BevMo Employee Reviews

Showing all 200 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work where everyone really works together
Head Clerk (Former Employee) –  Culver City, CANovember 10, 2018
a typical day at work would mean any deliveries we got during the day had to be put on the shelves or organized in the stock room. helping customers was always a priority. register training was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bevmo is not a good store
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZOctober 30, 2018
I may have put in a lot of years at this place of business, but that is only because my work ethic is good. This place does not treat the employees with respect and the pay is not competitive.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry-level job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Leandro, CAOctober 16, 2018
Easy-going atmosphere, not too difficult. Helpful if you know about liquor. There is a steep discount on wine. Could have used more staff members during busy hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty educational
CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Goodyear, AZOctober 11, 2018
I loved working there, very laid back yet has structure. Good employees and opportunity so learn about new and old products. Amazing discounts and good management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and Fun
Bench Manager (Former Employee) –  Temecula, CAOctober 9, 2018
Fun atmosphere and working environment. If you like learning about
alcohol and different beverages this is a great place to work. The hours on weekend can be a little challenging but its still a fun environment.
Pros
Atmosphere
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low paying stressful job
Receiving Clerk (Current Employee) –  San Leandro, CAOctober 4, 2018
I believe i would have a lot more positive things to say about this company if they weren't so cheap and tried to cut so many corners, also i feel that this company is kinda of biased towards some of ther employees.
Pros
It is very educational and you learn a lot about alcohol.
Cons
Understaffed, low pay, $25 gift card fo holidaypay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company ,Lots of benefits,Great Pay ,Reasonable weekly hours.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAOctober 3, 2018
Overall a great place to work at and gain lots of experience and learn new skills . Great team and coworkers . Management was perfect . Friendly and all around nice people to work with.perfect hands on training.
Pros
Discounts, Great hours, hourly pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Cashier at bevmo (Former Employee) –  Oak grove rd walnut creek caOctober 2, 2018
Liked working and learning about new things. I learned a lot and really appreciated the opportunity but unfortunately life takes you crazy places and you gotta leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the better retail jobs around
Head Clerk (FT) (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CASeptember 6, 2018
Definitely a huge change of pace from standard retail. Customers are almost always pleasant and happy to be there. The company as a whole has been leaning more towards a corporate model and attempting to cut hours and increase work load, but still an overall enjoyable job in comparison to most retail environments.
Pros
Far more pleasant work environment than in other retail chains
Cons
Heading more towards a standard corporate model that cares nothing for its employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs improvement
Lead Bevmologist (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaAugust 31, 2018
Fun place to work if you enjoy talking about beverages. Management is easily approachable. They will work with you if you have second job. Need to improve on overall communication with staff. Not adequate compensation for workload expected of leads.
Pros
Fun environment. Good second job.
Cons
Low work wage. Training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Sales Associate/Wine Specialist (Former Employee) –  Walnut, CA 91789August 22, 2018
BevMo is a great store and was a fun place to work. Everyone was always friendly and we were always kept busy. My first manager did a great job at keeping moral high and also keeping us busy and working hard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed on week days
Ca - clerk/cashier (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAAugust 13, 2018
Hours were flexible because you didn't get many at all. Management was struggling but the environment was fun. Customers were great and overall a good job for part-time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall great work environment and a great company
Shipping and Receiving Manager (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAAugust 3, 2018
overall positive work environment in which some of my duties included placing large product orders, as well directly overseeing all the ins and outs of all products, as well as processing all invoices for all orders and shipments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee's were great to work with. Hard work ,but fun at times
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Chino Hills, CAAugust 1, 2018
Employee's were great to coach and train. Working with the customers had fun times . Great atmosphere, but hard work especially around holidays. Learned plenty of knowledge from tastings and classes that were offered. Wrote all schedules,cash handling, inventory controls, order writing in all departments and mentoring assistant and head clerks to help them advance their careers.
Pros
Spirit and beer Knowledge
Cons
working holidays, and all Saturdays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Bad back then
Cashier Manager (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZJuly 24, 2018
Great manager back when I was working there...quit because new management coming in was terrible and there was no more room for advancement from my position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJuly 19, 2018
Definitely a fun job because of the tastings and the customers, many of whom are coming in to shop for a party. Basic retail job that is all about stocking, signage, and loss prevention. I did learn a ton about liquor/keg and ID laws as well as different types of beer wine and liquor. However sales were low and directly affected hours,
Pros
product discount
Cons
unpredictable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faced paced
Head Clerk/ Receiver (Current Employee) –  Livermore, CAJuly 15, 2018
I love being able to help customers out a lot have become really good friends. It’s fun to sale what love. It does have its moments of crazy so don’t get me wrong it’s not all butterflies
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAJuly 12, 2018
I miss helping others, and working with my coworkers, and doing a good job, and making a difference there. was a great place to work, and if I could return I would.
Pros
good job, good people
Cons
things were not always the way they should have been
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Paso Robles, CAJuly 2, 2018
I really enjoyed working for this company, I learned a lot and got to make life long friends.I would absolutely love to go back and work for this comapany
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great dedication to the whole craft.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZJuly 2, 2018
An extremely inviting atmosphere, with knowledgeable staff; Servicing thousands of guests in a day, all with a supportive team.
very minimal challenges.
Pros
Discounts were nice
Cons
part-timers no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BevMo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 200 reviews
555
462
349
216
118

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

2.4Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight