BNSF Railway Employee Reviews

Found 777 reviews matching the search See all 779 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an easy place to work. Cut through employees.
Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXSeptember 20, 2018
Dislike the way employees are treated. Managers act like they are better than anyone else. Difficult to get promoted. Pay raises are small. Health insurance has a high deductible.
Pros
Pension, Railroad Retirement, 401k
Cons
Healthcare has high deductible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to work
Unloader (Former Employee) –  Elwood, ILSeptember 18, 2018
I really enjoyed this job, i enjoyed the new trades because i never worked at a railway but i was very confident in going in because i was familiar with the work. I wish i could've stayed!
Pros
good hours good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid company
Manager (Current Employee) –  Topeka, KSSeptember 8, 2018
BNSF is a critical link that connects consumers with the global marketplace. For more than 160 years, BNSF has played a vital role in building and sustaining this nation's economy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard on home life.
Conductor/Switchman (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CASeptember 6, 2018
You never know when your going to work. When you do go it’s usually at night and you’ll be gone for 2 days. Then your home for 10 hours and gone again. No scheduled days off.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
No sleep.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Journeyman Carman (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSSeptember 5, 2018
A typical days work consisted of inspecting, testing, and repairing rail cars. The work culture was great. Work was labor intensive. I enjoyed meeting new people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Locomotive Engineer (Current Employee) –  Rathdrum, IDSeptember 5, 2018
Some will say it is not for family people but itbis really not for anyone who wants a life outside of work. You will be bumped around and probably will find yourself working in seattle. On call 24/7 does wear on you. But since you have no life they do pay you for well for the work you do.
Pros
Pay
Cons
No life/ always away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be nice but depends on your manager.
Management Assistant (Former Employee) –  Springdale, ARSeptember 4, 2018
I think a lot of the people who work at BNSF Logistics are outstanding. Thats about all I can say. The location in Springdale is nice. However, the human resources department and management need some serious re-evaluation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was good but extremely over-micro-managed and constantly have to fight for pay that was agreed upon during contract negotiation.
Railroad Brakeman/Conductor/Engineer (Former Employee) –  Madill, OKAugust 31, 2018
Terrible Company to work for. This company at the management level is so fake and putting on a show for the Federal gov. concerning Safety it is unreal. This company undercuts the strength of union protection for its workers as a practice and a goal. Managers constantly set impossible to adhere to rules by the overwhelming abundance and trapping nature of these rules. they then assign Low level Managers to "test" employees and build paper on them for the purpose of firing them if they ever want to so the employee can be easily made to look negligent or bad.
Pros
money
Cons
no life but a stressful life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job and benefits
Conductor/Switchman (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKAugust 29, 2018
No college degree and I made $108,000 last year. Are you kidding me! On average I've made about $85,000 to $95,000 in the years previous. The work is not hard, but you do work in all types of weather conditions. I hired out when I was 35 years old. Wished I would have found it earlier. But then I wouldn't know what real work is either, because the railroad is not "real" work. There is a chance of furlough when times are tough, but they will call you back. I was off 18 months from 2008 until 2010. But man am I glad I came back. I haven't been close to being off since 2010.
Pros
Pay, Benefits, Time Off
Cons
Hot Weather, Cold Weather, Rain, Snow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Rail Traffic Controller (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXAugust 28, 2018
If you are satisfied with doing the exact same thing over and over daily for 30 years with little to no chance or promotion this is the place for you. Your life is ultimately controlled by the scheduling department and God forbid you are legitimately sick or a child gets sick because even though you are allotted sick time you will be taken to investigation for using it. High stress caused by unrealistic expectations and plans implemented by management make this job a heart attack waiting to happen. The medical benefits are amazing and the pay was great. If that's all you are looking for in a job, have fun here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Air is a contract position
Corporate Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXAugust 24, 2018
Over all it's a great job however salary discrimination tends to occur. Employees whom have been working there for years get less pay than new-hires. The lead manager of the department tends to be unfair most of the time with little care of the employees. The director would rather not intervene.

This has nothing to do with the rest of the railway. I have heard being a full BNSF employee is fantastic.
Pros
Benefits with BNSF Railway
Cons
stagnant pay, unfair management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont ever plan on being home
Locomotive Engineer/Conductor (Former Employee) –  Needles, CAAugust 22, 2018
The job pays really well. A rewarding career with lots of benefits.They spend an extraordinary amount of time and effort to train you and then spend the rest of your career trying to find reasons to fire you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays adequate
Conductor/Switchman (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, WAAugust 20, 2018
Pay is adequate.
Insurance is industry standard.
Retirement is above average.
Hours are undetermined.
Schedule is not known in advance.
Must report to work within 90 minutes of phone call.
Not permitted to decline phone call.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience is department dependent
Operations Analyst (Former Employee) –  Springdale, ARAugust 17, 2018
Work environment and quality of life is very dependent upon which department you are in. Some departments are low-stress and stable, while others have high turnover/burnout and are very high stress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Sales Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCAugust 12, 2018
An excellent company that allows you to run your own business. It is very hard work but if you stay committed it can be very lucrative. The management is second to none and they want to see you succeed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is the money really worth it?
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSAugust 9, 2018
BNSF the big railroad that pays well, you can't argue with that but you earn every dollar. If you start out working in the field you are exposed to all kinds of nasty chemicals that show up in your health when you are old. What good is railroad retirement if you end up getting cancer and die when you are 61? Just think for a moment all the toxic chemicals that have dripped onto the tracks for years on end. If you work for the railroad then you are exposed to that and many others health dangers. Yet, perhaps the most unhealthy work environment of all is in the office, sitting in a cube all day. Then there is the stress of working for and with some of the most obnoxious people that any large corporate bureaucracy could ever put together. Most of the decent people you work with are just counting their days until retirement. Don't be conned by a nice salary and good benefits package. You are giving up a lot working for BNSF Railway. Based on the number of retirees who have died before their time or before ever collecting the retirement money you might say that you could pay with part of your life. Saving up and dreaming about that retirement day just a waste cause you will never live to see it.
Pros
good pay
Cons
unhealhty work enviornment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineer
Locomotive Engineer (Current Employee) –  Springfield, MOAugust 9, 2018
Operate trains 24/6 365 with a 2 hour call to show up to work. The management is terrible. There is constant change and lay offs. They act like the people are just equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carman apprentice
Carman apprentice (Current Employee) –  Minot, NDAugust 7, 2018
I'm carman apprentice at bnsf been here about 3 months its good job but u gotta put in the time its a race from to beat the other apprentices to u jurneyman start date. But other then its good u will start out in the shop for a month or so then the yard. Most important don't brake the safety rules especially within u first 120 days. Best thing if u not sure about something ask.
Pros
Pay benifits not that hard
Cons
Can be forced to work a 16 or worse no overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management poor moral
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee) –  Clovis, NMAugust 6, 2018
Hostile work environment. Would not recommend this job for anyone who wants normalcy. Hours are are unpredictable. There is low moral. I spent 16 years there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall ok
Parsec / Hostler Driver/spotter (Former Employee) –  Elwood, ILAugust 5, 2018
Works fast pace just cannot get use to the grave yard shift there is no first shift for beginners also you star at their bottom of the totem pole and work up but could take years
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BNSF Railway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 779 reviews
5268
4226
3152
268
165

See reviews about

2.9Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

2.2Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

1.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight