Bob Evans Restaurants Employee Reviews

Found 2,976 reviews matching the search See all 2,978 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive friendly enviroment, one bad egg
dishtank opperator (Former Employee) –  Southport, INDecember 11, 2018
great place to work and advance yourself, good communication skills from management.
one exception one manager seemed bent on making people quit, which did cause multiple walkout, when said manager refused to talk with employes
Pros
50 percent off all food when on clock 20 percent when off clock
Cons
little to no breaks, sometime hard to communicate problems to managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very relaxed until it is time to work
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Celina, OHDecember 9, 2018
I would most definitely recommend Bob Evans to a friend for a place to work. I have made a lot of friends while I was at Bob Evans. It was a very fun and friendly work place for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative Work Environment.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Huntington, WVDecember 8, 2018
No.
I won't speak about my term at Bob Evans, I'm offended about the fact that this site is FORCING me to talk about it. I'm Trying to move on. Thankx.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad, not good
Server (Former Employee) –  Groveport, OHDecember 4, 2018
Bob Evans at least in my experience has had ups and downs across my time working there. The clientele was probably the worst part, but the management was good and fair
Pros
Food discounts
Cons
Low organsization
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Palm Bay, FL / Melbourne, FLDecember 4, 2018
A typical day can be very busy. Be prepared to be on your feet for 7-8 hours continuously. There are always tasks to be completed. Cooking, prepping, cleaning, etc. You will learn a lot as the menu changes throughout the season. Don't let that overwhelm you as items drop off as new ones are added. Workplace can be stressful during peak times but usually, if staffed, people will help when needed. It feels great getting through a rush with very little to no mistakes
Pros
Discounted meals, work with your schedule, health benefits
Cons
Rare breaks, work during thanksgiving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bob Evans would be a place I would return to work for
Dishwasher/Busser (Former Employee) –  Blue Springs, MODecember 3, 2018
I would start at 8 am and catch upon the dishes that were used from that morning. I would maintain the back by taking out trash and braking down boxes. I would work until 3 pm most day and would usually come back at 5 pm to close as a dishwasher/busser.
Pros
The work environment was wonderful and management was the best I had ever had
Cons
Split Shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed workplace but poor management
Server (Current Employee) –  Lima, OHDecember 3, 2018
You can get away with almost anything, but so can everyone else . There is no discipline for rude coworkers or people not doing their jobs. Managers sit in the office the whole time .
Pros
Relaxed
Cons
Bad management, no breaks, no time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of my job is meeting the guest
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIDecember 3, 2018
A typical day at work is I assigned section and job duties. I had to learned the new computer system no my own. Management has to do most of the work. The workplace culture is that it is very hard to get employees to do their jobs.
Pros
Free meals, benefits are okay
Cons
Working 10 to 12 hour days and didn't have time to eat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick-paced workplace
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Bel Air, MDDecember 3, 2018
It is a tough company to work for, but it provides good customer skills and experience for future jobs. The coworkers are friendly but it is difficult to find any time to enjoy the work. There are pros and cons to working at a Bob Evans, but it is a good company to work for if you want to discover how it is in the real world.
Pros
discounts on meals, friendly coworkers
Cons
strict management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid company
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Uniontown, PANovember 30, 2018
Great place for someone to get into the management position. Great training just not paid well considering the amount of work you put in. Great company to work for to start.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast cooking pace.
Cook (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHNovember 30, 2018
This job is a really fast productive place which I loved it always kept me busy and moving and the people here was Nice and made it easy to work. They also helped around my schedule a lot.
Pros
Great place to cook.
Cons
New management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work got along with everyone well
Waiter/Host (Former Employee) –  Ashtabula, OHNovember 30, 2018
I loved majority of my co workers and managers but it was a very slow restaurant and I barely made any money. I left the job because I went away to college but I would work there again when I come home for the summer
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Not enough money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow-paced and decent management
Crew Member • Host/Waitress (Former Employee) –  Fredericksburg, VANovember 29, 2018
A typical day at work consisted of daily duties; cleaning, serving, hosting, and seating customers. There was no specific trend with how busy we would be only in the summer times. The unfortunate truth is that it was usually slow due to location, that then affected tips drastically.
Pros
Discounts on food, usually great staff
Cons
Not so great restraunt culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow busines
Grill Cook (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, TNNovember 29, 2018
I was promised 30-40 hour's and after 3 month's still barely had 20.Insurance was very good though.i would still be there if not for the lack of hour's. I really enjoyed the cook's and prep people.
Pros
Free food
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service, food handling, etc
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Catonsville, MDNovember 28, 2018
a typical day at Bob vans consist of serving food. I learned how to be quick on my feet. management was good, no problems, very professional. workplace culture was calm. hardest part of the job was juggling multiple tables. most enjoyed part of the job was talking to older, elderly people.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
hourly rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work place
Dish Washer (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, OHNovember 28, 2018
Manager was extremely rude. And did not care when the bussers were rude to us dish washers. We did NOT get treated evenly with other workers. Managers were extremely rude.
Pros
Good salads
Cons
Managers and employees are UNACCEPTABLE
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, busy restaurant
Grill Cook/Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Dundee, MINovember 28, 2018
As long as you do your job and keep it clean and professional, Bob Evans will be a good starter job or an opportunity to go into management with the company.
Pros
employee discounts and flexible hours
Cons
high stress, faced paced restaurant enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
COOK/BACK OF HOUSE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Benton Harbor, MINovember 27, 2018
Good place to start. It gets your foot in the door to find out what you wanna do with life. If the life in a restaurant is what you want then this is a good place to start.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Server (Current Employee) –  Beachwood, OHNovember 25, 2018
The managers don't respect you or your opinion at all. They go by what they feel should be done in regards to your schedule and they don't abide by work availability. They are horrible at doing their jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work very unorganized
Head Cook/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Centerville, OHNovember 25, 2018
Gm is very very lazy, yes it was good pay but people were disrespectful will never go back there, even if you knew most things gm would talk down on me
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bob Evans Restaurants. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,980 reviews
5763
4858
3800
2300
1259

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

2.1InHerSight Score

1.9Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

1.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight