Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan Employee Reviews

Showing all 612 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Customer Service Representative II (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MINovember 13, 2018
An average day at BCBSM will have you pulling your hair out. It is a very stressful place to work and management is not every supportive. Very little room to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTITIVE II (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MINovember 6, 2018
Great company to work for with great benefits. This company cares about work-life balance as well as diversity. They are always giving back to the community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overal a great place to work
Account Clerk IV (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIOctober 28, 2018
Great place to work with good benefits. There is opportunities for career advancement and they offer tuintion reimbursement . Promotion can be difficult.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Analyst-Service Performance Improvement (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MI 48226October 25, 2018
Analytical day to day work involves the following:

Act as the subject matter expert on multiple workgroups simultaneously
Provide project support to all team members through data collection, analysis and participation in workgroups
Collect, evaluate/analyze data using MS Access, Excel, Visio, PowerPoint for a variety of departments across the enterprise
Report out findings and provide recommendations for process improvement initiatives, creating current state process maps and proposing future state process maps
Present findings and recommendations to Vice Presidents, Directors and upper management through oral presentations
Provide robust reporting and any ad hoc requests received
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate
Team Leader II, Group Service Liaison Team (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIOctober 25, 2018
Good benefits and opportunities for motivated professionals that understand how to navigate corporate America and manage multiple personalities and expectations. You must be your own advocate and hustle in order to promote from within.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Account Clerk III (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIOctober 20, 2018
I did not care for this job too much. Supervisors micro-managed so many details even though they don't know how to do the actual wok themselves. Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a great place to work, true to mission and community!
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIOctober 16, 2018
I am thankful for the opportunity and support received from leadership which has evolved, in a positive way, over the years. BCBSM really is a great company to work for, providing an opportunity to grow, both personally and professionally. Employees are given tools needed to achieving success, providing computer training and development; technology savvy company.

Tuition assistance provided for all employment level, for graduate and undergraduate work, anyone who wishes to succeed, can succeed.

Over the years there have been a few management challenges but I not only weathered the storms, I have embraced the opportunity to grow personally and professionally.

This company provides all types and levels of internal training [i.e. writing, computer training, time and project management, diversity and inclusion] just to name a few. Training and development takes place year round.

Great benefit package too.

The most enjoyable part of my job has been the relationships developed over the years and professional growth. Did I mention, I have met and learned from some amazing people.
Pros
Flexible schedules, hard work, achieving goals, acknowledged....
Cons
Personally, can't think of any cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Professional Facility Analyst (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIOctober 1, 2018
Gave authorizations to hospitals for treating patients in the hospital. This was a call center that required nurses to take a certain amount of calls per day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Training Specilaist (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 30, 2018
During the time I worked at BLue Cross it was a good company. I had several growth opportunities within the company. I enjoyed my time there and met great people. It was definitely a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place has changed over the years.
Utilization Specialist and Complex Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 27, 2018
In the beginning this was a wonderful place to work. Old management left and new management came in. There is an opportunity to learn different things in a short amount of time. Culture is not the most positive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at BCBSM
Quality Audit Analyst II (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 24, 2018
I loved the yearly merit raises and bonuses; There is a lot of opportunity to learn however it can take awhile (years) before you are promoted; Be aware BCBSM leadership will recognize your talents and utilize them without paying you for it; that is a disappointment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BCBSM review
Operations Technical SME/Sr. Analyst (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 21, 2018
Working at BCBSM was a great Opportunity in both the IT team and with the Medicare Advantage team. Very open communications with management and great working environment.
Pros
Great benifits
Cons
layoffs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive workplace, great coworkers, great managers, teamwork stressed, customers first, great incentives and positive feedback for project outcomes.
RN Case Manager Professional Services (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MISeptember 20, 2018
Coworkers were very personable and professional and worked as a team. Learned many new skills in handling patient benefits and claims, great communication and rapport with patients and helped to facilitate their care and management post hospital. Scheduled appointments with clients and family members and conducted team meetings to help provide them with the best available resources to meet their needs. Wrote summaries and reports and met with vendors and DME specialists. Attended project meetings with coworkers to improve policies and protocol and provide consistency within our department. Helped to create forms and guidelines to ensure efficiency and measurement of outcomes. Established good rapport via good communication skills on the phone and meetings in person with clients and family members. Contacted physician offices and helped to get necessary doctor's orders, prescriptions and documentation to facilitate medical care for home patients transitioning from hospital or rehab to home. The hardest part of the job was learning benefit packages, and completing a great deal of paperwork.
Pros
Positive workplace, service to clents and family, great managers, great team. created changes, learned new aspect of health care management, ideas were heard, impacted improvments within department.
Cons
Great amount of paperwork and documentation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Manager, Hospital Contracting (Current Employee) –  MichiganSeptember 18, 2018
Good company with good leadership Great people that believe in the mission of the company. Pay is fair. Attempts to cater to employees and good work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company to work
Sr. Information Security Consultant/Engineer (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 17, 2018
very good company to work. I learned a lot here thru trainings and attending seminars and boot camps. flexible working hours and very good work culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MISeptember 15, 2018
Great opportunity - I was able to work my way up to leadership in 10 years. Company provides a good benefit package in addition to salary. Office is centrally located.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Customer Services Representative IV (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MI 49503September 8, 2018
In the coarse of 18+ years at Blue Cross Blue Shield of MI, I have learned more about insurance than I ever thought possible. Being there has helped me understand also the importance of trust and loyalty. If I didn't trust the people I work with and for, I would not have stayed for 18 years.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Growing Environment
Quality Analyst (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 7, 2018
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan is a company all about growth and productivity. There is no wasted time and you will be kept busy. As a contract worker you are treated as second class and will not be compensated fairly and may occasionally feel you are viewed negatively.
Pros
Many different departments to learn from
Cons
A lack of career advancement for contract workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micromanged
Customer Service Representative/Call Center (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MISeptember 3, 2018
Overall the company is nice to work for- great benefits. It is part of the UAW- and how the company is ran reflects this. In the call centers hard to make advancements unless you are willing to move to Detroit, MI. Even then interviews are slim unless you know the right person. Centers are very micro managed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Teamwork
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 2, 2018
It was an atmosphere of caring and helping one another achieve the goals for the company. The people that you work with make it a pleasure to be at work.
Pros
Co-Workers
Cons
Micro management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 612 reviews
5226
4196
3123
238
129

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

3.4InHerSight Score

3.3Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight