Ben Franklin Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice part time retail job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Oconomowoc, WIJuly 28, 2018
I really liked working with customers with their craft and sewing needs. I worked various hours and had fun at work too working on different projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family ran place
Supervisor; Cheri (Former Employee) –  Havre, MTApril 4, 2018
Friendly place to work, no career advancements for non family but, still a decent place to work if you are okay with not getting a better positions. Still friendly place that understands life needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business/crafts
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kearny, NJJanuary 31, 2018
Cashier most of the time and would help stock shelving. Would walk around and assit customers with their shopping. Also would do some cleaning and maintence of the store.
Pros
1 hour break
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ben Franklin was the job I loved the most in my life. Great memories
Purchasing, Craft Demonstrations, and Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Watseka, ILJanuary 31, 2018
Ben Franklin was a very unique service. Craft store that did special orders for customers in need of items to meet a particular need. We were written up in the Chicago Tribune as an attraction to visit. People came from hours away to shop with us and see what we were demonstrating that day.
Pros
Excellent place to work. The owner always was a great role model
Cons
They closed when the owner retired.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shipping and reiving
Shipping and Recieving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oldtown, IDNovember 18, 2017
checking freight as it came in and sent it the different departments in a timely meaner and clean and make shire reeving area was clean and ready to receive or send freight
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Mt Pleasant, WIAugust 13, 2017
I loved working here, They contracted through TSMGI, where I'd place orders for them and we would ship all of their merchandise. TSMGI decided on moving when their contract was due. Ben Franklin online was in debt so they closed the doors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Shipping Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Seymour, INJuly 25, 2017
At this company it was fast paced and very enjoyable to work for. Making sure orders where correct and training. The management and company employees where great to work with. It was sad that the company closed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Manager
Purchasing, Craft Demonstrations, and Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Watseka, ILMay 9, 2017
Repeat review - already reviewed this business. Business is closed
Accounts receivable
Accounts payable
collections
customer service

Out of business

.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a nice place to work
Teacher Aide (Current Employee) –  New Castle, PAMay 2, 2017
a typical day at work is looking after children and changing them feeding them making sure that they don't get hurt putting information into the computer. I'm learning how to deal with stress and the management is very good. The hardest part about the job is when a child starts to cry for no reason and trying to figure out what is wrong to help them feel better. The most enjoyable part of the job is watching with children learn and grow and getting excited when they get excited when they are able to do something that has been giving them a hard time to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Seymour, INApril 19, 2017
ben franklin was a great place to work, you delivered to the stores, owners were very friendly and good to work with, the hardest part was delivering to stores that didn't have much room for your truck to get in and deliver, but ben franklin went out of business
Pros
good pay and benefits
Cons
out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working with customers
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Bangor, MEFebruary 6, 2017
Wait on customers, cash-ups, deposits, weekly store statement and
take readings, answer phone. The hardest part of the job was doing
two things at once and the most enjoyable was the job itself.
Pros
I enjoyed the clerical aspects
Cons
hours were occasally late
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Real Estate Accountant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 19, 2015
The company was great. The work place was very supportive and senior management always took time to listen to new ideas.
My boss was very helpful and I learned from my colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere
Framer/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Milton, PAOctober 5, 2015
This was a fun place to work. This store has a little of everything which kept it interesting with the people who would come to shop as well as the employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, with a good staff.
Floor supervisor (Former Employee) –  Monroe, WAJuly 12, 2015
Family type store, with a good team spirit, with great selection and fair prices.Lack of hours and low pay are the poor points.
Pros
Schedule friendly.
Cons
Tight budget.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked for this company during the Christmas rush.
Stock Boy (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 24, 2015
I worked here for a couple of years part time only.

I generally would come in around Thanksgiving and work through Christmas.

Most of what I did was maintain stock on shelves, with some customer service.

I would also unload the truck on delivery days, open and distribute the items accordingly.

Christmas was a busy time for this store, so there was constant influx of new items, and displays were changing as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job. Enjoyed the co-workers and management
Head of Craft Department (Former Employee) –  Warwick, RIOctober 8, 2014
I enjoyed the job. I like working with the public. I like a fast pace work environment. Co workers were great. Fun place to work.
Pros
was close to home, could be home with kids after school
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great company to work for
HEAD CASHIER (Former Employee) –  cheney waJuly 13, 2014
ben franklin was a family oriented business so far has been the best company i have ever worked for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & Creative Workplace
Designer (Former Employee) –  Iowa City, IAMay 16, 2014
I was in charge of merchandising, display, and creating arts and crafts for the store as well as customers for events like weddings, baby showers, holidays and more. I also taught arts & crafts classes for adults and children.

The hardest part of the job was when the store closed. I enjoyed my job, and the people very much.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Owner
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tawas, MIMarch 11, 2013
The owner was wonderful to work for. Very detailed and had outstanding customer service skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place, tight work community
Sales representative (Current Employee) –  Juneau, AKMarch 1, 2013
Wonderful employer, very easy work. From folding shirts to putting away freight, you're almost never short of something to do. Flexible work schedules.
Pros
paid lunch, flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ben Franklin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 26 reviews
511
410
34
20
11

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture