Bon Appetit Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate dining at its best
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  Folsom, CAJuly 14, 2018
Bon Appetit is a chef centric food service company providing work life balance versus hotel and restaurant life. The power is given to management at a site level so chefs can truly run their own kitchen versus feeling like they work in a corporate environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Exciting
FOOD SERVICE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Salem, OregonJuly 6, 2018
Excellent management team who helped me improve my ability in the Foodservice Industry. Taught me management skills, payroll and interactions with clients.
Pros
Great Company to work for
Cons
Limited by my Visa requirments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culinary focused organization
Sous Chef (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 30, 2018
Great place to work if food is your focus. Campus Executive Chef was a collaborative leader and allowed development of sous chefs to happen organically without fear. Complex environment.
Pros
Scratch kitchen environment
Cons
Disengaged employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Mountain View, CAJune 29, 2018
it was very calm and got to know new people every day everyone is very helpfull if you dont know something they can help you and plus you get all your food free
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
im productive working in group
Prep Cook/Cook (Former Employee) –  Mountain View, CAJune 28, 2018
It would always have a good day.I learned how to work and share with people.my boss was a good person and we would work a lot and share with other people at work.It would always give the food at a paste and never be late for any order and we would work together as a family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work place can be a little stressful and some days relaxed.
Grill Cook (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 22, 2018
The work place is what you make of it. Sometimes at the job I have good days and some days I don't. It all depends on who your coworkers are. The company is not the problem.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a paycheck
Utility Worker/Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 22, 2018
I really never liked it here, but the pay was decent enough to stick around. There was one boss that seemed to appreciate our work and treat us like humans, but most everyone else made us feel like an afterthought that had to be put up with.
Pros
Free meal from servery, up to $12
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work environment with consistent hours.
Barista (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJune 20, 2018
Beautiful facilities, consistent, flexible hours, and diverse clientele made this a fun place to work. Benefits, weekends off, and free lunch were added perks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not my favorite place
student café worker (Former Employee) –  La Verne, CA 91750June 19, 2018
Working in an environment like this I would not recommend to anyone who wants to gain life long experiences to improve their work life. It was a stressful, demanding job and the manager was no help at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exhausting
DISH WASHER (Former Employee) –  Appleton, WIJune 11, 2018
Not fun, very depressing place to work, while also balancing intense workloads of school work. I'd go back to my dorm even more exhausted and usually soaked. Most enjoyable part was going home.
Pros
Bonus $1.50 per on weekends
Cons
Took away free meals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Caterer/Server (Former Employee) –  La Mirada, CAJune 9, 2018
I learned alot and really appreciated the responsibility this company takes when it comes to serving others. The bosses were great and it made working easy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teamwork
Food Preparer (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 7, 2018
Been here for 6 years great teamwork . Lots of people on board. Great area of Boston by Fenway. Flexible hours and flexible opportunities. Could use bette management since Peter left.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon Appetit
Host / Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Albion, MIJune 4, 2018
A typical day at Bon Appetit can be stressful or relaxed depend's on the type of person you are and your work ethic. But I enjoyed working at Bon Appetit because of the mangers they really made working there fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Supervisor, ciok (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYJune 4, 2018
Alot of lazy people who are more concerned with breaks than doing their jobs. They hire quite a few people just out of prison. Too many managers with conflicting directions.
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great fit
Server (Former Employee) –  Salem, ORJune 1, 2018
Worked too hard for too little pay. Was never granted full time work, as eagerly as I expressed it. No benefits. Split shifts were a constant. No opportunities for career advancement.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAMay 29, 2018
Working for Bon Appetit as a student worker at my university was a great learning experience. I learned a lot about providing customer service. I learned how to run a cash register, how to make drinks as a barista, and how to clean and restock product. Bon Appetit provided me with an easily accessible job for me while I attended school and they worked with my school schedule to make sure I got enough hours. Training for this job was a bit messy and seemed like a game of telephone when things were changed.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Poor communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management on all levels suck. Lack of respect & compassion for workers
Cook (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MO 63130May 27, 2018
Low pay.Checks are short almost every pay period.Hour here, two hours there and sometimes a whole day or two short.Upper management are Crooks & Liars
Pros
Off for summer
Cons
Low Compensation, Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unclear Management Goals
Retail Manager (Former Employee) –  La Mirada, CAMay 26, 2018
Bon Appetit has unclear management responsibilities and goals. The workplace environment can become overwhelmed with policies and regulations that impede the efficiency of the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Order Processing Rep (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLMay 19, 2018
Great Place to Work, grow, continue education and become a part of a growing student community, research community and overall campus community. Emory focuses on the health of there fac and staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Training
Bookkeeper/Cashier (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CA 94117May 19, 2018
Lack of training , gives you a very slim chance at succeeding with the company . Management very hard to communicate with . always room for growth within the company, however with the lack of training , chances very low.
Pros
Salary, competitve pay
Cons
lack of training, Seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bon Appetit. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 545 reviews
5185
4175
3118
239
128

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.4

2.0Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight