Blackhawk Transport Employee Reviews

Found 26 reviews matching the search See all 27 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not like other companies
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TX. Kresmark dedicated.November 4, 2018
Layed back management and most time is great place to work . Dont like the international trucks. Too rough riding and castrated in high gear. Cruise dont work cause they refuse to fix forward radar. Half of trailers are old.
Pros
Pay, benefits. Layed back management.
Cons
Equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn Transportation Management
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 11, 2018
Enjoyed my time at Blackhawk Transport. As a smaller trucking company, the opportunities to learn the industry were more accessible, as opposed to a larger company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job , good people , good benefits , good pay
Driver (Current Employee) –  ArkansasAugust 20, 2018
I've worked at Black Hawk for 5+ years and its the best company that i have ever driven for. Even my wife loves it ! and now our two sons are out trying to get they're CDL's so that they can come work for Black Hawk in a couple years .
Pros
Good pay, Managers know you by name not by number, and work with you to get you home when you need to get home.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Truck Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Prince George, VAJuly 12, 2018
Blackhawk transport is a small trucking company that is growing fast .they have some contract work that they do locally. Blackhawk also has OTR drivers and they run brokered freight as a dispatcher my job was to find loads negotiate rates and terms book loads and dispatch drivers for those loads.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful at times
Truck Driver Local (Former Employee) –  Beloit, WIJune 22, 2018
6 day work wk seems like you're never off. Route planner was kind of backwards at times. But they just don't investigate problems throughly enough just slam the door on you.
Pros
Nice equipment to work in.
Cons
Quick to slam the door on people, heartless.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 3Report
Official response from Blackhawk Transport
June 25, 2018

Thanks for your feedback. I know that the 6th day can be hard at times. Our industry is 24hrs a day 7 days a week and we know that working a 6th day with a 34hr reset can be challenging. We are working to involve drivers more in the route planning process. Our absolute intention is never to make any employee feel like the door was shut on them.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is very unorganized, and routing is terrible
CDL DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Pearland, TXMarch 26, 2018
They are very unprofessional on organized management doesn't know what the t hey're doing routing is horrible they don't care about their employees they treat you like a number do you have no sympathy for your personal life
Pros
Local
Cons
Horrible management in routing
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Growing Company
Account/Area Manager (Current Employee) –  Pulaski, VAFebruary 25, 2018
Overall great company has doubled in size since my time with them. They are always putting safety at the top of the list and provide above industry standard benefits
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Work life balance can be a challenge.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company that cares
Driver (Current Employee) –  TXJanuary 31, 2018
This is a great dedicated trucking company that has secure, good paying jobs for truck drivers. Management & leadership will work tirelessly to find ways to satisfy driver and customer needs.
Pros
Flexible caring management staff
Cons
trucking hours can be long at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Day
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILJanuary 7, 2018
An average day is being behind the wheel driving and making sure you observe the traffic and being aware of your surroundings. I learned how to drive in difficult situations. The hardest part of driving is being observant of fellow drivers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 20Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unrealistic Expectations, No Support
Driver Manager / Operations (Former Employee) –  Longview, TXNovember 16, 2017
Blackhawk is pool of nepotism and "Good Ol' Boy" politics. It's amateur hour at place, avoid it like the plague! The upper level management allows the drivers to call ALL the shots and push their direct report management around. Basically the drivers run this company. About 40 - 60% of the driver base have been with the upper and middle management for years, which gives new hire drivers little chance of acquiring favorable routs. Team drivers ONLY! Which means that you are OTR with whomever happens to be available.
Pros
Decent Equipment, Decent Pay
Cons
Nepotism and "Good Ol' Boy" politics / Terrible Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 8Report
Official response from Blackhawk Transport
November 29, 2017

Thanks for the feedback! You're right that Drivers are a huge part of helping running our company. Drivers are our number ONE resource! We've grown over 600% in the past 4 years and we could not have done this without the drivers safe & conscientious effort to make this happen. We have and will continue to invest time and money into continuing education for our managers. Many of our managers have been former drivers and we believe this helps to create a well rounded management team!

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management slightly better than average.
Local Flatbed Delivery Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TX 75212August 15, 2017
It's a decent company to start off with for experience. As far as private trucking companies are concerned. Depending upon which account you are assigned to and which region.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 7Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hauling auto glass
Driver (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHMay 21, 2017
Blackhawk seems like a good company if you are on the right account. We just had to take a pay cut on our account due to renegotiating the contract. Also when I was hired they promised a lot and none of it has come true in the 1.5 years I've been here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
Official response from Blackhawk Transport
May 22, 2017

We appreciate the honest feedback! The dedicated customer on this lane from Dayton to Decatur has made many changes to the original plan we had in place as you indicated. We thank each of you for your support and patience while we all weather these changes!
Shawn - Blackhawk Transport

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxxx
DRIVER (Current Employee) –  Cleburne, TXMay 19, 2017
Good company to work for. A lot of good people work there and willing to help you out if you need help with something. They will go out of there way to help out.
Pros
Home everyday/ and good health ins.
Cons
You have to slip seat trucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
Official response from Blackhawk Transport
May 22, 2017

Thank you for the review! Appreciate the honesty about the slip-seating. Its not for everyone, but we do Thank you for helping us by slip-seating. It certainly helps us provide services at a significantly reduced rate which helps maintain our business with the customer!! We are a family company! We do work diligently to help our drivers when ever possible!!! Thanks for being part of the Blackhawk Team!!
Shawn - Blackhawk Transport!

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Commercial Driver (Former Employee) –  Beloit, WIApril 2, 2017
The work was easy and the customers we delivered to were all friendly good people. Only problem I had was that... my supervisor didn't really know much about truck driving and he would route us wrong but other than that. It's a good company
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough miles
Class A CDL Driver (Current Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLMarch 16, 2017
Im currently on this account (PolyGlass FL) and theres already 7 drivers total that rarely see 1600 miles per week because theres not enough loads going out. They say you gotta do 1600 a week to stay on the account but the plant doesnt ship enough to make that happen. If you add more drivers then its going to be less miles for all. A driver usually gets between 1200-1400 miles each week. The plant refuses to pay detention time half of the time and so Blackhawk doesn't pay it then either....usually. Its also not uncommon to sit at the yard for 3-6 hours waiting on a load and you can bet that youll work 12-14 hours a day. However the money is good when the miles are there and the company has an excellent benefits package and I also believe that as long as a driver doesn't screw up, job security should not be a problem.
Pros
Nice trucks, benefits, pretty good pay
Cons
Low miles, dusty nasty environment, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Beloit, WIFebruary 17, 2017
Good Company Running pods this is there best account. You chose your own appointment, Routing, It is forced dispatch. APU on most trucks. .40 cents a mile no additional pay
Pros
You set del appointment
Cons
No stop pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
SE Driver (Former Employee) –  Beloit, WIJanuary 23, 2017
Great company to work for. All the staff members are friendly and easy to get along with. Open door policy so everyone is open to talking about anything. great benefits and great equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job to much drama
Driver (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKNovember 30, 2016
Good easy job good equipment nice people, good working with some of the coworker some would help each other some would just sit in their trucks a watch you want work.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 10Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't waste your time
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  Beloit, WIJuly 9, 2016
I drove for them for a year. Had to struggle to survive on their miles. Had a not at fault, non preventable accident and they fired me. Never had a wreck or moving violation my entire career before that. Was found not at fault, not cited and the driver of the other car was cited. Still fired me. They will not back you up even when you are right.
Pros
Driver Managers
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 76No 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor manager bad attitude
driver (Former Employee) –  New Philadelphia, OHDecember 24, 2015
They pay what they want in crude oil attitude stinks disorganized bad manager trys to sound smart Don't recommend this to anyone
Pros
have your own truck
Cons
They expect you to work free
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Blackhawk Transport. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 27 reviews
57
46
36
24
14

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture

Blackhawk Transport Reviews by Location