Boot Barn Employee Reviews

Found 377 reviews matching the search See all 380 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best places to work for your first sales job.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CASeptember 19, 2018
The management, culture, coworkers, and overall atmosphere is awesome and couldn't recommend this job enough for a first time sales job or even first job for that matter.
Pros
Amazing workplace overall
Cons
sometimes slow days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Advancement/Low Compensation
3rd Keyholder (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNSeptember 19, 2018
For the area we are in, the sales associates and managers are paid far less than average, and advancement is extremely rare. It creates a toxic environment where no one is ever really satisfied with their work and causes employee unrest.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for college students
Sales Associate/Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Lake Charles, LASeptember 15, 2018
Very friendly place to work at. Great for part-time work
Great at teaching how to communicate with a customer
They are very flexible with what hours you need. Must be able to work weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not full time
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Canoga Park, CASeptember 4, 2018
they cut hours depending on sales and give you only 3 hours a week if sales are low within the store. and in the valley there arent many cowboys but you do get 40% off
Pros
40% discount
Cons
pay and hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company on a corporate level
Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Rock Springs, WYSeptember 3, 2018
Very social and full of gossip. Management has favorites and promotions are given based on that. Very young inexperienced staff.Could be an amazing place to work if there was no favoritism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what i learned
Sales (Former Employee) –  Pueblo, COSeptember 2, 2018
the things tha i had learned being with bootbarn was how to work with custoers on finding what they like and need for there western wear. the staff was so great on helping with each.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Livingston, TXAugust 30, 2018
the work was fun and rewarding just too much tension due to limited hours the company made available for entire staff caused lots of issues on store level with seasoned employees
Pros
30 minute lunch
Cons
no overtime, no sick pay, no vacations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Part time Keyholder (Current Employee) –  Monroe, NCAugust 27, 2018
I enjoy working for Boot Barn great discount and great product. It can be a Fun environment especially if you get to help at the Rodeos. There are Great management people who are supportive of their teams.
Pros
Bonuses if make plan
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inventory Control Specialist
ICS-Inventory Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Rapid City, SDAugust 22, 2018
As a Inventory Control Specialist, I received incoming freight, price merchandise, shipped outgoing freight, did daily inventory totals, help customers on the sales floor when needed.
Pros
Always busy
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Growing Company!!
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Rocklin, CAAugust 16, 2018
This company is growing fast. I recommend getting in on the early stages to establish future growth benefits. Great team and management. Fun place to work.
Pros
growing company, benefits and vacation pay
Cons
pay/cost of living
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pros and cons
American Worker (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 7, 2018
to be truthful i do not write reviews, it's not up to me to decide. take your chances and use your gut feeling that is the best, i hope this helped someone
Pros
pros
Cons
cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAAugust 7, 2018
I loved my job at Boot Barn. I constantly stayed busy. They are very organized. They care about their employees. The clientele was very pleasant to work with
Pros
Very friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse Operator
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSAugust 2, 2018
40% off at boot barn.
Layed back.
One of my favorite jobs.
Will train on forklift.
Good work atmosphere.
Not very heavy material.
Must be able to stand all day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple job with a few perks
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Northglenn, COJuly 31, 2018
It was a pretty fun atmosphere. I did have to leave for a month for family emergency and they held my job. Great discounts! But low pay.
You have to be comfortable with the country/cowboy/cowgirl look because you have to dress it. Be prepared to wear boots daily!
Pros
Awsome discounts! Fun work!
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unless your in the click with management you will always be walked on.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Modesto, CAJuly 29, 2018
Forget trying to call Corporate about harassment and policies being broken. Managers only get a slap on the wrist. Then managment turns around and writes people up for whatever they can.
Pros
Sick days, vacation time
Cons
Hours cut, short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company to work for!
Retail Inventory Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 26, 2018
Employees work well together as a team. Opportunities to advance in a career with Boot Barn are limitless. I enjoyed working there, my manager was very helpful and understanding in scheduling me around my school schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Inventory Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Burlington, NCJuly 21, 2018
One of the managers was very unprofessional and racist which led to me putting in a 30 day notice. Good discounts and some friendly employees . I would not recommend this location to anyone due to the unfair treatment by the manager.
Pros
Great Discounts
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a good job for someone who needs work experience.
Third Key Manager (Former Employee) –  San Martin, CAJuly 17, 2018
This position was a good learning experience for me after being in school and out of the work force for six years. It was a good foot in the door job. I was able to promote to management within four months after being hired part-time as seasonal help.
Pros
The employee discount is generous.
Cons
The pay is not sufficient when one considers the cost of living in the Monterey Bay area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good fun place to work..busy
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJuly 13, 2018
Its great during the holiday season and slow durring the rest of the year. Can learn mulitiple jobs. Paid training. Work indoors. Friendly staff. Its a job
Pros
Holiday pay and overtime
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity in niche market
District Sales Manager, Southeast US (Former Employee) –  SouthEast USJuly 6, 2018
Good opportunity in niche market.

Quality merchandise; however, not regionally adaptive.

Good communications to / from stores.

There is nothing more I wish to say to meet arbitrary character minimums.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boot Barn. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 380 reviews
5107
498
387
238
150

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

3.7Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight