BI-LO Employee Reviews

Found 1,635 reviews matching the search See all 1,676 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bilo
scan lead (Former Employee) –  Cayce, SCJuly 19, 2018
co workers became like family.very supportive .team players we all helped each other out in personal and on the job. always finding ways to improve on the jobs we had. work smarter not harder. ive worked for bilo for almost 10 years.started as a cashier then scan lead and also helped in the produce dept. i know how to wrap meat in the meat dept. we have helped in other dept when it was needed . re stocking the shelves. i did not want to leave but due to issues i had no choice.our company has been through many changes through the 10 years i have worked there.i have learned alot.
Pros
worked with people that were team mates
Cons
breaks too short
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stocker
Sales Floor supervisor (Former Employee) –  Gaffney, SCJuly 18, 2018
I really enjoyed working there . I worked 3rd shift stocking shelves and teaching others. I loved helping customers and running the registers, it was a great job
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a ok starting job facility
ISC In-Store Coordinator (Former Employee) –  FloridaJuly 17, 2018
winn dixie has pros and cons like most jobs. Certain management can be a challenge and oversee hard working employees vs pretty females. But again if your just starting ok its fine
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Gastonia, NCJuly 17, 2018
bilo is a perfect starter job for teenagers or someone that only needs part time work. they are friendly and kind. I had a great experience working for bilo
Pros
discounts
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working there is a mixed bag
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCJuly 17, 2018
I worked at Bi-Lo for 6 months as a cashier. It was pretty easy until rush hours, dealing with difficult customers or both. They payed minimum wage and the hours varied a lot from week to week. When I worked at Bi-Lo, I was in high school, so that was fine. Though towards the end of my time there, they really started cutting hours. The people I worked with were generally pretty nice, except for a few rude, lazy and incompetent coworkers.While you do get difficult and rude people who come in, you will also get interesting and funny customers that will make your day just a little better.
Pros
5% discount, 30 minute breaks, nice employees, occasional nice customer
Cons
Minimum wage, working early morning shifts, working late night shifts, rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers were great and fun but the management and hours were horrible.
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  Chapin, SCJuly 16, 2018
Worked there for two years, the managers will always see you as replaceable and don't care for you. The pay is not worth it. But it is a fun job and an easy job.
Pros
Easy job, fun people to work around
Cons
Short breaks, impossible to receive raises, managers are a joke.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was your typical grocery store cashier job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Blairsville, GAJuly 13, 2018
It was not a very fun place to work. You just stand behind a register for 4 plus hours and never move from that spot.
I learned how to run a till properly, but it was pretty relaxed.
Pros
there were no pros
Cons
no benefits, very short lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want money find another job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lincolnton, NCJuly 12, 2018
I worked here and got cross trained in 4 different departments. I was supposed to get my first raise after 6 months and never got it even though I kept bringing it up to them. They also cut all of the cashiers hrs including mine eventually giving some of us 5 hrs a week.
Cons
Terrible hrs, low pay, no overtime, no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
produce manager (Former Employee) –  Ladson, SCJuly 10, 2018
bilo was a good place towork. i enjoyed working in produce there, love interacting with customers and peoplw were friendly there also. i enjoyed communicating.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Willing to work with personal schedules
Lead Cake Decorator (Current Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCJuly 10, 2018
Management typically works with creating scheduling around your personal needs (school, family, etc.).
Tend to promote from within when management becomes available.
Acknowledge skill with certain level of job security and freedom.
Pros
Generally works with and respects workers
Cons
Pay raises few and far between
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bilo was a good starting job for me to gain my work ethic.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Zelienople, PAJuly 9, 2018
When I started at Bilo I never knew it was going to be such a big part of the reason I turned out to be such a good worker. I quickly got sent straight to a manager because no one else wanted to take on the responsibilities it took. I covered call offs, I was called in, I worked 7 days a row sometimes, I had to work by myself often, and I’m actually thankful for that because it taught me the importance of being reliable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced job with not many raise opportunities.
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE/BOOKKEEPER (Current Employee) –  Greer, SCJuly 9, 2018
I enjoyed my job at bilo because I like fast paced work but it was difficult to advance and there are very little raise opportunities. The hours are very flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Co-workers and management
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  Pelzer, SCJuly 7, 2018
Managers are very understanding of a person's situation and co-workers are generally very friendly. Training is handled fairly well.
However pay raises are a little harder to obtain.
Pros
Discounts on groceries, learning opportunities
Cons
often required to work over, lack of dedication from co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Franklin, NCJuly 4, 2018
Great place to work. Everyone is friendly and team motivated. Supervisors are awesome, they listen to what you have to say and are very helpful. Great all customers, ring up their merchandise. I learned how to do wick. Working with the teenagers. They get together and chat while we do the work, also they seem to get forgetful of their job duties. I enjoy working with the customers.
Pros
getting the discount on groceries
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dying business
Meat Cutter (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 1, 2018
low hourly wages compared to other competitors, no paid time off, manger was hard to work with and demanding, lack of materials due to order restrictions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty good job
General Merchandise Leader (Current Employee) –  Cayce, SCJuly 1, 2018
This was the best job that i have ever had. They employees are like family. The only issue i had was that the pay is very low. As long as you go in with a good attitude you will have a good day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customers were nice, I smiled alot, very friendly enviroment
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mullins, SCJune 29, 2018
Even though I didn't work there long, I enjoyed the customers. They were always nice. I enjoyed helping them around the store.They taught me things as well as I taught them things.
Pros
nice enviroment
Cons
they closed the store
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The managers there talk bad about you behind your back....
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Lincolnton, NCJune 29, 2018
It is honestly a bad working environment if you are not in their social group with the other employees you get treated badly. The managers and other cashiers talk bad about you when they dont even know you or when they dont even talk to you.
Pros
We get a discount on anything that I buy
Cons
When im on my break managers always come an try and get in my personal business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chatsworth, GAJune 27, 2018
Good place to work, good management, flexible hours, good part time work, laid back job, customers are fun to interact with, typically good coworkers,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great first job
Book Keeper (Former Employee) –  Simpsonville, SCJune 27, 2018
you stay busy, and you learn alot with numbers. you earn a true costumer service side of business. management stayed involved in good ways, not to hands on but firm.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BI-LO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,676 reviews
5487
4504
3441
2138
1106

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight