Bering Straits Native Corporation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
material handler
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKJuly 10, 2018
bering straights native corp is a good company to work for except there is no pay scale for future raises. lots of room for promotion i dont know what else to say
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst place I've ever worked
Warehouse associate (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKMarch 7, 2018
The worst place I've ever worked The warehouse is micromanaged by people who believe you are disposable and will get rid of you if they want to order it is beneficial to them
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Temporary Program Officer (Former Employee) –  Nome, AKNovember 6, 2017
Bering Straits Foundation was a wonderful place to work and network between the Anchorage and Nome headquarters.
They were great staff and the students were awesome to help.
I enjoyed working with the other corporation education departments as well.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
Not full time or permanent
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Accounting Department
Accountant (Temporary Assignment) (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKOctober 13, 2017
I was involved with assisting the newly hired Payroll Supervisor, busy with daily general ledger reconciliations, journal entries, reports, and was trained to do payroll processes as well. Other duties when assigned were done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid Working in Anc Payroll
Payroll Technician II (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKAugust 9, 2017
Horrible, toxic micro management in payroll dept of Anc office. Avoid at all costs...worst job of my life and I am pretty thick-skinned. No training, you get treated horribly, talked down on and horrible morale
Pros
Growing company with lots of great potential around the corner
Cons
Payroll manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good way to get on your feet
Grounds Laborer (Current Employee) –  Fort Irwin, CAJune 20, 2017
Good way to get on your feet. Nice people. Safety is a biggie here. Coworkers look after one another. Good opportunity to learn new things. Overall go
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former employee: EPC staff is HORRIBLE yes staff if they dont like you well you have a huge target micro management Supervisors dont care and union su
Officer Detention (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJune 17, 2017
Nothing to say good about it micro management the company cares about management not the officer they will use you and work you union is HORRIBLE on call Alot.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Everything else including Employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting job, great coworkers
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 13, 2017
Like all jobs, there were good aspects and bad. Most enjoyable was figuring out what went wrong with a contract and fixing it. Benefits and salary were reasonable. Opportunities for advancement were limited.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work office
Business Extern (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKJanuary 9, 2017
I had the opportunity to sit at front desk and take all incoming calls. Assisted all departments with tasks and completed them with very little supervision. The thing I enjoyed was, keeping busy through out the day. I did not like having nothing to do so I would go around asking if there is anything anyone needed assisting with.
Pros
Convienence electronic vending machine for snacks and lunch.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace building
Supervisor / Radio Operations (Former Employee) –  Nome, AKMay 10, 2016
It was an amazing experience getting to work with Shell and learn about their research founded in our oceans, the starting pay was great, the hours were very flexible, and after the first season, I was promoted to the supervisor. It was a pleasure to work with my shareholder company and give back to our community
Pros
great boss, flexible schedules, amazing building, meeting new people
Cons
re directing the Shell vessels and the subsistance boaters
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
GENERAL LEDGER ACCOUNTANT (Former Employee) –  4600 Debarr RoadOctober 11, 2015
I enjoyed my time at Bering Straits Native Corporation.

It was a good place to work, however the work life balance was very hard as they required alot of hours
Pros
great bunch of people, engaging work
Cons
too many hours, unappreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers are awesome people.
Accounts Payable Technician (Current Employee) –  Anchorage, AKAugust 11, 2014
BSNC is a fast growing Native Corporation with many changes and many growing pains. Their expectations for a short staffed Accounts Payable Dept is very demanding. The deadlines have been shortened and so has respect for each other.
Most co-workers are awesome and supportive and we get along well at work and not at work. The hardest part is going to work and getting everything done and not leave anything out. The hardest part is not taking anything personal. The most enjoyable part is a great group of people to work with.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
not enough time and short staffed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and excellent opportunity for learning of new skills.
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKMarch 8, 2014
Responsible for performing daily office tasks

Requirement of the job to include: Excellent computer skills, word processing programs, and spreadsheets. Have good organizational skills for tracking, document communication of records.
Pros
Benefit Packages
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Assistant Administrator (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKSeptember 9, 2013
Overall an outstanding place to work. The people are friendly and the management is great! I would gladly work with them in a heartbeat..
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bering Straits Native Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 15 reviews
57
42
34
21
11

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture