Boathouse Employee Reviews

3.5
Overall rating
Based on 231 reviews
Ratings breakdown
572
451
363
220
125
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 67 reviews matching the search See all 231 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Hostess/Server (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 18, 2018
The managers were no help at all they overlooked every single problem They didn't really care about the customer They Didn't care about coworkers either Coworkers would fight all the time and managers would do nothing about it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Server (Former Employee) –  TennesseeMay 10, 2018
I really enjoyed the work there. Fast paced. but a lot of back stabbing that wasn't right. I would like to go back but they have no positions open at this time.
Pros
free lunch menue
Cons
no health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace with an Amazing View
Valet (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCApril 27, 2018
Depending on the night, I would arrive at 4 and leave between 10 and 11 for a valet shift. The pay was great, but was primarily tip based. The other employees and management were very friendly, low stress, and truly cared about one another. The hardest part of the job was the heat during the more temperate seasons; however, that was not difficult to get over as one could wear shorts and a golf shirt for the uniform.
Pros
discounted food/drinks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favorite place to work
SERVER (Former Employee) –  Wildwood, NJApril 18, 2018
Working at the boathouse was an experience that I will never forget! Leaving for the winter was very hard because you get so comfortable there with people that are so amazing and helpful.
Pros
By the beach
Cons
can only work in the summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible company
Facilities Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMarch 28, 2018
horrible company to work for.they do not respect there employees or value them.















hgsjdfgksgdfgsdfgshgdfjhgsadjhgsjkdghfjhsgdkfjhgsdjfhgksjdhgfkjhsdgfkjhsgadkjhfgsdhgfjkhsagdf
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun To work At
Sales (Current Employee) –  Cape Coral, FLFebruary 19, 2018
We all have our ups and downs but the one thing is when the chips are down everybody pulls together as a team to make things happen. The do have your back when you need it most. They do not let people go they really work hard for staff retention.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a Boat Captain
Boat Captain (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJanuary 30, 2018
Got paid to crash old cars in to a lake. Cool job but the company is run by. . . The culture is stifling, employee turn over is high, and they don't care about you. Scheduled to work? Well even knowing in advance that they won't need you, they still wait for you to show up and then cut you.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
the management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You become family
Busser (Former Employee) –  Hawley, PAJanuary 27, 2018
I spent my high school career working here as my first job. I learned a lot and I became close with many of my co workers. Everyone cares about each other and we all did our best to help one another and get our jobs done. There was definitely favoritism by managers and some drama with co workers often but it was always something I avoided. I’d definitley work here again.
Pros
Like family
Cons
Low pay, long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJanuary 11, 2018
Working at Boathouse, the people I worked with were great. The management not so much, if I would answer a phone call with a guest wanting to talk the manager would just blow it off, they would always have "meetings" upstairs and never help the host even if they are slammed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management but quick money
Waitress (Current Employee) –  VirginiaJanuary 5, 2018
Management has a lack of common sense and care for the company. Fast paced environment and growing to many more locations. No paid time off or sick leave.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Santa Barbara, CADecember 19, 2017
Great place to work! The management and fellow staff are very kind and helpful. Has a family feel after you get to know everyone. Discounts are great as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Dosney springsDecember 4, 2017
I have over 14 years of cooking experience, I've worked for numerous restaraunts, but Boathouse is a joke, from fellow employees to bob the head chef.they should so everyone in fl a favor and close.!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and out-going
Cook (Former Employee) –  Cheboygan, MINovember 30, 2017
Great place to work and to eat. The service there with all staff is tremendous and I would welcome anyone to go there whether it to be for employment or to dine in. It was very fast paced and busy all the time.
Pros
special bonuses
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome summer job
Waitress (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MONovember 27, 2017
Great service excellent tips long hours and great atmosphere. Postive work environment fast pace. Great job to relocate locations. If your looking for a summer job apply
Pros
Money
Cons
Mangers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place, they should close
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLNovember 25, 2017
Dont work here, its a joke chef bob has no idea on how to cook food, the only thing he knows is how to clean bird droppings off tables with his finger nails
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boathouse
SERVER ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLNovember 25, 2017
The Boathouse restaurant gave me the opportunity to know how to please customers in a sense of waiting on them. The atmosphere is fast-paced which allowed me to be on my quick with serving.
Pros
opportunity to work overtime
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
Parts Specialist (Former Employee) –  Cape Coral, FLNovember 8, 2017
extremely fast paced, not as professional as I was used to, not a lot of team work cooperation, more of an every man for himself, no room for advancement.
Pros
Good Money
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick pace and excellent co workers
Utility Worker (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 25, 2017
The Boat house is a very good job to work at
For a part time job
The management are good people
They will work around your schedule if you have an emergency. I get along with all of the employees
Pros
Good food
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, beautiful lake and camping area.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Bridgeport, CAOctober 13, 2017
Seasonal 7 month job, great place to spend your summers, beautiful camping and fishing resort. Great job for part time work. I worked at the fishing tackle and bait shop selling supplies, did the ordering of merchandise, maintaining a clean and orderly shop and advised customers on the best tackle and bait to use. A fun place to work. Great employer.
Pros
discounted meals, free camping site for your RV, awesome guests
Cons
700 miles from our home, gone for 7 months.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
beautiful place, nice view
Bus Boy (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 19, 2017
This restaurant is aside to Central Park's lake. A beautiful view, the food is served quickly. A good atmosphere to work at. In the summer, there are a lot of customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report