Borough of Manhattan Community College Employee Reviews

Found 154 reviews matching the search See all 155 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative work environment
Regulated access control to student body (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 4, 2018
Borough of Manhattan Community College is a diverse environment that entails making sure the premises is safe. It is most definitely a home away from home.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy work place
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 27, 2018
I had a good experience working here it help me to understand how much work and how important
It is to be a librarian assistant the librarians are very busy 24/7 but otherwise every one does there job and are very helpful to help when a person doesn’t understand something
Pros
Paid time off
Cons
Short lunchbreaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun co-workers
College Assistant-Media Technician (Current Employee) –  Borough of Manhattan Community CollegeApril 26, 2018
Working at BMCC has been a really fun opportunity. I have met some people who will be lifelong friends. However, the pay could be better but the hours are flexible.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a work study job
Development Skills Reading Lab College Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 14, 2018
2-3 hours per day
skilled an alpha/numerical files, better communication
manage my time
multicultural
it was easy
getting together with co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Supplemental Instruction Leader (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 11, 2018
Best work area, very considerate and understanding of personal situations.
If you can get a job there, go for it! The workers there are very nice and supporting.
Pros
Only good things to say
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and nice work place
Engineering Sciences Tutor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 7, 2018
Great place where you can learn many things. There are many things nice about this place such as the area, food and people. Many great place where you could go as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need more hours and benefits
College Assistant (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYApril 3, 2018
It sometimes get very over worked ans stressful. I will make a person decide to work somewhere else where they will be treated fairly. A job should make one excited about working there not discouraged.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Internship (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 27, 2018
It was more of a internship because i was attending school at the time. learned to work with other, computer skills and a lot more experiences in a work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unknown
College Assistant/Office Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 15, 2018
Hello, It's a job to help pay some of my bills. I came to work and went home. Like every job there is ups and downs. I love my experiences. As a temp this was my second assignment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn
COMPUTER LABORATORY ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 7, 2018
Wonderful place to work and build n customer service and relationships. Working at BMCC was challenging at times but very rewarding> Enjoyed the holidays parties.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start your job
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 28, 2018
Good place to start your job. I used to work 3/4 days a week. I teach remedial courses to the freshman students. I like helping them because they are struggling with math.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bmcc
Sales Associate, Cookies kids (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 14, 2018
Very nice people, they treat you with respect right away. You show up and start your work say at ease but the only problem is that there is a lack of career growth
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Lack of career growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and wonderful fringe benefits
Staff (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 11, 2018
Periodically very busy but overall work pace is average. It's very large place with a large number of employees and students. The hardest part of the job is dealing with unnecessary & time-consuming bureaucracies.
Pros
Working through bureaucracies and delay in getting things done due to the system
Cons
Great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great networking community
College Aide (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 3, 2018
A day on the job is talking and communicating with 100s of students.
Networking. Helping others. Where I work is in a college in the Department of Student Activities. The culture in this department is fun and also always busy. I am meeting a new person everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and FUN
Enrollment contact center Agent (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 28, 2017
Great place for gaining experience. Productive and Fun. Supervisor is very good and got to meet with lots of new people. Everyone is friendly and not much stress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Clerical assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 23, 2017
I was working there while I was in school. Work study gives you the opportunity to work and afford little things you like. I don't know about other department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
College/Scholarship Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 7, 2017
BMCC provided a stepping stone for many a student and junior staff member who wanted to "graduate" to something more adult. The college is ideal for students who are doing their Associates degree and these students seem to be younger.
Pros
Great foundation
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a day at bmcc
Custodian (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 22, 2017
first you clock in
go get ya bin and supplies
go to your floor (mines is 4)
clean 18 classrooms
5 offices
library and quite study
pull all trash in hallways
compact trash
Cons
break to short
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging
Tutor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 19, 2017
Work with students with different kind of need to provide help and comfort to them. expose to different culture and engage in activities it is always good feeling to learn something new.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and fair.work place.
Custodial Assistant (Former Employee) –  199 chambers st. New york city 10007October 18, 2017
I would recommend anyone to work for borough of Manhattan community college it was very helpful in my life and career. It taught me the value of the work field and gave me great work experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Borough of Manhattan Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 156 reviews
557
457
330
27
15

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture

Borough of Manhattan Community College Reviews by Location