of the "good old boy system" or your husband/wife works for the company. Great talent on lower level jobs is completely overlooked.

As stated before, unless you are part of "corporate" you get 5 days of PTO per year. God forbid you have to use those days throughout the year, you will be left with no paid days when corporate shuts down over Christmas/New years break, leaving you broke going in to the new year.

This company is a direct representation of America. Those on the higher levels are rolling in money while the other 90% of people working for Bechtel are barely getting by. Complete Atrocity.
Pros
You have a job
Cons
Too many to list.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Advanced rigger (Former Employee) –  Sabine Pass, TXJanuary 14, 2019
I really liked working for Bechtel We stayed busy. But never was rushed to get the job done. They wanted you to do the job safe and professionally. Had a lot of good supervisors that actually cared about you
Pros
Always working
Cons
Never have time for family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place, fun and professional staff
Material handler and Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TX 77520January 12, 2019
Love working for Bechtel , fun people laughs and professional . Paid time off earned , lunches free sometimes , holiday greetings, caring and loving staff members
Pros
Paid breaks
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Crane Operator/Rigger (Former Employee) –  Portland, TXJanuary 10, 2019
Stay positive on job because you work with different people. You learn what you put out. Every job is different so you have to adjust to different rules per job site.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a hard place to work for
NS PBS Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Gregory, TXJanuary 7, 2019
They would ride you too hard and threw safety out the window. The people there were hard to get along with there management was a joke and they never cared about people's. Safety out there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i don't remember
Cost Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  houstonJanuary 7, 2019
Like i said, i don't remember too much about working at this company but i do remember that i liked it and enjoyed the people i worked with. i learned a lot from the personnel and would work there again if the opportunity presented itself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy Construction on a DOE site
Estimator (Former Employee) –  Aiken, SCJanuary 7, 2019
Performing Engineering Procurement and Construction ( EPC) activities in maintaining a Department of Energy DOE site in the CSRA Central Savannah River Area
Pros
Employee, economy booster
Cons
long work hours at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 year fullfilling career
Civil Superintendent (Current Employee) –  Monaca, PAJanuary 7, 2019
the typical day at Bechtel is every trade is fighting to get their own commodity in with little to no communication. I have learned a great deal about the value of making a great schedule and keeping the dates
Pros
people
Cons
next assignment are not lined out for long term employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
PC Senior Specialist - Google Fiber Project (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 4, 2019
Great Team atmosphere. Looked working with everyone. Relaxed field office with flexible work schedules and good perks. Management wanted everyone to achieve success.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detailed and thorough. I started for Bechtel in Nuclear and and worked in refinery, power plants and telecommunications.
ConstructionManager (Former Employee) –  Piping Supt. in Trinidad.January 3, 2019
My performance reviews were conducted on preset goals each year. Actual performance was evaluated against these goals. I have been evaluated as and "A" performer for my 23 year tenure with Bechtel management. Project management, cost and schedule,
creating a teamwork friendly environment and adherence to Bechtel safety program are key factors in our success on all projects.
Bechtel provided opportunities of all employees through its Bechtel University program which offered advanced trying in all fields of work.
Bechtel senior management was excellent and provided employees with a clearly defined schedule and support to meet goals.
Pros
Company values, safe work environment, advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Gregory, TXJanuary 2, 2019
good work environment, very competitive and fast pace. management was good all around
the hardest part in my job was just the drive
the most enjoyable part was coming to work with all mu co-workers they start to become family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Project Engineer II (Former Employee) –  WA, MD, CO, KY and NMDecember 28, 2018
Plan of the Day (POD) Meeting in the Morning at 6:30. Answer any questions that Construction had, field walk downs to do this as necessary. Then process design change documentation to ensure construction keeps moving in the field.
Pros
Very well organized
Cons
Weren't winning new work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Senior Engineer (Former Employee) –  Aiken, SCDecember 27, 2018
Pay and benefits were excellent at this company and included tuition reimbursement for graduate programs and other continuing education. Bechtel is good at building things and young engineers are giving opportunities to work on good projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Atomosphere provide a work/life balance
Site Acquisition/ Regulatory Compliance Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDDecember 26, 2018
I enjoyed working at Bechtel due to an awesome team environment and my co-workers provided the team effort both in the office and outside of work at other events.
Pros
Flexible hours and team work within the work place
Cons
Contract position. Such a great company I wished I could worked with them longer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place ever
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 19, 2018
Leadership was a no go. they were sloppy its was a very diverse setting and overall horrible experience. Said over time was available but only for journey men and fore mens.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very respectable company
Heavy Equipment Operator / Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Saint Croix, VIDecember 19, 2018
I enjoyed working with them. Management always listens to your concerns and settle any kind of questions we had. The pay was very good and the job kept you busy all day, in a good way though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
met some good guys
PIPE FORMAN (Former Employee) –  Sabine Pass, TXDecember 17, 2018
Worked here for over 2 years threw 1 and half trains. Got laid off at end of train 5 and waiting for train 6 to go again... Hopeing to get back on the team.
Pros
free NCR classes and move up opertunity
Cons
Bonuses, would rather have more pay an hour then bonuses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a fantastic place
Supervisor (Foreman for pipe) (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXDecember 13, 2018
Bechtel is a fantastic place to work very big on safety and their employees always willing to help out with a lot more then just the job (Family first) witch is a great thing to have and to see in a company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bechtel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 2,404 reviews
51K
4857
3339
2105
171

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight