Ben & Jerry's Employee Reviews

Found 291 reviews matching the search See all 328 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teen Job
Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 8, 2018
Not for adults. Catering to younger people of you are looking for a career Ben and Jerrys through this particular company is not where you need to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for highschool
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  West New York, NJOctober 18, 2018
I worked here when I was a Sophomore in Highschool, it was a very good starter job. It taught me the basics of work ethic and how to juggle work and school at during my adolescents.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Worker
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  VermontOctober 12, 2018
Great company to work for. Ben and Jerry's really cared about their employees and their community. There was always classes available for advancement, opportunity to learn in other departments. A great group of people ❤️
Pros
The team players/workers
Cons
The company moved
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and fun friendly enviorment.
Store/Catering Manager (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PASeptember 28, 2018
Typical day for me was making baked goods, decorating cakes, serving customers and managing others. i leaned a lot of management and people skills. over all great environment great employees and greta customers.
Pros
Trying new products, meeting new people.
Cons
Busy times during on season
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard and Fast Paced Working Environment
Scooper/Cashier (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CASeptember 25, 2018
• Expect the unexpected
• Ice Cream isn’t as easy as what you think it is
• Be prepared for long periods of standing and moving
• Be prepared for the busyness especially in the summer
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun working place
Scooper/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Yorktown, VA 23690September 19, 2018
It is a great place to work. Everybody is friendly and kind. You meet loads of different people and get loads of customer service experience. It’s a wonderful for a first job, part-time job, and full-time. The vibe there is just amazing.
Pros
Discounts on products
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small cute place to sit and have ice cream
Manager Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 18, 2018
Ben and Jerry’s can do better as a company and stores need a little more work. Employees need benefits. Also they need to be treated better. Should have payed vacation and sick days.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place needs better management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 14, 2018
A typical morning is making waffle cones,bowls,brownies,scooping ice cream,makn milkshakes,and ice cream cakes.It gets messy throughout the day you’re going to get sticky.
Pros
Meeting friendly customers, co-workers, and enjoying ice cream
Cons
Slow paced, barely any hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, MASeptember 4, 2018
Working here prepares you for positive attitude and great customer service. While working here I’ve learned to maintain a positive attitude and have a fun one serving customers and meeting people. Along with the business side I’ve leared how to take inventory and order materials for my job and handle my shop alone on shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun friendly work place
Server (Former Employee) –  Naples, FLSeptember 1, 2018
I loved the other employees, they were fun and upbeat. This job is flexible with hours. It is clean and organized. Great first job for a high schooler to have!
Pros
Tips
Cons
Get off late
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bdfghj
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Santa Clarita, CAAugust 28, 2018
Clean and supply designated building areas (dusting, sweeping, vacuuming, mopping, cleaning ceiling vents, restroom cleaning etc). Perform and document routine inspection and maintenance activities. Carry out heavy cleansing tasks and special projects. Notify management of occurring deficiencies or needs for repairs. Make adjustments and minor repairs. Stock and maintain supply rooms. Cooperate with the rest of the staff. Follow all health and safety regulations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Ridgewood, NJAugust 26, 2018
Great company to work for. overall friendly environment. Fast paced during the busy season and a lot of down time during the off season. great morals within the company from corporate all the way through the to the franchises.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy mind numbing work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CAAugust 22, 2018
Perfect for a high school grad or a college freshmen. This is an easy job that requires minimal effort and even less responsibility. Have fun tasting ice cram all day, just make sure not to over indulge in samples and switch up your scooping arm.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
cashier, keyholder (Former Employee) –  Ventura, CAAugust 9, 2018
Owner is a pervert and an alcoholic. Management is nonexistent. Had to work 6+ days a week and overtime was unpaid. I walked out and they begged me to come back because all of the employees were quitting.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice enviroment
Part-Time Employee (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRAugust 2, 2018
It is a busy enviroment, nice people and amazing ice cream. I learn a lot in the food industry and how to serve customers. Everyone fits at Ben and Jerry's.
Pros
the ice cream flavors are amazing
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
took inventory of and placed orders maintaining a functional stock of supplies
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYJuly 31, 2018
one day at work it was a busy day i was the only one on my side that some of my team didnt come in so it was two of us .so we had to do everything which was make the ice cream the milkshake
we had to be really fast and not mess up on people orders.It was so hard but we made it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced and flexible workplace
Supervisor / Off-Premise Manager (Current Employee) –  Uncasville, CTJuly 30, 2018
Ben & Jerry's continues to be an outstanding company to work for as far as community involvement and valuing their staff is concerned. The location I work for is particularly busy so it makes for a quick -feeling work day. The job entails a decent amount of light lifting (Nothing over 30 lbs. usually), and involves a heavy amount of standing and walking.
Pros
30 minutes for break (paid)
Cons
Sometimes overwhelming amount of customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty and unorthodox
Scooper/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mount Kisco, NYJuly 30, 2018
Managers were extremely rude and treated everyone below them inferior. I worked extremely hard and was still treated like garbage. Would not recommend anyone to work here.
Pros
Free ice cream on the job
Cons
Rude managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with diverse staff
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Myrtle Beach, SCJuly 21, 2018
The staff is a collection of unique individuals who create a truly inclusive and welcoming atmosphere with excellent customer service at the center of every employee's focus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ben and Jerry's
Retail Associate / Scoopers (Former Employee) –  Burlington, VTJune 16, 2018
A typical day at work was organized and efficient if you understood your job. Everyone was friendly and helped each other work and move forward, help when needed. I Really enjoyed the people and company itself, it was good to know I was working for a company that worked for the community and respected me as a worker and person.
Pros
lunch break, free ice cream, discount, nice people, steady work, good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ben & Jerry's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 328 reviews
5132
4107
362
215
112

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.7Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight