Blood Bank of Alaska Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forward thinking and innovative work place.
Director of Marketing and Communications (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKApril 4, 2018
Blood Bank of Alaska is a wonderful non-profit to work with. They are committed to a quality work environment and staying up to date with the latest technology developments.

The management team and board of directors openly communicate to the employees and show a vested interest in their employees.

There are opportunities to grow as a professional and they support continued education for their staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Donor Services Technician (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKMarch 31, 2018
Very catty management at the time. NO job advancement. Pay was not very good in relation to the work or time you put in. Management and their public relations/marketing employee were always inappropriate, lazy, and very clique-ish. I would not recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work to feel like your helping the community.
Donor Caller Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKMarch 20, 2018
A typical day at work: Talking on the phone a lot to donors

What did i learn; How important it is to give blood.

Management: Always there for you and willing to give a helping hand.

Workplace culture: Check your attitude at the door. Always be nice to the donors.

Hardest part of the job: It was an easy place to work at.

The most enjoyable part about the job: Easy going
Pros
Room for advancment
Cons
No cons for me
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed, fast pace work environment.
Medical Assitant/ Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKAugust 23, 2017
I would never recommend this job to anyone. Mangers were undertrained, no room for growth, and rotating schedules. Benefits were terrible, and could not use PTO for vacation because we were always understaffed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to start.
Technician (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKSeptember 17, 2015
Great place to start a career. I was hired right out of college. Everyone wants someone with experience but how are you supposed to get your first job?
Pros
Free juice and cookies.
Cons
A dying business model.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Donor Caller (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKMay 19, 2015
called donor all day long to schedule apointments, or if they travel or did something that would defer them from donating we would have to fill out a form.sign up new donors, reminder calls,
Pros
helping save a life
Cons
monotanous
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working with the donors
Alyx Coordinator/Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKJune 28, 2014
good job only problem lot of drama due to staffing and employee shortages. the best part about working at the blood bank was that we were the only place in the state of alaska taking blood to help patients and hospitals with the blood supply
Pros
had a lot of donors coming in to help others
Cons
sometimes you did not get lunch breaks due to being short staffed of just busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not pro employee
Graphic Design and Public Relations (Former Employee) –  Anchorage AlaskaJanuary 13, 2014
Not pro employee

With four years experience in corporate communications, brand marketing, and design, I am highly proficient in the Adobe Suite and specialize in producing quality work quickly and precisely. My latest position as Marketing and Design Coordinator at GCI allowed me to lead, manage and collaborate projects for web, app environments, and print media. My priority is to met and excel the demands of a continual work flow with creative passion and drive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 14Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Donor Caller (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKNovember 13, 2013
Was a great work environment, good coworkers, was nice to see that i help to save lives each day.
Pros
easy going, great work atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, very productive
Phlebotomy Technician (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKJanuary 7, 2013
Very busy day, interviewing donors, phlebotomizing donors, learned how to do blood typing. management barely came out on the floor to help, co-workers worked together in harmony. Hardest part of the day was being the lead phlebotomist sticking every donor, making sure to use every safety precaution to avoid incidents and spills. enjoyable part is knowing every donor that came in the door bllod was being used for a good purpose. enjoyed going out to set up a mobile site,
Pros
a lot of traveling around ak
Cons
some parts were colder than others
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report

Want to know more about Blood Bank of Alaska?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was a fun place to work for everyday was something new
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKApril 28, 2012
worked mobile units, load the bus everyday with supplies and snacks, get to location and set up. Review donor history sheets check hematocrit, if they passed then take the donor out to the chair and prep them for donation. Clean the arm with alcohol then iodine. Use a 16g needle with a 550 ml bag and start the donation. After the process of donation check the donor let them seat and have snacks for about 5 mins and let go. At the end of our shift we cleaned everything on the bus, count all the donation bags tag them and drop them off at the main center. Get back to werehouse unload bus and restock all the supplies for the next day
Pros
alway had a new location, seeing new ppl everyday. plus travel out of town
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Blood Bank of Alaska. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 12 reviews
55
44
31
20
12

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

1.3InHerSight Score

1.4Personal Development

1.5Career Opportunities

1.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Blood Bank of Alaska Reviews by Location