Benchmark Education Company Employee Reviews

2.8
Overall rating
Based on 15 reviews
Ratings breakdown
53
43
32
22
15
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 15 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was the most stressful place I ever worked!
Sales Support Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 18, 2018
Don't ever work for a company where the married couple own the company! It was the most stress I've ever experienced working at a company and was never so happy to leave.
Pros
The people who warned me not to take the position
Cons
I should have listened
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work overall
SENIOR CONTENT DEVELOPER & MULTIMEDIA MANAGER (Current Employee) –  New Rochelle, NYMarch 26, 2018
Great place to learn but management style is often not healthy. I am pleased with my experience here overall. After five years, I am ready to move on to other challenges.
Pros
free lunches, parties
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  New Rochelle, NYJanuary 19, 2018
Typical day at benchmark , Will start out with a morning meeting that will last roughly 5 to 15 minutes if not more . Management will allocate the orders for the people to pick, then a separate meeting for the people that only speaks Spanish there's a language barrier there .I typically was overworked and the communication there was very poor.
Pros
Some breakfast is provided some days free lunch and on site barbecue
Cons
They hire people that are in relationships, Mom and pops company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Atmosphere
Request For Proposal Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New Rochelle, NYJanuary 18, 2018
I passed on another offer and accepted theirs only to be told after 4 days they were restructuring the department and my position was eliminated.
The management was rude and spoke down to just about everyone. The owner said she had no desire to be introduced to me until I worked there over 6 months ( in front of me)
Everyone I met while I was there had been there less than two years. There seemed to be no longevity and everyone seemed to walk on eggs shells.
Pros
Depending on where you sit...nice view
Cons
Everything. Belive what you see here, I didn't and learned the hard way
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Data Entry Clerk/Editorial Assistant (Temp) (Former Employee) –  New Rochelle, NYNovember 21, 2017
Very relaxed work environment with management that cares for it's employees. Benchmark has great benefits and deals with employees humanely on a person to person basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 11Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Systems Administrator (Former Employee) –  New Rochelle, NYMay 25, 2017
Owners attempt to rule with an iron fist. They curse at and belittle the employees. Pay is sub-par. The company feels like a social experiment to test the limits of how much stress an individual an endure.
Pros
Nice office space
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 34NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for professional growth
Director (Former Employee) –  Pelham, NYJanuary 11, 2017
Would never leave if not for relocation. It's a great place for professional growth. The company is willing to promote from within.
Pros
family business
Cons
must be able to take criticism well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 12Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run Far Far Away
Assistant (Current Employee) –  New Rochelle, NYAugust 1, 2016
Typical day at work includes bad management, frequent layoffs, and having to listen to the CEO berate and belittle whomever crosses her path. Layoffs are so frequent you may compare it to any reality show in which someone is voted off, not given a rose, or "fired". Also, do not be surprised when you are picking up the slack for someone who has been let go and you are now trying to manage 3 roles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 55No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have experience and be prepared if you fit for the job
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  New Rochelle, NYJune 15, 2016
I worked as a nighttime employee for Benchmark Education Company as a non traditional Data entry clerk. The company didn't provide me the proper job training to perform the tasks that I needed to perform and then I was laid off and release.One of the Managers has a thick Spanish accent it was hard to decipher want he was trying to say in English. I honestly felt that I wasn't given a chance to improve or excel after I was laid off but oh well it happens.
Pros
friendly staff good working environment
Cons
Provide you benefits but it doesnt make no sense if you're a temp employee working the night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Cust. Service Rep/Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pelham, NYJanuary 20, 2016
The management of this company were very focused and knew what they wanted from their employees, and the employees including myself fulfilled their expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 44Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Books
Sr. Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Pelham, NYJuly 20, 2015
Customer Service, taking orders over phone, processing orders, sales rep inquiries. Assisting warehouse. Co-workers were pleasant but supervisors and owners unprofessional.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Awful Work Atmosphere. Owners rude
Was this review helpful?Yes 45No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
noticeable strengths and weaknesses
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (Former Employee) –  Pelham, NYMay 17, 2015
I worked here over 10 years ago and its not an easy place to work. Nonetheless, you get to wear many hats and grow career wise. Salary and benefits are a mixed bag. Conduct of one of the owners is down right deplorable which borders on the stuff lawsuits are made of. Fortunately my contact with this person was not too regular and there were times we actually got along. However those who she interacted with regularly were under a lot of pressure. Many of my colleagues were cool people to work for. The business systems were reasonable. If management could get it together and treat all employees with respect this company would really go places. As it stands it frequently shoots itself in the foot.
Pros
good place to learn the industry, good colleagues
Cons
better approach from management especially from one owner in particular
Was this review helpful?Yes 67No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company that was just starting out!
Director of Professional Development, Author (Former Employee) –  Pelham, NYMarch 20, 2015
No day was ever typical. Days might involve writing technical or children's material to publish; or traveling across country to work a sales conference; or present a week-long training about teaching methods using our material. I learned to think on my feet and work in a fast-paced environment because we were creating new product to get to the sales force. My co-workers worked as hard as I did and we all took critical review of each other's work in order to improve the product. We became such a great team that we could almost complete one another's thoughts. The hardest part of the job was the travel. The most enjoyable part of the job was my team of colleagues.
Pros
Teamwork
Cons
Travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 12Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Run Organization
Digital Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  New Rochelle, NYOctober 21, 2014
Mid-sized company owned and operated by family in the lower Westchester area.
Pros
Free lunches every Wednesday's!
Cons
Limited eateries outside of office
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 37Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Benchmark Education Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Benchmark Education Company Reviews by Location