Better Homes and Gardens Real Estate Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, kind, accommodating and very helpful atmosphere.
Realtor (Former Employee) –  Farr West, UTOctober 26, 2018
I love Better Homes and Gardens. Not only is everyone willing to help everyone, But they so it in a timely manner. They also have many classes and learning opportunities for a successful career. I have every intention of returning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great partner in real estate
Real Estate Specialist (Current Employee) –  Atlanta georgiaSeptember 8, 2018
Better homes and gardens was a great company to work for. After I got my real estate license they gave me all the training and support I would need to become a top agent.
Pros
Support
Cons
Took a high commission
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
better homes and gardens
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Antioch, CAJuly 19, 2018
Better homes and gardens was a chill work place. I would help my mom when she needed more help . She was the one paying me for my work . It was a very good pay
Pros
Fun, long breaks and good boss
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BHG was nice place to work I just did enjoy the business
Realtor (Former Employee) –  Pearland, TXJuly 8, 2018
Nice place to Real Estate is work line of work you send a lot of money marketing yourself you are always looking for new client. BHG was nice place to work I just did enjoy the business
Pros
good support system
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistatant
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Garden City, NYJune 19, 2018
My colleagues are all wonderful, the day typically is slower paced then I'd like but it is a very easy job and was perfect for my needs when I first took the position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Real Estate franchise. As an agent you are own your own.
Mason-McDuffie (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CA 94610April 24, 2018
BHG is a real estate brokerage. Agents work there under contract as independant contractors. Many of the question that would be asked from a regular emplyer don't apply here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Realtor (Current Employee) –  Harrisburg, PAMarch 2, 2018
Coordinate the purchase or selling of clients homes. Learned a bunch of computer programs and how to use real estate systems.Like showing and getting clients under contract.
Pros
work my own schedule
Cons
having houses fall through.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Observant, Friendly, and Attentive Staff
Former Employee (Former Employee) –  College Station, TXFebruary 3, 2018
An excellent business with extraordinary individuals. Definitely not a team, but competent and driven nonetheless. The agents are endlessly knowledgeable in their respective fields and provide a high degree of service.
Pros
Free Breakfasts/Lunches frequently offered, friendly workforce, legendary brand - easy for marketing and media creation, lovely owner, accommodating staff.
Cons
Lack of priority given to essential tasks, independently minded/independently driven agents, inner-office politics, over-sensitivity to new and transformative ideas, heavy focus on the personal lives of agents without sufficient emphasis on improving together, agents and brokers do not coordinate well with staff, poor or inadequate communication, indirectly and inadvertently discourage technology and youth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable work atmosphere
Realtor (Current Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXNovember 13, 2017
Company support, excellent management, great working atmosphere, great techinical suport, friendly co-worker enviroment, assistance from co-workers available
Pros
Coaching, management availability
Cons
Flooded homes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere! Make as much money as you want.
REALTOR (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXNovember 8, 2017
You can show up and be given the tools to be a superstar agent or you can work at your own pace and enjoy being a part time agent. Your effort is rewarded by your own labors.
Pros
you don't have to show up!
Cons
you don't show up u don't get paid.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
commission
Realtor (Current Employee) –  Lithonia, GAOctober 4, 2017
I am not planning to leave this career anytime soon, this job is a total commission job so I can work when its convenient for me to, and I'm able to work another job while maintaining it
Pros
commission
Cons
you get out what you put in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such an amazing family based environment. Couldn't ask for better leadership.
Licensed Real Estate Agent (Current Employee) –  Destin, FLSeptember 26, 2017
Better Homes & Gardens taught me such a different perspective as a job.
Everyone that works for BHG will tell you the exact same.

You always feel included and valued as an employee.
Not one bad thing I can say!
Pros
Work your own hours, Held accountable for your business goals you've established, Incredible leadership.
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Brokerage
Real Estate Consultant (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOSeptember 19, 2017
I have little experience with all the different options for real estate brokers, but my time at Better Homes and Gardens has been very positive. My individual broker has been FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close Knit Office Staff
Real Estate Agent (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 8, 2017
The Manager - since retired - had high energy and a positive attitude so this was a good model for all employees. I learned a lot from this office as there were many seasoned agents who were very helpful with sharing their knowledge.
Pros
Good Communication, Weekly Staff Meetings, Monthly Regional Meetings
Cons
Outdated equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Metro Brokers Academy Registrar (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 14, 2017
Team members and immediate manager was awesome. The hardest part of the job was accepting that an excellent job performance keeps one from being considered for upward promotion considerations.
Pros
Awesome Immediate Team and Manager
Cons
short lunches, unpredictable payroll deposits, promoted nepotism
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working as a Realtor
Realtor (Former Employee) –  Clayton, OHJuly 29, 2017
This was one of the best careers I've had. Your completely responsible for your own success. My fellow colleagues were very helpful. The hardest part of being a realtor, is finances. If your unable to put money into your business, you can't survive. I also learned to be successful as a real estate agent, you must treat this occupation like a regular full time job.
Pros
I loved assisting customers with their real estate need.
Cons
Tough to get listings. If you don't list, it's hard to exist.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Realtor (Current Employee) –  Conyers, GAJuly 21, 2017
I love being a Realtor because I get to meet new people and I'm also able to provide families with there dream home. I also like the fact that I'm working for myself which also motivates you to work harder.
Pros
making a sale
Cons
not making a sale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and supportive management
Realtor (Current Employee) –  Roseville, CAJuly 7, 2017
I enjoy Better Homes and Gardens Real Estate because there is a lot of great training, everyone is helpful and friendly, and I can come and go as I please without worrying about having to be in the office all day. The cons are that they do not offer any buyer/seller leads what so ever and the only people who seem to be making any money in real estate are those who have been in it for many years and have a built up clientele.
Pros
Great training, friendly people, flexible schedule.
Cons
No buyer/seller leads and high fees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to Work
Realtor (Former Employee) –  Belfast, MEMay 28, 2017
Helpful staff, good place to start out. Great town. Belfast is small and welcoming and was a good option to start a real estate career although there was limited inventory at the time so it was a difficult go.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace culture
Real Estate Agent (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCApril 3, 2017
At Go, you are a family, even when you have to bring your real family (ie kids) into the office with you. There are no words to describe how supportive, encouraging and amazing that this company truly is.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Better Homes and Gardens Real Estate. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 39 reviews
524
49
35
21
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.5Culture

Better Homes and Gardens Real Estate Reviews by Location