Blackhawk Specialty Tools Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field Service Supervisor
Field Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Midland, TXMarch 12, 2018
Run down hole completion/cementation tools along with floatation subs. Work long hours on locations dealing with drilling rigs. Also work at shop inbetween jobs to misc. tasks.
Pros
Per Diem
Cons
Long days and hours on drilling locations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a professional in the organuzation.
Field Service (Former Employee) –  LouisianaFebruary 25, 2018
Nepotism and buddy system everywhere. Poor moral, management and culture. Have to be a family member or friend to get anywhere. One nut wore a gun to work everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical 9-5
Tool Technician (Former Employee) –  Williamsport, PADecember 10, 2017
Blackhawk was overall a good place to work, there were times when we were super busy and times when we were not. But like anywhere else in the gas business the gas companies moved on out of the area.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
distance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long days and always on call.
Well Planner (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 31, 2017
Decent place of employment. If you like to work long hours and make ok money this is it. Great benefits. Lack of communication with management and other internal employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Engineering (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 18, 2017
Great leaders, best technology in the industry! Unlike most large companies who only care about money, BLACKHAWK cares for their employees! Great company!
Pros
Everything
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Offshore service hand
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Houma, LA 70360May 28, 2017
I was a strong team leader and very safety minded and had 30 + years in oilfield never late for jobs and very good with customers. Thru years with halliburton met a lot of customers due to my cementing skills and knowledge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shop
Technician (Current Employee) –  Gray, LAFebruary 12, 2017
Blackhawk is a decent place to work. Unfortunately, pay is not great and there is not much room for advancement. Hours depend on how the oilfield is doing. Management could improve
Pros
Home every night
Cons
Pay is bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bst
Tool Technician (Former Employee) –  Muncy, PADecember 12, 2016
It was a learning experience. I wouldn't say the oil field is the easiest thing to grow up in and mature as a worker but i met some nice people and learned how to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family
Human Resources Generalist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 8, 2016
I wouldn't change my experience at Blackhawk for the world. They are my extended family. I was afforded the opportunity for career swift advancement and I was provided many opportunities to further my education and skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job with good benefits.
Machinist (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAJune 30, 2016
Enjoyed all aspects of my job at Blackhawk which included working myself up from the bottom. Was treated very well by management and my coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Feild Sales (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 20, 2016
Blackhawk like many other Oilfield companies unfortunately had to reduce their workforce during this current Slump, and this time, my number was up.
Blackhawk is an excellent company to work for. They maintain a family/team vibe and seek out the very best in the field of service to provide unmatched products and service to their customers. I have worked with many of the Blackhawk team throughout my years in the oilfield, and I believe them all to be the best in the industry.
My time with Blackhawk only enhanced my skills and knowledge, and I was proud to be a part of the Blackhawk team/family.
Pros
They maintain a family/team vibe and seek out the very best individuals.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a great working environment
Service Tool Supervisor III (Former Employee) –  Muncy, PAJune 2, 2016
Some day are slow at time you must work a fast pass. At one point i worked 23 hours straight. Work weeks are unpredictable at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Tool Technician One (Former Employee) –  Houma, LADecember 16, 2015
Great for a first job or somebody who is in school. Great people to work with. Will help you out with anything and will give you the shirt off their backs to you.Great to work with great people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Work
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAJune 3, 2014
great place to work for, friendly people, andvery family friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of overtime. Poor communication. Good money
Team Lead/Tech III (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 2, 2013
Work,Work,Work. Good people to work with. really repetitive work. you have no home life though. say goodbye to friends
Pros
free meals on weekends, Ton of overtime
Cons
No time off. hard to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship experience
Logistics/Supply Chain Intern (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAAugust 20, 2013
Very good internship experience (3 months). I learned a lot of very good technical details from very good people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable work field
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAAugust 19, 2012
While I was only there for a short time, I learned a lot about the oil field. My typical workday included typical receptionist work. The coworkers were very friendly and management was always busy. The hardest part of the job was, after only being there a few weeks, learning another coworkers job as well for me to assist when she left for maternity leave. The most enjoyable part of my job was learning first hand from the guys offshore the ins and outs of the oilfield. However, job stability in this field is not good at all.
Pros
benifits, hours
Cons
job stability, explination of job requirements
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Blackhawk Specialty Tools. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 18 reviews
56
46
34
21
11

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.8Culture

Blackhawk Specialty Tools Reviews by Location