Bisso Marine Employee Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Based on 17 reviews
Ratings breakdown
56
45
35
21
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 17 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
AB Deckhand (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJanuary 29, 2018
The company was a good place to work you had a lot of ammenties. I enjoyed the staff at Bisso...working their I learn how to work independent the company was very organize..,.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every employee is kept in the dark
SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAOctober 12, 2017
Bisso Marine is now Quanta Marine. They are an offshore oilfield service company. The work is good and paid well. The problem is the lack of work and lack of information passed down to the employees. The Jobs are miss managed. When we aren't offshore we are home sitting around not being paid anything, but are required to be available 24/7 and cannot work elsewhere and never knowing when we might go back to work. Everything is last minute
Pros
Health Insurance
Cons
Lack of work, Lack of information, Need to be paid a retainer or Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Environment
Assistant Controller (Current Employee) –  Houston, TxOctober 11, 2017
Small company with a family feel. I learned management and analytical skills. I was able to use some of my IT knowledge to assist with process improvement. Typical day was busy but fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great guys
Diver (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAMay 25, 2017
No work but when there was work they took great care of us
The dive sup no what they are doing and they work safely
the riggers could use some work but not all of them
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical offshore contractor
General Manager of Operations (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 23, 2017
Fast pace work.
Plenty of work when the oilfield is good.
Lots of chances to preform work out side the box.
overall a good place to work.
Management is positive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees, poor management
Private (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAAugust 25, 2016
This company has great potential but has a poor management scheme which does not allow for it to blossom to its full potential. Great offshore personnel, but the office folks are not as high caliber as you would expect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active
Tender/Diver (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJanuary 25, 2016
We did various jobs for employers ranging from inspection, maintenance, repair, installation, and removal of gas and oil pipelines and platforms. The work we did was interesting fun and productive as well as held a particular family style relationship with other employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with good bosses.
Operator (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJanuary 24, 2016
This company takes care of its employees and goes out of their way to accommodate everyone when there is enough work to go around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed the type of work and working offshore. The different type of work kept it interesting
Senior Sat Tech, installment repair of Sat (Former Employee) –  New Orleans LaOctober 16, 2015
I enjoyed this job because when we were busy the time went by real fast and met some nice people offshore and became friends.
Pros
Hours, overtime payment
Cons
No set schedule and work load, insurance was expensive for a small company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Rigger/Welder/Fab (Current Employee) –  lousianaJuly 7, 2015
work together as a team...great bosses..hard working people..great bosses..and organized company..and family orinitaed
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work and learn
Mechanic / Electrician (Former Employee) –  new orlean, LAJune 15, 2015
Great place to work. Many seasoned and skilled employed to both work with and learn from. I would work there again if the salery was competitive with my current level.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very hard life not for typical people
commerical diver (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAApril 15, 2015
This is a job field that 95% of the people quit in the first year, I've been doing it for 7 years. I would not recommend this job to anyone.
Pros
free food and drinks
Cons
never see your family, hard to comunicate with the people on land
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great enviornment and fun work.
Commercial diver (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 13, 2013
Great place to work. Owners were great, learned to be effective in team work and resources.
Pros
great people.
Cons
none to speak of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall just a great company!
Offshore Diver (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJanuary 5, 2013
Typical day= Salvaged diving
What I learned= Deep Sea Diving
Management= Was excellent
Co-workers= Top Notch
Hardest Part= Being away from family
Most enjoyable= Removing Platforms
Pros
working with friends
Cons
living conditions needed improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Togetherness, Production, and Watching out for one another
Rigger (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LADecember 11, 2012
A typical day at work would be , safety meeting at 11;30am (depending which shift) going over the daily objectives, going out to the site,exchanging turnover notes with your relief, a few jokes here and there, working with cranes, making lifts. Paying attention to whats being shown to me personaly so i can have the knowledge to do it myself next time, enjoying learing new things and way its being taught. and of course lunch on the barge
Pros
free lunch
Cons
only home 7 days
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay with no Job Security
Survey Manager (Project Manager) (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 22, 2012
This company has a turn over rate of around 300%. Pay is great, hours can be long when required. Managment has no Values other than making money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bisso Marine. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Bisso Marine Reviews by Location