Blue Origin Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative, entrepreneurial culture with solid aerospace values
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Kent, WAApril 18, 2018
Blue Origin is a unique company because of its very long term vision of creating infrastructure to enable millions of people living and working in space. Its a great place to apply your skills, be challenged with solving hard problems, and to learn from smart passionate people. The culture and organization is still evolving so be willing to be very flexible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with exceptionally talented people.
Professional Buyer (Current Employee) –  Kent, WAApril 4, 2018
Great place to work with exceptionally talented people. Love the collaborative environment. Have had great bosses since working here. People are friendly and want to help you succeed.
Pros
Great benefits for full-time employees.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of perks that don't pay the bills
Integration Engineer (Current Employee) –  Kent, WAMarch 6, 2018
Company culture is pretty good and benefits are satisfactory but the rest is mostly hype. Stock options are a joke (worth the paper they're written on) lots of perks that slowly disappear over time. Arbitrary schedule pressure. Disproportionate pay ($20/hr difference between employees with the same job title) if you love space and care about nothing else, this is the place for you. But if you're looking to provide for a family or advance in your career, go someplace else.
Pros
Cool culture, lots of hysteria and hype around launches, benefits are acceptable, PTO is great
Cons
Incompetent management, Hr, recruiting department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer
Curriculum Developer (Former Employee) –  Kent, WADecember 31, 2017
Overall, I was greatly impressed with the culture, staff and nature of the work. Professional, supportive, kind and flexible. Being able to work in a high tech environment making a real tangible effect on industry was rewarding.
Pros
Company gear/swag, complimentary snacks and drinks, sponsored events
Cons
It was a contract job! Would have loved to continue.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Space orientated company.
IT General Helper (Former Employee) –  Kent, WADecember 18, 2017
It's a great lace to work everyone you meet is so friendly and the work is pretty easy once you get a hang of it. They are working towards a new step in space flight. I had a great time working for Blue Origin.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Integration Engineer (Current Employee) –  Kent, WANovember 30, 2017
In time it will improve and grow into something beneficial to the job market and humanity on the whole given its mission related to commercial space flight.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good perks ... at a PRICE
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Kent, WAJune 24, 2017
Super competitive, very political climate. Company culture is based around millennial sensitive cry babies & prima donnas. Super exciting work, good benefits, decent compensation, at a price.
Pros
bring your dog to work, grazing on free food and drinks
Cons
took free Tuesday Lunch & free Christmas time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 10Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blue Origin
Additive Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Kent, WAFebruary 13, 2017
Company over promises and under delivers as a employer. You would think as a employer they would want the best for the employee. That's not always the case here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging and Fun
Structures Engineer, Intern (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAFebruary 8, 2017
Exciting, fun, Leadership
Learned to read email effectively
Smile all day
Second time I have to write this :((((
Super fun
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable and healthy work environment
Propulsion Integration Engineer (Current Employee) –  Kent, WADecember 2, 2016
Exciting high tech company with plenty of room for growth.
Kent location is not a bad place to live. Van Horn, Texas is good for no one.

Work tasks are constantly varied.
Pros
Good compensation, relaxed environment, family style
Cons
Poor healthcare, terrible lower/middle management
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Instrumentation and Controls Engineer (Former Employee) –  Kent, WAJune 18, 2015
A great place if you are into rockets and space. I have worked for most of the major aerospace companies. Each had their area they were working (airframe, engines, or avionics). Blue Origin is doing it all in-house. This makes for a fun and challenging place to work.
Pros
Great benefits and perks
Cons
Long hours and travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutting Edge Production and Engineering
Structural Engineer (Current Employee) –  Kent, WADecember 17, 2014
Lots of opportunity to do all sorts of engineering, calculations, analysis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting aerospace company developing new technologies to improve access to space
Department Manager, Project Lead (Former Employee) –  Kent, WAFebruary 9, 2014
Exciting aerospace company developing new technologies to improve access to space
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 29Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entire staff is brilliant and driven.
Test Engineer/Construction Manager (Current Employee) –  Van Horn, TXAugust 17, 2013
Overall a good place to work for. At one point in time they treated their employees very well, this has been slowly declining, I hope it does not continue.
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned alot about concrete and rebar
Rod Buster (Former Employee) –  Van Horn, TXMay 29, 2013
It was a big job and alot of responsibilities everyone worked together well.and safely . To me it felt , like management always put me on the toughest tasks. And the most enjoyable part was when the job was done a we stood back and could see what we had built.
Pros
we did not have to drive to work we all would ride in a van
Cons
there were no benifites
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 23Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They talk a good game
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Kent, WAApril 27, 2013
Toxic environment, disorganized, lack of respect for their employees, inconsistent focus and business model, and the biggest issue... I thought I was hired to design for space travel, every boy's dream right? No, waste of my time. I left a few months ago and am much happier using my expertise and education for a solid company.
Pros
Facility was great
Cons
Lacks positive culture and organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Director of Finance said Blue Origin was a toxic environment and I thought she was right.
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Kent, WAJune 20, 2012
Accounting was close to the small conference room and the way the Directors' looked when the left that room was very upsetting. Their faces would be red and they would not go back to their desks, they would go outside to regroup.
Pros
free lunch on tuesday
Cons
they way they treated their top level employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Blue Origin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 18 reviews
55
45
36
21
11

See reviews about

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

2.4Career Opportunities

3.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Blue Origin Reviews by Location