Becton Dickinson & Company Employee Reviews

Found 613 reviews matching the search See all 927 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical large/global company
Field Engineer (Current Employee) –  Sparks, MDSeptember 12, 2018
There are 1000's of postilions at this company spread over many divisions that do not interact with each other. Everyone's experience will be different.
Pros
Happy with the management in my division
Cons
Long hours and travel for the field-based employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Not Great, Supervisor Worse
System Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Sparks, MDSeptember 11, 2018
My job was very one dimensional and the opportunity to move through the company is limited. My supervisor was very strict which made the environment very tense.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment, great company
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Covington, GASeptember 11, 2018
A typical work day was pretty fast paced, you had to pay attention to detail in order to comply with company standards. I had a great staff that worked under my supervision. they made my position a commonly stress free one.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
employee accountability
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay
Informal leader for respective line (Former Employee) –  Broken Bow, NESeptember 10, 2018
The pay is incredible for the town and the cost of living. I usually learned something new everyday. Management is some departments was good but most management never kept there employees informed. The hardest part of the job was dealing with some of the lazy people and them taking long breaks when they where not allowed. I loved to be hands on and in my position that was an every day occurrence.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So far a great place.
Quality Specialist 3 (Current Employee) –  Four Oaks, NCSeptember 10, 2018
I enjoy the 5 day work week. I can say that the work life balance exist here. The management is alright- you have to learn on your own and that is fine.
Pros
Relaxed environment
Cons
No paid sick time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reative business culture
Shipping Supervisor (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 8, 2018
Very fast pace work environment, managers have there own agendas not aligned among them self's. Work culture is very reactive no consistency from day to day activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to career development
Technical support (Former Employee) –  Municipio de Juncos, PRSeptember 6, 2018
In my suite was a shortage of personnel , that make long work days. But the management try to avoid work overload. our product was unique that generate stress when we have problems with the equipment
Pros
good retirements benefits
Cons
log work days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
(BD) Laboratory Technician Lead (Formulation) (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 4, 2018
BD has great environment and everyone is very helpful and work as a team.Bd is a worldwide company helping lives of people. It offers many benefits to each employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Process Engineering Technician (Current Employee) –  Sumter, SCSeptember 2, 2018
Work at BD is very fast paced. The work force is very lean and most people end up doing 2-3 different jobs. It is very hard to stay ahead here. It is overall a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
ITLP INTERN (Former Employee) –  Franklin Lakes, NJAugust 30, 2018
Good company to work for
I liked working for them
My manager was ok
Bogged down by corporate bureaucracy
Large company
Slow work
Learned a decent amount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Supervisors
Quality Assurance Specialist I (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 29, 2018
I was selected to assist in the review of SOPs and Work Instructions as an outside entity to ensure the documents were easy to follow and covered what was actually being done to prepare for a Corp. Audit. I was under a short term contract and I reported directly to the Head of Quality Assurance with my findings.

Later, post audit, I was additionally added to responsibility to track low level Corrective Action Reports (CARs) to ensure they were being properly updated, completed or upgraded depending on their effectiveness or progress.

Most of the workforce is under contracted positions so upward mobility is difficult.

I enjoyed working with the majority of my coworkers. We supported and assisted each other as needed.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Difficulty getting a non-contracted position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The benefits were good the compny ok
Warehouse Utility (Former Employee) –  Columbus, NEAugust 29, 2018
The benefits good, the company ok, understaffed in some departments. High paced. I really didn't want to write a review------,,-,-------,-----------------'zzzxxxxx
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Quality Assurance Technician (Former Employee) –  Woburn, MAAugust 28, 2018
collaborative and working as team keeps the job moving fast and like the management when it comes to the workplace culture throught it all its a very nice and wonderful place to work
Pros
good people
Cons
too much some times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Canaan, CTAugust 28, 2018
Good people. Management wasn't that bad. Clean place to work. Pay was ok. Café was nice and offered different options. Convenient location. Learned new skills
Pros
People
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production goal was too high
Assembly Operator (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 27, 2018
The production goal was too high. The production managers do not understand the pain the assemblers are going through. When you're near the target of 125 units, the production managers are quick to rush you to build 180 units. Most assemblers would wake up unable to move their fingers and after reporting your injury they just let you go just like that. They highly discourage labor unions and fear was instilled with the assemblers on the floor because majority are immigrants that are stuck with "It pays the bills"
Pros
None
Cons
Management is too micro managed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tax Accountant
Sales & Use Tax Accountant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 23, 2018
Typical day at BD, running for financial data and creating Excel macro to speed up the processes. Validating the datasets and reviewing the information that got posted on their ERP System. As an employee we were always told to "Do the right thing at all time".
Pros
Information meetings on inclusion of adversity
Cons
Short break after each workshop.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Senior Business Intelligent Developer (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 21, 2018
Company as a whole is a good place but under certain leadership is something to desire. Benefits are good compare to others. Certain culture still hasn't changed even thought we are supposed to be one BD.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small site location with small site politics
QC Scientist Sr. (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLAugust 19, 2018
For Miami Site only:
Apparently, the culture in the Miami site deviates from that of BD as a whole. There is small site politics and not much innovation. If your ideas differ from those of the few key members with control, you might as well leave soon after you start because your career will not advance. Conversely, if you strike up a personal relationship with those "key" members you will advance quickly.
Pros
Work/ life balance
Cons
limited advancement, lack of innovation, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company.
Quality Assurance Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Franklin Lakes, NJAugust 16, 2018
BD is a great company to work for. I like to do the right thing. I gained a lot of experience at BD. I got to travel for work witch was great. The company provides great benefits.
Pros
I loved working there.
Cons
It was too far of a commute after I got sick.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I felt like James Bond 007 going out on assignments.
Senior Product Analyst (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 14, 2018
This was strictly a field service usually out of town job. There was little opportunity to associate with other employees. You were either at home or out in the field or back in the office finishing paperwork.
Pros
You had a great deal of independence.
Cons
There was a lot of travel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Becton Dickinson & Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 927 reviews
5345
4341
3167
249
125

See reviews about

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Women's ratings

2.8Fairygodboss Score

17%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

67%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss