Blue Apron Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is cold and educational and I would do it again
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  New JerseyJune 9, 2018
It's freezer job is 28° you learn how to cut up meat package everything from scratch you learn how to run the pallet jack taught me how to drive forklift Cook a Measure at the ingredients The whole job was enjoyable
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
5-10 minutes to go warm up
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work I guess if you don't mind the cold.
Automation Technician (Current Employee) –  Linden, NJJune 8, 2018
This is a company which went large too fast with very sophisticated equipment with not enough training for the technicians. The equipment to Technician ratio is horrendous thus a high turn over of technicians.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job/good benefits
Quality Assurance Associate (Former Employee) –  Linden, NJJune 7, 2018
I enjoyed my time with Blue Apron, though it was very short lived do to a massive layoff of many employees. Though i was disappointed being laid off, i do not regret my time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working place
A runner for the auto bag (Former Employee) –  Bayonne, NJJune 6, 2018
One of the best job i had, i lke to work there before all came down wit favortisen. People that get away with everything and didnt do their job. But a got place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Associate in Pack (Former Employee) –  Linden, NJJune 5, 2018
The hardest part is the 12 hour shifts in cold temperatures. Equipment or inventory is often broken or missing. Most coworkers are nice. The breaks are extremely short.
Pros
pay rate is decent
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to advance
Level I Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXJune 3, 2018
It used to be very family based. Now its just going to work. I will say that I learned about machinery and how to operate. I also learned about different food and ways to produce.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
blue apron is a good job.
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Richmond, CAJune 1, 2018
Blue apron is a wonderful job to work. at it is fast ,fun, and because every body gets along it is like family every body is out going and everybody be ready to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over work
Sanitation Worker (Former Employee) –  Richmond, CAMay 28, 2018
They over work you for only you getting paid a low amount is not fair to the workers. the workers without lunch have to go through out the day they only provide vending machines
Pros
Bathrooms clean
Cons
Short breaks no lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blue apron
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJMay 22, 2018
The job is a great job and a growing b in learning job for most people the only thing that people might not like about the no is that it's in a freeze in a warehouse
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
runner/kitter (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaMay 13, 2018
work am 5;00am - 1;30 pm. I have worked in almost every department. Management could be better. Culture is ok. Nothing really hard about it. Most enjoyable part getting off at 1:30pm and going home.
Pros
none
Cons
they keep people that they shouldn't.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too cold of an environment
Quality Assurance Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond, CAMay 10, 2018
didn't like some of the managers they pushed employees to do more and fast pace which lead to mistakes and missing items in boxes. they say quality is important but at the end of the week it didn't matter
Pros
people
Cons
cold and no seats to rest
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced work space with time to relax
Inventory Control Specialist (Current Employee) –  Bayonne, NJMay 9, 2018
A typical day at work is scanning food products, helping runners, checking and counting products, updating the system and moving pallets to proper location.
Pros
Great pay and easy work
Cons
Always changing and thus unstable future
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays the bills
Inventory Control Clerk (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJMay 4, 2018
Its an ok job if you dont have a life. Sometimes the rules are a lillte unfair. And there is alot of favoritism. But they do provide lunch and the job isnt hard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work place with wonderful people
temp staff (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJMay 3, 2018
It's a cool and nice environment to work with diverse people from different part of the world. Managers/supervisors are great, neat and safe environment to work.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
indiscipline
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people worked hard and was not appreciated or promoted
Inventory Associate and Pallet Jack Driver (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXApril 30, 2018
although the culture is good there and things are getting better when i was employed there it was many people that was treated unfairly and fired for unexplained reasons . if your hired keep to yourself and work you should be fine
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sanitation
Sanitation Worker (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJApril 29, 2018
Doing sanitation was pretty cool, easy job. The hardest part I had to deal with is after mop or sweep the floor a employer comer spill something on it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont apply
Packline associate,Scanner,runner (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXApril 27, 2018
I worked here for 1 year and the pay was decent, freezing in the building and my managers were petty. They do not promote from within, they hire outside managers. I would not suggest to work here.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Childish employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Kitchen associate- Food Prep/ Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJApril 25, 2018
blue apron is a good company that provides jobs to many people, but is only focused on production and would do a lot better if the treated the employees better!
Pros
healthy food education
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some of the employee's at blue apron were easy to work with . N one year they gave each employees a gift certificate for thanksgivin n
Packer (Former Employee) –  Linden, NJApril 24, 2018
The management there is not good u have problem there they won't do nothin to approach the situation. The only good thing about blue is the benefits and they give u produce at the end of each cycle (that's if it not rotten)
Pros
Produce after each cycle
Cons
Too many vto (voluntary time off) in which u don't get paid for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Runner (Former Employee) –  Linden, NJApril 23, 2018
Blue Apron was definitely a good job experience. It cool, laid back but u remain busy. Only thing people really have a problem with is working in a cold environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Blue Apron. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 401 reviews
5104
498
398
256
145

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.8

2.8Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight