BJ's Wholesale Club Employee Reviews

Found 2,572 reviews matching the search See all 2,573 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Stocker/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCNovember 16, 2018
Its very helpful with patience and the people that work there is very helpful and kind to staff and other workers I hope to learn more they keep the place up nice
Pros
Free lunch, bathroom
Cons
Breaks except bathroom
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee) –  Ledgewood, NJNovember 16, 2018
I had a positive experience working overnight stocking. The management and co-workers were helpful and friendly. The pay was on the low side. Besides that all was good.
Pros
Friendly helpful coworkers and management
Cons
It was a little fast pasted Keep moving or fall behind
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad and getting worse
Overnight Merchandise Specialist (Former Employee) –  Warrington, PANovember 15, 2018
Company doesn't pay competitive wages.
Company expects way too much from employees for the wages being paid.
Too many members of upper management are out of touch with workers and job requirements.
Regardless of what the official company line may be, in most cases BJS is unwilling to work with employees in regards to availability.
Chances of advancement are low.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the headache and stress
Tire Technician (Current Employee) –  Valley Stream, NYNovember 15, 2018
Managers do and say what they want. They tend to never be on the floor when you need them. They never pick up the phone when calling them. Just too much stress for nothing.
Pros
Great team members
Cons
Lack of management skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional and discriminating behavior
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VANovember 14, 2018
The manager is extremely rude and was unwilling to listen to coworkers. Puts her hand in people's faces to get them to stop talking. Anything other than praise was taken as being negative. Their "open door" hotline does not even work, so getting help from anyone is not very easy.

One of the member service managers (MSM) for some reason was really disrespectful and belittling to make workers under him. Was fired for bringing attention to it
Pros
Fun coworkers
Cons
Managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to interact with customers
Front Line Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Newark, DENovember 14, 2018
It can be a fun place to work if that is your forte'. Sometimes you have to beware of other employees and some of the management. Occasionally you will have a fellow worker that just simply does not like you. When that happens you get the ax. No warnings or chance to prove that you were in the right.
Pros
Yearly membership free
Cons
aggressive fellow workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLNovember 12, 2018
Stoking for a company that was very flexible and nice people. Almost one of my favorites jobs, I got paid good and working night time shifts.nice company to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Club Inventory Control Manager (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYNovember 12, 2018
All in all, BJ's was a good company to work for from the home office end of things but, locally, it was a good old boys club where friends and former co-workers moved into better jobs before others who had been there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great customer skills, time management, quick at solution problems, fast pace
Member Services Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Attleboro, MANovember 12, 2018
At BJ's I would run the frontline, that has to do with the cashiers, the service desk, the front door, and any problems that happen throughout the store if it is member wise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay and benefits are very low.
Cashier (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Cumming, GANovember 12, 2018
The manager is extremely great, most people are nice enough. Pay is not enough to keep me there. Work hours are only 7.5 a day and you don’t always get breaks. As usual some teammates are know it alls and tend to tell you what to do even when they are in the same position as yourself. Makes it very awkward. If you are a student or a homemaker, this is a good job but if this is your only income, you will have to work more than one job.
Pros
Awesome mangers
Cons
No benefits and low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Overnight Asset Protection / Loss Prevention (Former Employee) –  Stratford, CTNovember 11, 2018
I would highly recommend to work here if your looking for your first job, and even a second job part-time, or just for something seasonal for the holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working place
Meat Clerk (Current Employee) –  Coral Springs, FLNovember 11, 2018
its good to work there good people and good salary if you are young, give many hours, you work at your time and they make you feel comfortable, nice people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It had alot of work there and i enjoyed working
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLNovember 9, 2018
The hours was great and the ppl was aswell i would live to work back for Bj's my temp pull me off. I qork the floor wrapping pallets an i begin to just cut open pallets. You could move up to dock work and they would train you for forklift.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
No room to move up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, yet exciting.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 8, 2018
This job will require a person to give up more of their free time than one would like. Nights and weekends are your bread and butter. At least management is kind to you when you need a day off or two.
Pros
Flexible shifts
Cons
Nights and weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fine place to work
Self-Checkout Attendant (Former Employee) –  Rotterdam, NYNovember 6, 2018
busy and mangers are always complaining about lines but does nothing to help. I learned that not every manger is a good one. management was average at best. culture was fine. hardest part was you are trying to do ur job but mangers micromange
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid place to work during school
Asset Protection (Former Employee) –  East Syracuse, NYNovember 6, 2018
Checked receipts to ensure customers weren't over/under charged. Cleaned area up front. Closed store at night, and made sure carts were returned inside the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is Key
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Suwanee, GANovember 3, 2018
The management changes drastically from club location to club location. Since I have been working for the Club for a few years I have been trained in a few different jobs. My typical day has me working only a few hours in my core job and many hours in jobs that I have been cross-trained into. That would be fine every now and again, but this happens every day and my core job suffers greatly because of this. The managers at one location make sure that proper staffing allows that everyone that is hired for a job works only that job unless rarely needed for another position for a short period of time. Some other location managers overly rely on those that are cross-trained because they don't employ the right amount of people to cover positions. This puts an extremely high demand on very few employees rather than a small demand on many employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun
Member Services Associate (Former Employee) –  Islandia, NYNovember 2, 2018
it actually kinda sucked here lol but i dont really know what else to say its gross and unsanitary and the people arerude. lots of drama there all the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It could have been better. Management was the only problem
Human Resources Clerical (Former Employee) –  Valley Stream, NY 11581November 1, 2018
A typical day included setting up the paper work from the night before, get everyone's payroll ready to submit, if the lines were busy and i 6-15 people in the office waitin for me to start orientation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work environment with new experiences daily
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Revere, MANovember 1, 2018
Company promotes from within and cultivates a learning environment.The company is constantly evolving and introducing new concepts to grow with changing economy.The work is fast pace and always driving for results.
Pros
Bonus package
Cons
Nights and weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BJ's Wholesale Club. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,574 reviews
5608
4751
3732
2264
1219

See reviews about

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Women's ratings

2.5Fairygodboss Score

0%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

0%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss