Benefit Cosmetics Employee Reviews

Found 168 reviews matching the search See all 381 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Manager/NO work life balance
Counter Manager (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAMay 21, 2019
Disappointing manager, who is over the VA areas, she is judgmental, rude and unsupportive, will also blacklist you from the company if you leave even with a two weeks notice. Doesnt visit, but will call you every day to hound about numbers. This location is in the NEX and business is incredibly slow. I did many things for this counter and was praised but after putting my two weeks in I was told I was not allowed to come back to the counter, and she would not speak to me at all.

Do not work for this woman, she is awful. Very catty.

Also, she didnt pay me fair market value, but said she was and I found old paperwork saying what the previous manager made and it was 2 dollars more.

You should be getting at least 18 per hour in this position. FYI, your welcome :)
Pros
Not monitored, Men in uniform
Cons
Bad management, sneaky, catty, lies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great company
Arch Expert/Esthetician (Former Employee) –  Lynnwood, WAApril 24, 2019
Overall I enjoyed working for Benefit Cosmetics but I do wish the pay would increase slightly as it was hard to live on the income I received. It was also difficult to sell the goal amount set per day as every day welcomes a different amount of customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not waste your time
Key Holder/Esthetician (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 17, 2019
Everyday I was miserable. People are always going to be difficult in any job but it made it worse because benefit would hire idiots for management. Please if you want to be happy and not stressful RUN AWAY NOW
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starter Job
Lead Service Manager (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 16, 2019
Great medical benefits.
Great Pay
Great waxing exp
Great tips
Very fast pace
Can be exhausting depending on your location, because of back to back clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place for estheticians to work
Store Manager/ Beauty Artist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 11, 2019
Best pay for estheticians. Depending on who your manager is, its hit or miss. Some people are emotional, nit picky and unstable. others are solid people and will grow your career.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
Long hours. 9 hour days
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun working environment
K​eyholder/Sales Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  Rye, NYFebruary 8, 2019
Working as a Keyholder/ Sales Beauty Advisor taught me plenty of new skills to carry with me in the field. I enjoyed the clients and being able to talk about products, I myself enjoy. Working with the company was great. Benefit tries to move you up within the company which, I feel encourages you as an employee. Overall this is a great company to work for. Challenging, yet rewarding.
Pros
Growth within the company
Cons
Lots of weekend hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lead Sales Aesthetician (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVNovember 28, 2018
I love benefit. Best company. The culture is great and the managers are wonderful. Full of life and are extremely supportive of individuals growth. Best place to work.
Pros
fun work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that truly empower their staff, and their clients by selling smiles.
MARKET ARTIST (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCNovember 18, 2018
They put the fun in Functional when is comes to their innovative products. This a company that cares for their team and their clients. Their products are 'wow's.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work for someone who loves beauty
Arch Expert (Current Employee) –  Conway, ARNovember 16, 2018
i was very honored to be an arch expert for Benefit Cosmetics. The company was really cool to work for and they made sure you were very knowledgeable in their company and products. They really made you feel like part of the family.
Pros
great pay, education and products
Cons
more gratis to keep up with new products lauching
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I expected
Brow Shaping Expert (Former Employee) –  Century City, CANovember 10, 2018
Very cut throat and the management is not the greatest. Its very clickish. Was accusec of a lot of wrong doings and had to defent myself and was lied on several times. Maybe it was just my location because I only knew good things about the company the reason I wanted to work for the company.
Pros
Lots of events to plan, an freedom of your input and guest artists
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment to learn and grow
Freelancer (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CANovember 8, 2018
Fun work environment with plenty of room to grow and learn more about the beauty industry. I don't get very many hours as a freelancer but that is to be expected. The manager is very friendly and helpful.
Pros
friendly people and fun environment
Cons
not very many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay
AESTHETICIAN (Former Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 25, 2018
Pay is good, especially for this new entering the industry. My best advice is to work hard and focus on your own work. Do not get caught up in the drama.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
arch expert (Current Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, SCSeptember 11, 2018
I love Benefit. Great products, great management good amount of paid time off. The pay starting out is above other esthetic jobs. They recruit wonderful people.
Cons
standing all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
AESTHETICIAN (Former Employee) –  Elkridge, MDSeptember 5, 2018
Pay was competitive co workers were friendly and helpful. Training was offered, management was hands on. Clients were great, products were fun and easy to use.
Pros
Gratis
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun brand horrible management.
Brow Archer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 26, 2018
Benefit is great, the management is not. Its a bullying mean girl company. One of the territory managers is very hard to get along with. I hate to write this but in cosmetics you need to look the part. She would come in never wearing makeup dressed like a slob. Im not trying to be mean but you need to represent the company you work for. I think there expectations of the sales goals are unrealistic. I couldn't handle the abuse anymore I got out quick.
Pros
gratis
Cons
Management unrealistic goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer an MUA
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaJune 19, 2018
Started working as a seasonal makeup artist, then immediately had myself stepped on by my manager who was the most rude person you could ever meet. She had no respect for herself or for others. It really led the whole team to crash and burn within a couple of months.
Pros
N/a
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Front End Developer (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMay 26, 2018
Really fun and friendly work culture. Beautiful meeting rooms and a retail-not-tech-vibe. The employees are smart and passionate about what they, in a relaxed way.
Pros
Welcome makeup bag
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive
Sales Associate/Beauty Artist (Former Employee) –  Southpark, NCMay 24, 2018
Great place to work, also very encouraging. You have constant support from everyone even on the corporate level. They encourage development you just have to put work into it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Esthetician | Arch Expert (Former Employee) –  Naples, FLMay 2, 2018
I loved this job and everyone I worked with. It was fun and still had time for social life. The only reason I left this job was because of the management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced, fun place to work
Lead Sales Aesthetician (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CAApril 26, 2018
I love my job @ Benefit. It can be very fast paced and a lot of pressure. You def have to get on everyone's good side to advance. So if you're in a location that's not so busy, goodluck. But they really love their employees. Just have to meet your numbers whether you have the business or not to advance there.
Pros
Hour lunch, birthday cards, gratis, etc
Cons
Nit picky attitudes from management, not enough guidance with events
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Benefit Cosmetics. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 381 reviews
5123
4104
383
229
142

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

4.0Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight