Bob Evans Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a fun tight knit place where everyone gets along
Host, Cashier, Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Amherst, OHJuly 15, 2018
The management is the number one reason I wish I didn’t have to find another job. They are very understanding and they help out when needed. The servers all work together and help each other out. The host sometimes help with clearing tables or wiping them down. Every day there is two people on carry out and they work together to get the job done right with minimal complaints from customers.
Pros
Discounts, free drinks, benefits if needed
Cons
Short staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Maintenance Lead (Current Employee) –  Lima, OHJuly 15, 2018
management is poor. they expect you to be married to your job and not your family. no training but 100 percent accountability. operators are not responsible to learn their job, they call maintenance to do it for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Harmarville, PAJuly 13, 2018
I tended to try to do my job, without any hickup more than anything. Management was decent and would work with you on scheduling. co-workers would vary from helpful to hindrance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Server and Hostess (Current Employee) –  Brooksville, FLJuly 13, 2018
This job is ok for someone who is working while in high school.
Atmosphere sucks.
Managers are not professional.
Hours are not reliable
Weekly pay! Tips will be taxed.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees are great
Mount Vernon - Shift Leader/Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Mount Vernon, OHJuly 13, 2018
I liked my coworkers they all were great. My problem became with some of the managers. I needed a weekend off and told them multiple times that I needed it off. They said they would do it and didn't and then blamed it all on me so I quit.
Pros
Discount food
Cons
Don't always get breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
breakfast restaurant
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  KansasJuly 13, 2018
I worked there many years ago so not sure how it is now. fast paced work environment since breakfast is the staple for this restaurant. nice people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Restaurant Server (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, OHJuly 12, 2018
Stressful workplace unless there are professional and consistent managers. Overall it wasn't bad job to have if you knew how to multitask. Good job for a first job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Manager
General Manager (Former Employee) –  New Albany, OH 43054July 10, 2018
Not a great training program which creates under trained and qualified management material. No support on the hiring process for managers or staff outside the company. Worked 60 extra hours and was promised to get my time back through PTO as my District Manager was on vacation, this never happened even though it was documented in an email.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bob Evans is a decent job but not meant for everyone
Server, Hostess, cashier and Carryout (Former Employee) –  Delaware, OHJuly 9, 2018
I worked at Bob Evans for years and have alot of fun memories from there. It tends to be a fast-paced high-stress environment and it's not for everyone.
Pros
Discounted food on or off the clock, work with interesting people, tips!
Cons
If you are 18+ you tend to not recieve breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 8, 2018
This is a great company to work for. This company will pull the best out of you , while you learn the system that they use. I would recommend this company to multiple person.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced great staff
SERVER (Current Employee) –  Dundee, MIJuly 8, 2018
Great staff and managers
clean work environment
I worked as a host and server both were easy to learn and staff was great at training
Managers were involved in the work day and helped in all aspects of the restaurant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and hard working getting all dinnerware completed before closing.
Dish-tank Operator (Former Employee) –  Auburn, ILJuly 8, 2018
Used the Dishtank to wash the dishes and utensils. Learned to be more productive and short cuts. My manager was very friendly and easy to get along with. Everyone was friends and we all helped each other. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting freebies and free food, occasionally.
Pros
Occasionally free food and incentives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not great
Server (Former Employee) –  Simpsonville, KYJuly 6, 2018
The one I worked at has since closed down due to lack of business, which did not come as a surprise to me. Most members of management were awful, the employees didn't really care enough to do a good job, and every shift I worked something went wrong. Either a customer walked out, an order was wrong, a customer was angry or even forgotten about.. it was always a mess.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick-paced, but efficient environment
Hostess (Former Employee) –  PaintsJuly 5, 2018
All employees must work together to meet the needs of the customers. Sometimes it could get stressful on busy days, but the employees pull through to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job
Server, hostess (Former Employee) –  Mentor, OHJuly 5, 2018
this was my first job - pretty cool place to work - people are nice - dont think i would want to work there my entire life, but definetely a good place to start.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Use this as a stepping stone to a future in Food Service..not your career
Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 4, 2018
After Golden Gate Capital bought out the restaurants,culture changed at the upper management level. The style of management had to beacome toxic to succeed. Many teams can win if you coach correctly. Unfortunately with the store closures and toxic environment it wont be long before they are all gone
Pros
Regular guest
Cons
Poor work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced business
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  OhioJuly 3, 2018
You can easily move up thru the ranks and make it a career. Corporate has changed hands so many times thou consistency is not what it used to be and so many benefits have been taken away.
Pros
Free Food
Cons
Demanding schedules and mandatory overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not busy enough to earn a living as a night shift waitress.
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Zanesville, OHJuly 2, 2018
i sometimes left with $1 in my pocket. we don’t get to keep our credit tips, they tax them and then it goes on your paycheck at the end of the week. i do not get paid fairly for the work that i do.
Pros
50% off food while working
Cons
rude managers, poor pay, not enough money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first employment opportunity.
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Lodi, OHJuly 2, 2018
Awesome learning experience as a first job still in high school. Lots of tasks so you always had something to do. Great if your a people person also
.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company just time for a change
General manager (Current Employee) –  Gaylord, MIJuly 1, 2018
I have worked all the way up from employee to General Manager.
Good company, good training for management. Lots of room for growth. Good benefits for health care, vacation.
Pros
Advancement
Cons
Working weekends and holiday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bob Evans Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,464 reviews
5635
4723
3672
2241
1193

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.1

1.9Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

1.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight