Bimbo Bakeries USA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stability
Shipper leader. (Current Employee) –  Maspeth, NYJanuary 31, 2018
In consideration of stability is a good place. Benefits better than average. Opprtunities with or without union. Different positions from the floor operations to the IT department.
Pros
Stability. Good salary.
Cons
Take long to be in the union. Stressful when many managment ideas collide
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A complete company
Shipping Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 31, 2018
Fast paced and very productive, my working staff was very supportive and easy to manage. Shipping coordinating was made easy at Bimbo Bakeries, USA. The management staff at Bimbo was very supportive. The work place culture was very conducive to our shipping environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good compensation, but no management direction
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZJanuary 31, 2018
I was hired to clean up a mess with grocery store chains that were in chapter 11, or struggling for market share.
Once the mess was cleaned up, I was offered severance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
extemely wasteful, no balance with life outside of work
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Topeka, KSJanuary 30, 2018
a lot of theft going on within the Topeka plant, only leadership gets to work 40 hours a week, zero communication about what is happening within the plant and your day to day responsibilities change often which makes it hard to get very much done or learn your job well. turn over is 47 percent
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love to enhance my Customer Service Qualities
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 29, 2018
I enjoyed my years as a manger at Bimbo Bakery. I learned several skills daily in which i use everyday in transitioning into daily tasks and actions i complete. I also enjoyed helping my customers. they enjoyed me as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For a Stationary Engineer, a good place to work
Journeyman Stationary Engineer (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJanuary 25, 2018
Grupo Bimbo is the world’s largest baking company and operates in 22 countries. This plant control system processes about 200 loaves and 2000 buns per minute. Any downtime results in significant damaged product. Working with urgency is ever-present.

Pros:
Pretty much 8 hours a day
Competent Peers
Pretty Good retirement package, but does not allow for contributing to the pension to develop a better retirement.

Cons:
Never at home on weekends
Day shift only accessible by seniority
No opportunity for input to provide a better schedule for everyone.
Very little opportunity to obtain resources to support innovation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money, difficult hours 1am-10am 6 days a week
Independent Operator (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJanuary 25, 2018
Good for younger people due to hours. Money is great. Large investment $75-85k for a route. You "own " your route but subject to management interference with orders ect
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall regret leaving
Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJanuary 23, 2018
I left to start a business that didnt work out.. total regret..good equipment, well organized, safety lunches, small bonuses, consistent raises, seniority based
Pros
Good equipment, great pay
Cons
24-7 work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Route Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Athens, OHJanuary 23, 2018
Great company to work for if you are in it to make some money. Long hours and very few days off when you first start but once you get your own route it's great
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Arenso Helper (Former Employee) –  Orangeburg, SCJanuary 23, 2018
I loved working for Limbo and I would love to go back. I was there through a Temp Agency for a 45 day project. I want a permanent position. Permanent individuals make alot of hours I would most definitely love that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would have been an excellent job if I did not get sick
Technical Writer (Former Employee) –  Horsham, PAJanuary 23, 2018
Was laid off immediately after notifying company of hospitalization; did not hold my job for me when I became sick. Otherwise this was an excellent company and job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused on associate training
Chief Plant Engineer (Former Employee) –  Riviera Beach, FLJanuary 23, 2018
The company was focused on key performance indicators and is very competitive with the sister bakeries. The managers are trained on Lean management and the associates are empowered to make decisions and run the lines
Pros
good b enefits
Cons
Lack of job advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Engineering Coor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 22, 2018
The moral here is poor due to the management we have here. To many people are leaving. Upper management has poor communication with their employees and do not own the poor decisions they make.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days, short nights
Rt. Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAJanuary 21, 2018
At Bimbo you worked long hours. Pay was good. Start time for most routes is early a.m. til early afternoon. This job is not for everyone but works great for some
Pros
good pay
Cons
hours take getting used to
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Capstone Project (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 20, 2018
opportunity to implement Lean and Six Sigma concepts to both reduces the number of wastes and improve the quality of the process. Observing the process of making Bread and Buns to identify a Bottleneck station.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place
Accounting Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJanuary 19, 2018
Was a good place to work at, however due to the buyout by Bimbo and the relocation of work load relocated to Mexico, everyone loss their job.
Even the bread these days is poor quality.
Pros
not many
Cons
not many
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Full Time Working Apprentice Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Breinigsville, PAJanuary 19, 2018
Unreasonable Expectations. Management shows major favoritism.
Work lots of weekends and holidays. Overtime is expected. Very petty work environment, lots of drama.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Elkhart, INJanuary 17, 2018
Would be a top notch employer if Production Managers and Plant Manager would LISTEN to the ideas of the Line Supervisors and line staff. This plant seems to also have issues maintaining the equipment and keeping it in good working order.The maintenance staff and its supervisors also do not care to listen or take suggestions from the line staff, which operate the machines everyday.
Pros
Pay is competitive
Cons
work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor working environment
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TX 79401January 17, 2018
Poor job environment poor communication. Job required tons of effort with little in return. Management was bad with no complete direction no leadership.
Pros
Owner
Cons
Bad communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
John Smith, Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PA 17111January 16, 2018
Working on the dock is physical and stressful. There are time limits to get product shipped out, If a tractor trailer is running late , it holds up the whole process of getting the product out on time.
Pros
good starting wages
Cons
long hours, heavy physical work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bimbo Bakeries USA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 863 reviews
5220
4267
3197
277
1102

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
1.9

2.1Personal Development

1.9Career Opportunities

1.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight