Bodybuilding.com Employee Reviews

Showing all 75 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Very flexible with employees and seem to have a culture idea that they adhere to.
Customer Service Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDJuly 28, 2018
Day to day operations are very similar. Not a lot of variety.
Did not learn much from this experience as I was already in the industry.
Small Business environment with passionate people.
Loved the flexibility and genuine care for employees.
Pros
Supplements, flexibility, good leadership
Cons
Company is strugglling financially
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDJuly 26, 2018
Bodybuilding.com has been a great place to work while going to school for my Bachelors degree. Without the help of flexible hours, I would not have been able to obtain my degree. Great company!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was alright.
Outbound Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Camp Hill, PAJuly 4, 2018
Typical warehouse job. It was ok. I was really steady and busy . There was sometimes downtime when there were no orders to be printed. Just keep doing your job you would have been fine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can't complain
Campus Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLMay 27, 2018
This job was pretty simple, do activities and get compensated for it. The only thing that gets annoying sometimes is the repetitive process each month, but the perks are worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stocker
Stocker/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Midway, FLMay 17, 2018
i think that it was a great experience,,they traded u well. they treated the employees with care,,,good breaks,,good people,,,and u can learn alot from them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Decent Place to Work
Client Side Engineer (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORMay 14, 2018
Some turmoil at the top during my time there (2014-17) caused a bit of turmoil throughout, but overall, this was a good place to work. Project managers and Product owners are generally good to work with. They give decent autonomy and care about a good work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldnt work there
Order Processing Clerk (Former Employee) –  New Berlin, WIMay 10, 2018
Floppy management not enough co workers time management very poor not enuff help wanting us to be more productive but no perks with the hard work no real leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management sucks
Outbound Associate (Former Employee) –  Mechanicsburg, PAApril 23, 2018
I worked there for over a year and I was harassed there the whole time. I even told management about it and instead of dealing with it, they fired me.
Pros
Work events. Catered food
Cons
Management. Drama.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
IT Specialist II / Desktop Support (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDApril 19, 2018
Good company to work for but have management issue's and advancement is slow or has high requirements But the people are great and the onsite gym was awsome.
Pros
fun people
Cons
managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ehhh its ok if your into that sort of thing
Manager (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDMarch 29, 2018
Upper management has shifted and created a culture that has led employees to feel less valued and more like a number and easily replaceable. Its their way or they will walk you to the door (verbally relayed all the time). The leadership style is to direct and point fingers to get things done rather than manage and develop its employees on how they prefer the job to be done. Best part of the job is helping customers live healthier lives.
Pros
work from home, good benefits
Cons
lack of communication, no development, my way or highway attitude
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fitness and Opportunity
Associate Business Intelligence Analyst (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDMarch 27, 2018
This company has incredible potential and they treat employees really well. Also, they've made a lot of improvements and good leadership changes. If you have a lot of experience, need a change of pace and value fitness, it's a great place to work.
Pros
Excellent Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and relaxed environment - great work/life balance
Engineering Budget & Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDMarch 15, 2018
Fun place to work and relaxed environment - great work/life balance.
Excellent equipment and up-to-date software and very smart people to be around...
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a nice place
Developer (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDFebruary 26, 2018
There's been a ton of layoffs and employees who are let go without explanation. As a developer, you never feel secure, with reassurances coming a day or two before more people are let go. Too many lies and secrecy. When asked, we were told that they don't discuss it.

You can't have your own opinion or you'll get fired as I've seen in some cases with a few managers. Some seem to be on a quest to obtain more power as people have jumped the sinking ship, creating a power vacuum. Extremely sad to see as there are some great people working there.
Pros
Some great people can be found here
Cons
Like working at some East Bloc country
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Environment!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDFebruary 20, 2018
Bodybuilding.com is an amazing place to work, they truly care about making an impact in someones life and there company values speak true. They allow you to bend the policies to make sure a customer has a WOW experience. The call center wasn't like a typical call center, back to back calls aren't a normal thing and they have teams to answer emails and live chats so you don't have to take calls every day of the week.
Pros
Unlimited Paid Time Off, if scheduled in advance you can get it off, Work and life balance was amazing, Personal 24-7 gym access on site along with basketball court and a volleyball court, Provided a positive work environment and was all about self improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Midway Heights, FLFebruary 19, 2018
it was great the best job I ever had would have loved to still be there but its to far of a drive ill miss them . maybe one day ill start back .. im not sure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Campus Ambassador (Current Employee) –  University Park, PAFebruary 16, 2018
I do not take too much time out of my day to work autonomously promoting Bodybuilding.com. I promote on social media what I do in the fitness industry and promote the brand on campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ON the decline
IT (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDJanuary 26, 2018
Over time the company has become a less desirable place to work. Benefits are good but leadership has been turbulent (multiple CEO in a few years) and each has taken the company in different directions. The result is confusing initiatives, fluctuating priorities and a sense that the company is rudderless. Meanwhile, competitors have seized on the company's lack of direction to place the one-time market leader in jeopardy. Management does not communicate effectively with employees. There's a tier of entrenched employees that receive preferential treatment and recognition from management, while those outside the inner circle are mostly ignored. Employees with vital experience and knowledge are walking out the door and should be taken as a sign that the company is not healthy.
Pros
Benefits, on-site gym, flexible work hours
Cons
Management, Hr, poor communication, understaffed, lacking direction
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall fun place to work at
Forklift Operator/Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Shiremanstown, PAJanuary 11, 2018
Bodybuilding.com was a fun place to work for. Expect to work a lot of overtime during the weeks of Black Friday and Cyber Monday. They have a sneaker program where they give all of their employees a $60 gift card for a sneaker of your choice from Footlocker. They reimburse you up to $35 for your gym membership as long as you show them proof that you had gone at least 10 times of the months. Everyone there is like a family, you will have your bad and good days with everyone, but overall as long as you're doing your job no one should have an issue with you. Not much room for advancement which is why i left but a great laid back job to build warehouse experiences. The more you know how to do the more you get paid.
Pros
Paid vactions, Shoe Program, Set shifts, Reimbursed Gym memberships, great envirnment and people.
Cons
Is'nt the greatest with communication, some favoritism, limited to none position advancement, some supervisors/management do not practice what they preach
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviornment with great company goals.
Business Intelligence Intern (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDJanuary 10, 2018
I worked here as an intern for the summer of 2015 and I could not be more happy with the opportunity I was given. I would recommend everything about this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In its death throes...advised to stay away
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDNovember 16, 2017
Sales are lacking and they are desperately trying to stop the bleeding. Leadership lays it on thick that things are OK and that they have a plan that will right the ship. People keep leaving, though; either involuntarily or they've seen the writing on the wall. People who are still there are working 70+ hours a week. Management keeps stripping benefits away. In short, not a good time to join the company.
Pros
It WAS a great place to work.
Cons
It no longer is.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bodybuilding.com. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 75 reviews
521
417
318
29
110

See reviews about

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

3.4InHerSight Score

3.2Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

3.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight