Boral Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Mechine Operator (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLApril 11, 2018
N/A nothing to say,to each it’s own no response
Long hours
No days off
6 days a week
13 hours shifts
Be there at 4 am
Short breaks
30 minute lunch

Never disciplined the MM for his lack of action, or the lies he constantly told his supervisors and the team. There is no HR personnel at the plants. So supervisors had to do a lot of HR paper work for new hirees. I felt ill doing this because I do not like being responsible for anyone's personal information. But all supervisors wore tons of hats and never compensated, appreciated or anything. Just more and more work plastered upon us. If you see a job opening at this company, please do not apply you'll only be disappointed and aggrevated with yourself that you did.. Waste of time, waste of management, no trust at all.
Pros
Honestly there are none
Pros
Free lunch sometime
Cons
Short to no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLApril 8, 2018
Working at Boral was very tough when you got to work you never and i mean never when you were going to get to go home. There were days when I started at 6:00 am and punched out at 1:00am now real good vending there many times you did not have enough food to last you that many hours. Very hot in the summer and cold in the winter you could not wear hoodies even to keep warm. Conditions are terrible.
Cons
Poor working conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Building Products
Sales (Former Employee) –  Wixom, MIMarch 24, 2018
Building product manufacturing. Work with national and regional suppliers in building products industry. This is a growing business and home and commercial building are in demand.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast oaced working environment very respectful management & coworkers , good pay
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 12, 2018
Boral roofing is a company where you can go as far as you’d please management is very responsive,respectful & caring of their employees , overall great place to be and work
Pros
Good hours, good pay, alot of opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice mix of culture...young/old generation
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Henderson, TXFebruary 28, 2018
Boral Brick is a fast paced company. That is safe work environment. It is known for safety and putting out quality brick to its customers. With more hours i wouldve like to have retired, from that company
Pros
At first, you could get as many hours as needed
Cons
New company changed the boral brick format
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Machine Specialist/Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Bessemer, ALFebruary 20, 2018
It's a ok place to work but watch out for the supervisor no cell phones and be on time and be in your area at all times but the pay was good but no communication at all with management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place good pay good benifits.
Plant operator / Loader/ Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXFebruary 5, 2018
Oversaw plant operations, Work close with Plant Manager on projects, Saw that plant was kept up to standards and all safety guide lines were applied, Load out bound trucks daily using a Classifier System which is computer operated with multiple screens. Pull samples of product to check quality, Operated Heavy equipment as needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Production and Safety Plant Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Brookshire, TXFebruary 1, 2018
Boral is an enjoyable company is a plus I always enjoy working there and management is very high teamwork, a few of the managers need Professionalism cause they take things to personal.
Pros
none
Cons
schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great manager and fellow sales guys
Area Regional Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCFebruary 1, 2018
Boral might have to be the best environment I have worked in to date. Had a great fair manager a great group of sales guys and girls i9 worked very close to over the years i spent at Boral. Unfortunately i couldnt relocate so i had to move on
Pros
manager
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brick Manufacturing at it's finest
Plant Manager & Plant Environmental Officer (Former Employee) –  Macon, MSJanuary 31, 2018
Well organized operations with a centralized corporate management. Quality Production output a necessity for profitabilityand customer satisfaction. management of raw material quality very important. Good interaction of employees at all levels.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved My Job and the People
PLANT ADMINISTRATOR/HR COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Franklin, OHJanuary 27, 2018
I really thought I would retire from Boral. I worked almost 15 years there. Enjoyed what I did and being there for the employees and their needs. We were purchased about 6 months ago and I noticed that slowly people were being replaced. I guess it was my time. Everything happens for a reason, I look forward to my next chapter in life and where God puts me. I know there is something better waiting. Where 1 door closes another opens.
Pros
Easy to work with when I had outside appointments, treated well by everyone, always trying to recognize people for the accomplishments, gave out yearly bonus
Cons
Could be stressful at times, didn't feel secure with the turnover of people, don't have a good training program in place, long hours for the people on the floor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Rockdale, TXJanuary 17, 2018
It. Was. Good for a while ..... I have been working there. For. Almost. 11 years and. Now they are closing.
I am very dependable hard working committed.
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome company
Utilities Liaison Analyst (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLJanuary 12, 2018
in my experience, i was motivated to come into work, very structured, you have task and you get it done, i worked side by side with the general manager, great feeling of reward, satisfaction
Pros
good pay, great understanding
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job was not a job it was a career and the individuals that I worked with, were not employees they became family.
Manager/Sales Support (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 2, 2018
I worked for this company for 15 years 10 months. I never once woke up and said I don't want to go to work. My job was a career one I enjoyed and miss everyday.
Pros
My co-workers became family members.
Cons
I was laid off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn the business
Controller (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXDecember 29, 2017
This is a complex business, very interesting, and is full of talented people who collaborate to bring about successful results year after year. There are many opportunities for continuous learning in this challenging business.
Pros
Multi-state operations, technical expertise, great customers
Cons
Meeting the demand for product at all times of the year is challenging.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back
Molder (Former Employee) –  Phenix City, ALDecember 19, 2017
Boral Bricks was a nice laid back environment to work in. Most of all have fun while working molding bricks into all different shapes from small bricks to center blocks
Pros
More breaks
Cons
Car stayed dirty from all the dirt
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work , Safety driven
Maintenance Manager (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLDecember 6, 2017
Fast paced production driven environment with team work and safety as a major focus. Uses TPM and lean principles to drive efficiencies. Production schedule drives maintenabce down time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warning, Danger and Sad
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, NCNovember 20, 2017
When I was being interviewed the management team told me so many wonderful stories about how great this particular plant (Salisbury/Spencer locations) were. How there was room to grow, great management team to work with, work balance life, etc. Well to my surprise once I was hired, the wool off the sheep came off all the wolves appeared. My manufacturing manager was acting more like a supervisor than a manager. It seemed he couldn;t make any decisions without asking and confirming with one of the supervisors. This was daily. The VP was even worst because he never dsiciplined the MM for his lack of action, or the lies he constantly told his supervisors and the team. There is no HR personnel at the plants. So supervisors had to do a lot of HR paper work for new hirees. I felt ill doing this because I do not like being responsible for anyone's personal information. But all supervisors wore tons of hats and never compensated, appreciated or anything. Just more and more work plastered upon us. If you see a job opening at this company, please do not apply you'll only be disappointed and aggrevated with yourself that you did.. Waste of time, waste of management, no trust at all.
Pros
Honestly there are none
Cons
Back staving management team, showed little concern about employees, and safety hazards everywhere
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balanced
Maintenance Tech (Current Employee) –  Chester, SCOctober 30, 2017
Perform preventive maintenance and breakdown maintenance. Plant manager cared about the people and overall workplace. Hardest part was working 12 hour night shift not being able to spend a lot of time with family.
Pros
Competitive pay
Cons
dusty enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Grinder/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Phenix City, ALOctober 23, 2017
I've worked at boral brick and have never mate so many friendly people in one company in my life I loved the people that works their boss manager and employes
Pros
great
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boral. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 219 reviews
572
468
350
216
113

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture