BNSF Railway Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close work relationships with exceptional benefits
Foreman/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  ExtensiveDecember 12, 2017
Hours vary often, work in high stress situations, travel is excessive although there are many perks. Learned a lot about transportation and mimics military life. Management can vary, many management positions to go through. Hardest part of the job is travel and time away from family. Your relationships with others and benefits are definitely the best part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Bnsf rail road machinist (Former Employee) –  Alliance, NEDecember 11, 2017
Good pay, good and rewarding job. Good supervisors. Interesting and fulfilling work. Good money. Lots of good people to work with. If time off was needed usually just had to ask. My last job as a responder held a lot of responsibility. We're required to make decisions and they were not questioned. We worked alone and covered 200 miles of track, worked on troubled trains. We did what was necessary to keep trains moving. Never harassed by supervisor or questioned about our reports. Sometimes a Email for a good job .not much else to say. I only retired because of age. Never was forced to leave. I m done with this. Was a good job. Was a good job. Their was always educational things to read on the bathroom walls. My favorite was.If your hose is to short or your pump is to weak move a little closer or you will whiz on your feet. Ha
Pros
Ins and vacations
Cons
Easy to get fired
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I get my dope/instructions
Conductor (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CADecember 8, 2017
I get my dope/instructions we inspect our train and head out. I learned how to be ready within 3 hours to go to work. Great management, the culture there was to get the job done right and safely. It was tuff sometimes to get a call in the middle of the night to go to work. It was really fun sitting up there with 20,00 horse power.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing life experience
HOSTLER TRUCK OPERATOR PARSEC (Former Employee) –  Elwood, ILDecember 8, 2017
was a wonderful job had a blast everyday great people and i learned my way around very quick with all the help i received from others there i would recommend this job to anyone who asked about it
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Politcal Environment
Senior Trainmaster/Road Foreman of Engines (Current Employee) –  WyomingDecember 1, 2017
It is hard to advance if you are not one of their good ol' boys or girls. Hard Work is only part of the equation.

There is a lot of lip service that goes on, to where they make you believe your hard work matters, but they overlook you for jobs to promote their friends or buddies, and the hard worker gets stuck.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
lack of advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best company in the world
Conductor/Switchman (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CADecember 1, 2017
I had a great time working for this company. Great pay. Great benefits. My work schedule was not always pleasing but the pay sure made up for that. Serious job but not to stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never home
Locomotive Engineer (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, KSDecember 1, 2017
Be prepared to miss everything. You are on call 24 hours a day seven days a week. You will work weekends, weekdays, holidays, birthdays, hard to get a day off. Always have the threat of being fired hanging over your head.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Railroad
Conductor/Engineer (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNNovember 30, 2017
The job is more geared towards a single person, very rule oriented, if injured on the job, won’t work with a person to go back to work, but will do anything to get rid of, won’t allow rentry into the work force, yes you can apply but where it stops.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Familytime
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BNSF Railway
RWE Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Harper, KSNovember 30, 2017
Working for BNSF was a great experience, the hardest thing was the extreme travel and long hours. Pay was exceptional, but I would not recommend it to anyone who wanted to stay close to home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Sales Management Trainee (Current Employee) –  Springdale, ARNovember 29, 2017
great place where they invest in you to become a better version of yourself. through my time here i have learned so much about sales operations and how much culture in the office works.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience working here
JAVA DEVELOPER (Current Employee) –  fortworth, texasNovember 29, 2017
It is a fun loving and very good place to work. Good Team and many events are conducted here every week for employees. Many challenging puzzle games and sports.
Pros
Many Events
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hello
Locomotive Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Amarillo, TXNovember 21, 2017
friendly place to work full of good people that care about being there. they seem to be nice and the pay is awesome, plus you have the unions there so they totally help you out. bnsf is a great company to work for
Pros
hello
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Escellent Company to work for
TRAIN DISPATCHER (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CANovember 21, 2017
8 Hour Days. Control Center well established with good Management and a good team to work with. You need to pass exams and be certified to work in any position. Everyone works as a team, with solid guidelines and procedures.
Pros
Benefits, Management, Safety
Cons
On call 24/7
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Railroad
Carpenter/ Bridge Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Klamath Falls, ORNovember 20, 2017
Railroad work environment, with a lot of job advancement and lots of opportunities to find the job best suited for you. Most jobs have a lot of travel included with them but if you dont mind that a great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great rail comapny to work for.
Diesel Mechanic/Machinist (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSNovember 19, 2017
Excellent place to work for veterans and great pay. Would work there again in a heart beat!! One of the best company's one could work for and appreciated the quality of work that was produced at the Argentine Maintenance Yard in Kansas City.
Pros
Pay, benefits & stock options
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company
Terminal Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 17, 2017
long days, good pay. Work life balance is swayed in the wrong direction right now.

It has been a great company to work for as it pays well for what you do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits outweigh cons
Diesel Locomotive Electrician (Former Employee) –  Argentine, KSNovember 16, 2017
Over all a good place to work. Lower management is young and fairly inexperienced, which can lead to some frustration. Communication within management, and between management and crafts is lacking.
Pros
Great benefits.
Cons
Lower seniority can expect to work 2nd or 3rd shift, weekends and holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Conductor (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXNovember 12, 2017
-Great Company.
- Always a opportunity to learn and grow in the field.
-Family environment.
-Great benefits.
-Typical day includes switching cars in the yard
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company culture
Staffing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXNovember 11, 2017
The compensation and benefits at BNSF are great; however, the culture is not. Management treats employees like children - while they expect high performance, they micromanage the employees in odd ways (can't be even a minute late in the morning or leave a minute early in the afternoon).
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend employment
Locomotive Engineer (Current Employee) –  Central CaliforniaNovember 10, 2017
No security after 20 years. Always changing. Do more with less. On call 24/7 with no scheduled days off. Discipline and intimidation heavy from management. False concerns for safety from management. Reduced benefits for employees while increasing bonuses for upper management. Constant "lip service" from all corporate departments and management levels.
Pros
Potential for pay
Cons
No time off. No family time. Constantly threatened and given discipline.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BNSF Railway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 722 reviews
5252
4216
3141
261
152

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.2

2.2Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

1.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight