Bluegrass Community and Technical College

Bluegrass Community and Technical College Employee Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Based on 53 reviews
Ratings breakdown
532
414
35
22
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 53 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Employment
Lead Technician (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYMay 31, 2018
Bluegrass Community and Technical College is a good place to work. The employment is stable and the environment isn't too stressful. Full time positions are static, so it is best to go for what you want up front.
Pros
Stability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's A Great Place to Work!
CUSTODIAN I (Current Employee) –  Lexington-Fayette, KYMay 11, 2018
Working at BCTC is great! It's fast paced with 2 breaks and a lunch!
The benefits are Amazing! The 2-week PAID Christmas break blew my mind! Who does that?
Pros
Paid time off
Cons
Pay for parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going
Intramural Sports Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYMay 7, 2018
Was able to get multiple things done working there . I was able to do homework and work at the same time. Made a good little amount of money to get me through college
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic education
INSTRUCTOR/ LECTURER (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYApril 23, 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed working with this employer. However, state budget cuts eliminated my position. Multi-taking, I worked this position and went to law school simultaneously.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place!
Front Desk Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYApril 5, 2018
I enjoyed every bit of it. It was great! A wonderful, easy job. Most customers are kind. My manager was amazing and great. Overall it was a great experience!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of BCTC
Instructor - Computerized Manufacturing (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYMarch 23, 2018
BCTC was a very decent place to work. Salary left a lot to be desired, but working conditions were an offset to that. Co-workers were a pleasure to work with for the most part. Initially management showed concern for student progress and success, as time went on the focus of management focused on how much money could be made
Pros
good working conditions
Cons
less than desirable salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BCTC is awesome
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYMarch 22, 2018
The class are not too large and the instructors take time with the students. I really enjoyed working there. The admin staff is so helpful.

As an adjunct instructor you get pad one lump sum divided so many pay checks. It is really a great way to suppleement.
Pros
admin staff
Cons
non observed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
English Instructor - Adjunct (Current Employee) –  Danville, KYMarch 8, 2018
BCTC is a great place to work. There's room for advancement, and they do not micro manage. I'd love to stay here year-round, but not many classes are offered in the Summer. I wish that would change!
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Over a month before I received first paycheck
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compassionate Understnding Employer
NURSE AID INSTRUCTOR (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYFebruary 1, 2018
I feel like a person and not a number on the payroll! Management support is crucial to my position and is recognized with every encounter. Communication is superb and while there are areas for improvement in scheduling I couldn't be happier
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Place to work
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYJanuary 17, 2018
Professional, goal driven place to work, always a new adventure and willing team mates to help along the journey. Constant self improvement opportunities and cultural expansion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Nurse Educator Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee) –  Lawrenceburg, KYJanuary 12, 2018
I learned to teach ADN students during clinicals, teach class, grade papers, administer test according to different learning styles, evaluate my teaching style and adjust my teaching to the student's learning style.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere very laid back
Financial Aid Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYDecember 26, 2017
Great place to work with a great atmosphere. Great place to build a career. Has great programs to build teamwork and leadership. Leaders are there to motivate you to the next level.
Pros
atmosphere
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Business Affairs Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYNovember 5, 2017
Depending on the department you work in and the time of year is how fast or stressful your day.
Most days are relaxed and just day to day business. During RUSH or the start of a semester it can be fast paced and stressful.

BCTC has a diverse multi-inclusive culture of people working for
them.

I learned patience, time management, accountability for my actions.
and about how all departments working together bring the college together as a whole.

Hardest part of the job is the busy time and problem resolutions.
You may not always have great news to tell a person but, how you tell them is a great learning experience of customer service

The most enjoyable part is knowing you are helping students, customers or whoever walks up to you. You are a representative of that college no matter what department you are in or what you do.
Pros
Healthcare, paid time off, two weeks off at Christmas time.
Cons
Long hours, difficult customers, stressful at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
SECRETORY (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYOctober 6, 2017
loved working there. never felt like i am at work , i was always felt like helping someone getting their work done.great and friendly people at workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Computer Lab assistant
Computer Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYAugust 23, 2017
I loved this job. Very flexible with school schedule. I liked helping others and being able to be educated in the facility where I was working. I felt comfortable in this environment.
Pros
schedule
Cons
part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bctc
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYAugust 16, 2017
Teaching math at BCTC was a very rewarding experience. I truly enjoy when my students are learning well. I would like to continue teaching math and statistics.
Pros
Students
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help mold new nurses as adjunct faculty
Adjunct Faculty (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYJune 27, 2017
BLugrass Community and Technical College is a great place to share your passion for nursing with student nurses. It was great watching them gain confidence and improve on skills during their clinical rotation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Student Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYJune 5, 2017
Great place to work. I was a student worker and I loved it.Supervisors are really helpful and concerned about employees.Really good opportunity for students to learn new skills while working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BCTC is a great place to teach.
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYMarch 1, 2017
BCTC has a very supportive math dept. staff. The students
are also very eager to learn. I appreciate the opportunities
provided to me teaching math courses. It was a great experience.
Pros
Supportive staff
Cons
35 miles from my home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Phlebotomy Instructor (Current Employee) –  Lexington, KYFebruary 6, 2017
If your in the business of helping others succeed, this is a great fit. Staff is very nice and all are ones who expect the best from the student.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport