Bio-Reference Laboratories, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 495 reviews matching the search See all 498 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Specimen Processor (Former Employee) –  Elmwood Park, NJMarch 21, 2019
It was cool just the managers make it harder than it needs to be. if you dont like being up overnight its not for you just stay in ya lane . it was better 2 years ago
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior cytotechnologist (Former Employee) –  Elmwood Park, NJMarch 19, 2019
Nothing bad to say about the company. Always had a positive experience here. Great place to work.
I've worked there twice in my career.
Offers both full time and part time positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bioref
MEDICAL LABORATORY TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Campbell, CAMarch 11, 2019
Pays less than the average in the area. No job advancement opportunities. People seem to get the axe around here without any warning. The only good thing I have to say about the place is that the work environment is pretty relaxed I'd say it's a decent place to work for a second job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Courier Driver (Current Employee) –  Campbell, CAMarch 9, 2019
Many jobs were recently laid off
Advancement is not something that typically happens at bio reference
The hardest part is showing up to work
The easiest part is doing the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
TECHNICAL SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Elmwood Park, NJMarch 8, 2019
This is a pretty good place. The people are nice and the work isn't too bad. There could be more training but everyone there is willing to help with any issues. It's a little disorganized at times but overall a good place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, a lot of flexibility
Cytology Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Clarksburg, MDMarch 5, 2019
Great conpany, but unsure about the future of Cytology dept. due to the company was bought out by a Pharmasutial company. It used to be a full staffed laboratory but recently all dept's except Cytology and Cytogenetics were laid off. These departments have not received a raise in two years. Not sure what the future holds for these two depts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unable to excel in this company
Laboratory Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Elmwood Park, NJMarch 5, 2019
I learned a lot about microbiology. I'm taking the experience gained in this company with me!! I would like to work in this company here in Fayettville North Carolina. I left the company because I moved if not I would still be working with BioReference.
Pros
Life insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Career
Sales Support Associate (Former Employee) –  Elmwood Park, NJFebruary 25, 2019
Lots of opportunity for growth and advancement. This is a great company that you can develop a long term career with if you re a dedicated, detailed, and passionate employee. Top skill that will help you stand out is team work and self development.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It used to be a great place of work until It was sold.
Courier (Former Employee) –  North EastFebruary 23, 2019
The old BioRefence Laboratory was a great company to work for until it was sold to the current owners. All they now care about is cutting cost unnecessarily and making profits. No regards to employees comfort and safety. Such a bad place of work filled with animosity and job dissatisfaction. Glad I no longer work there. Quest continues to be a better place to work. Offering better Employee benefits including but not limited to annually salary raise and profit sharing.
Cons
Bad Management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhealthy environment
Current member (Current Employee) –  Elmwood Park, NJFebruary 22, 2019
Micromanaged from immediate director, completely left out by VP. No communication from anyone - find out details of hiring from outside sources before we are informed.
Pros
close to home
Cons
not enough daily satisfaction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day is different
PHLEBOTOMIST FLOAT/TRAVEL (Current Employee) –  New JerseyFebruary 13, 2019
Every day is different
Made many contacts
Traveled many locations in 1 day.
All of Ocean and Monmouth county
Details are key
Schedules can change multiple times a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a productive work place.
Specimen Processor (Former Employee) –  Elmwood Park, NJFebruary 7, 2019
It was a lot of work but it was doable. The workers are nice and very professional and the systems are okay for data entry. The only thing is that there was no flexibility in my hours since I’m a student.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic workplace
Project Coordinator - Revenue Services (Former Employee) –  Elmwood Park, NJFebruary 7, 2019
Bait and switch mentality when hiring.
Minutia is more important than the people

That's all I have to say.
I was there for a short amount of time but enough to get out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed
Courier (Former Employee) –  New Jersey. Long Island east endJanuary 30, 2019
The job was good fit for retirees howerver late nite shifts were tuff I covered most of their east end pick ups used their car which continually needed service
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Middle management disconnect from employees needs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work enviroment is fun
Tech Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Elmwood Park, NJJanuary 26, 2019
I like working there but they did not want to hire me fulltime. management never wanted to hire fulltime because they were selling company. I wanted to be fulltime but they were selling company so now full time employees
Pros
close to my house
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJanuary 21, 2019
My PSC was closed. But i would work here again in a heart beat. Wish they would hire me again. I had a winderful supervisor in Orlando, Fl . I loved working here.
Pros
Wonderful boss
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very important job
Mailroom Clerk (Former Employee) –  Elmwood Park, NJJanuary 10, 2019
This Laboratory Company is very important Medical and busy jobs I’m was very happy working for this co. I have very good benefits,very nice atmosphere to work I’m learning to do different skills
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
No overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work and enjoy employees but no room for advancement and no work/life balance
Lab Technician/Medical Technologist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 10, 2019
I enjoy what I do there and I enjoy the people I work with.
However, there are little to no opportunities for advancement, and there is no good work/life balance and not good maternity/paternity leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work,very relax and has good growth to move up
PROCESSOR/DATA ENTRY (Former Employee) –  Elmwood Park, NJDecember 24, 2018
The best company I worked for, very friendly and treat the workers very good,my hardest part was leaving to move to another state.
Their Christmas parties are the best, they give a annual bonus and treat the workers awesome.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
Clinical Interface Analyst (Former Employee) –  Elmwood Park, NJDecember 22, 2018
I really enjoyed the experience and knowledge that I gained working as an employee at Bio-reference.
The company policies were fair. Being a team player was a must in all the areas that I worked in the company.
I would be happy to work for Bio-reference anytime in the future.
Pros
Good working environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bio-Reference Laboratories, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 498 reviews
5182
4101
3127
244
144

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.0Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight