Bell Nursery Employee Reviews

Showing all 87 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working in the sun
Garden Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Upper Darby, PAJune 21, 2019
For me this was the perfect garden job. Rain or shine. Fast paced and nice management who worked with me. My coworkers were nice and most of the time you work by yourself which is heavenly because the job is super easy.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
each day was anew day.which was good
Lead Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Annapolis, MDJune 20, 2019
the company was very good to work for. they were great in there pay and you clocked in over the phone.there plants were top notch.as well as there training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management i've ever experienced, managers micromanaged everything you did.
Product Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Ashburn, VAJune 15, 2019
I worked here last year, and it was great. The managers were never breathing down your neck and you usually worked by yourself. You would come in at 8am and do the work you were assigned until you were scheduled to leave. The managers told me at the beginning of the job that they were open to new ideas and ways to get work done. They also told me it would be like last year where we would basically run the store ourselves and do the work the way we thought was best. It couldn't have been a bigger lie. For the month or so i worked there this season (before quitting) it was just the managers telling me what to do and how to do it. If you try to do something your way or try to do it in a more efficient way you get chastised and they wont allow it. Both of the managers were never on the same page which led to having to do things over and over and undoing things just to redo them later. It was very aggravating. They would always micro-manage everything you did because they wanted it to be done their way. The managers would come in earlier than us merchandisers and they would do a large portion of the work which resulted in me having to leave early alot of the days because there was simply not enough work to do. This resulted in low hours and ultimately low pay. Only when the managers left for the day did it feel like last years experience. I was disappointed to see how awful the job had become as i was excited to work for team purple again. Oh well.
Pros
decent pay, easy work (for the most part), free water (sometimes)
Cons
terrible management, headache inducing work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Bad Management
Product Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Ashburn, VAJune 15, 2019
First off, this job is extremely easy and the work itself is not that bad. However, both managers here are terrible and breath down your necks 24/7. Not to mention my manager was extremely picky and only wanted things done his way even if another manager/district manager would say it is ok. Ultimately resulting in the team redoing the entire store. Another big con was that one of my “managers” wasn’t supposed to even be in that store. Thats right, she was assigned to a leesburg store but since she was dating the other manager (which im pretty sure is not allowed) she would come in to drive his sister who could not speak english well or do 50% of the work. She couldn’t reach the top carts, speak fluent english, or lift some of the product. She was clearly given the job due to her relationship with the manager. Another extremely big con was how poorly the instructions were given by the managers. An example would he “hey can u put those over there next to those guys” and i would have absolutely no idea what he was talking about. If that wasn’t bad enough, some texts I received from the manager would be grammatically incorrect. One example i have saved in my phone is “I’m just asking on the group chat ok for the people that are in today ??” If anyone can translate please do. Also, despite their intimate relationship, both managers were often confused and never on the same page resulting in the employees redoing their mistakes. Overall, i would give bell nursery no more than a 1 star review. If you would like to be greeted by a man who is clearly not intelligent at all, super passive  more... aggressive, and is borderline arrogant, then bell nursery is the job for you.  less
Pros
Easy work, decent pay
Cons
My entire review
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work place
Seasonal Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Broomall, PAJune 5, 2019
I love working at bell, it keeps you fit, you get to interact with people, and learn many new things about flowers. Its fast paced, but exciting. They work with your schedule. It is seasonal, but they are an amazing company!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent seasonal fast-paced working outside
Merchandiser Seasonal (Current Employee) –  Hampton, VAMay 22, 2019
every year is different. love my boss but not the pay or that there is no room for advancing. This year has been a lot more labor than previous years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
Dock Worker (Current Employee) –  Newark, DEMay 8, 2019
Was one of the easiest labor jobs i had you pick orders n roll carts around a warehouse for 8 hrs unless you wanna stay for oveetime it gets busy for a few months then dies off but people was cool ill be back had to move all day
Pros
Cool people and boss
Cons
Seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked for 2 years but manager changed I believe she did not like men on her staff
Manage Merchandise Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 27, 2019
Worked there and I think I did a great untill new supervisor came in I think she did not like men around the operation
I never understood why I never got why I never got called back but I think it was because I was a man
Pros
Colorful
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to work for a company that’s all about lies and this is your company the management is horrible
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  MichiganMarch 7, 2019
I worked for this company for over a year all they did is lie lie and lie the management is horrible it is ran awful They say one thing they do the other they promise you stuff and never come through they treat you horribly their product far as annual and perennials last summer we awful
Cons
Horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 10Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting job
Seasonal Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Broomall, PAFebruary 25, 2019
Since i worked last, it has changed a lot both with management and the company itself. It should be a lot better now. Great way to start off in the workforce / get a first check.

Typical day is watering flowers, restocking, setting up a display sometimes, unpacking deliveries on others.

Hardest part is moving the wheeled carts around the store to the back. They're heavy when all together.

Lunch is the most enjoyable. Wendys right next door? Score.

Overall i learned a few things about plants.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great oppurutnity
Warehouse Floorman (Former Employee) –  Elkridge, MDDecember 24, 2018
I had a chance to start working with the company for about a year and had a good experience. My job was to stock the plants as well as put them on the departing trucks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun.
Merchandizing Associate (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCDecember 20, 2018
Bell Nursery was a fun and productive place to work. I gained a great deal of knowledge about flowers and plants. I just wish it was not a seasonal job and they had more hours for me.
Pros
Gained knowledge of flowers and plants
Cons
Not enough hours only seasonal work
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Go at your own pace job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Elkridge, MDNovember 7, 2018
Bell nursery is a very good place to work if your about your money easy money can be made . I was working almost 50 hours a week with no hesitation.... i was a seasonal worker tho.. i hope they call me back
Pros
(One) any time of the day break
Cons
Working in the rain
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bell Nursery
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  High Point, NCOctober 22, 2018
Working for Bell Nursery was a huge learning experience. I worked alone many days. The hardest part of the job was working in the cold/rain. We used our hands for every task so it was difficult to have cold and wet hands. The most enjoyable part of the job was working outdoors, organizing the beautiful plants.
Pros
Beautiful days, meeting people, learning about plants
Cons
Cold, rainy days
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work for
Nursery Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Glen Burnie, MDOctober 3, 2018
it was a good company to work for if it was not for lack of benefits and having 2 mouths of every year i mite still for them it was fun I was aloud to run my store and my knowledge was apricated
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced warehouse work
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Montpelier, VAOctober 1, 2018
Come in, go to plant grounds and relocate them back on distribution floor. Learned to tell the differences of plant species. Also learned a few styles of horticulture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Seasonal merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Greenwood, INAugust 26, 2018
I liked working there. I am very independent and this job gave me the ability to do that. Any time I had a question my supervisor was there with an answer and if she didn't have one she would get back with me quickly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for a seasonal full/part-time job
Seasonal Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  South Hill, VAAugust 18, 2018
This was a seasonal merchandising job. The job started out as full time, but then as the gardening season started to wind down so did my hours. I enjoyed the work and the work environment. Most of the work was out doors in the garden center. This job was very rewarding. I learned a great deal about different plants and caring for plants. I was given a planogram to follow then left alone to complete the work. This job required a lot of physical activity such as lifting, pulling, reaching, kneeling and pushing carts. For a short time I supervised two part time employee's. Regular inventories were also required.
Pros
Good working conditions
Cons
Seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great small team, bad management
Lead Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VAAugust 12, 2018
Managers aren't at stores daily so they pick favorites without knowing work ethics. I enjoyed 1 of my 3 team cre, the other employee sand bagged us and caused us to work twice as hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Area Manager (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDAugust 12, 2018
Just ok.
Pay should be better given expectation
No room for growth
Might be better as pre-retirement job or job after retirement then pay not issue as you're getting SS
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bell Nursery. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 87 reviews
523
424
320
29
111

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.7Compensation/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

1.9Personal Development

2.4Career Opportunities

2.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight