Boulder Valley School District Employee Reviews

Showing all 44 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't pay subs enough.
Substitute teacher (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COAugust 25, 2019
Although BVSD is a great school district, they need to pay their subs more. I feel that they invest too much money in fancy technology and not enough in human resources, the most important asset they have.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Sub-Crew Custodian (Former Employee) –  Whole DistrictAugust 21, 2019
A great place to work, with great management teams! The pay and benefits (Pera) are top of the tier for the type of work that I did. I would recommend this place of employment to anyone!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BVSD is a great school district
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Broomfield, COAugust 18, 2019
BVSD middle and high schools have a great staff and administration. Good culture and great kids.

The most enjoyable part of the job for me is working with the kids
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome principal and school to work for.
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COJuly 30, 2019
Everyday I felt good about showing up to work. To greet and see smiles everyday from our students and parents. Staff are amazing to work with and are willing to help you in anything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly productive work environment with very helpful team members.
Kitchen Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boulder, COJuly 10, 2019
The middle school, where I worked for Boulder Valley School District, was fun, pleasant and fast paced. I especially appreciated the schoo’s commitment to healthy, nutritional, locally-produced food.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun place to work.
Food Service Assistant I (Current Employee) –  Boulder, COApril 22, 2019
Great environment for me to work in as I love being around the public and helping out children. The staff at Boulder Valley School District are very supportive and easy to approach.
Pros
Great hours for my personal needs.
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working here
Science Teacher (Current Employee) –  Boulder, COFebruary 18, 2019
The place is welcoming and supportive of teachers if you avoid the charter schools. There is an expectation that you do your job and a focus on student education. I am allowed to teach class and write lessons based on facts and information without being overly concerned about over involved yet uninformed parents.
Pros
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
School Age Care (Current Employee) –  Broomfield, COJanuary 22, 2019
SAC is a very comfortable environment and the job is fun which makes the shift go by pretty quick. There is usually another person or a whole team at a site with you to help you out if you are unsure of something
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of opportunities to work with amazing teachers and students!
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Broomfield, CONovember 24, 2018
Substitute teaching with BVSD is definitely a great job, if you need flexible days off. You are given a lesson plan when you walk in and just need to follow it through the course of the day. The hardest part of the job would be the low compensation package. The most enjoyable part is working with students and teachers.
Pros
Lesson Plan, Great Students, Amazingly helpful staff
Cons
Low compensation comparable to other districts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Information Tech - 21st Century Classroom
Hardware Repair Tech (Former Employee) –  IT CentralSeptember 14, 2018
A growing district, an amazing and talented team, and technology driving the classroom. BVSD encourages growth and development through team sharing, and training.
Pros
Part of an Amazing IT Team
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Paraprofessional Special Education (Current Employee) –  ColoradoAugust 13, 2018
Love the working environment. Welcoming and inclusive place to work. Everyone has something to offer. Several ways to continue growing professionally!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Fun
Student Teacher (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, COMarch 20, 2018
This is a productive & fun environment to work. I will not include confidential company information or personally identifiable information, such as names.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have enjoyed interning as a Student Teacher in BVSD.
Student Teacher Internship (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, COMarch 19, 2018
As an unpaid student teacher, I cannot comment o salary or benefits. I will say that I love the environment at my school and would love to work anywhere in the Boulder Valley School District.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Challenge High Reward
Director of Communications (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COMarch 9, 2018
Excellent, collegial work environment in a high achieving and challenging work environment in a stressful K-12 public school district with daily media oversight.
Pros
Highly dedicated school board and engaged community
Cons
Community has tendency to second guess staff often
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a very pleasent time there
Bilingual healthpara (Former Employee) –  Boulder, CONovember 28, 2017
All the teachers and parents were very nice especially the kids loved the kids. I enjoyed the school it was very diverse as well. So many differnt cultures i enjoyed learning about wh I'll le i was there.
Pros
Helped the children
Cons
I got sick
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family orientated work environment
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Louisville, CONovember 7, 2017
A typical day at work consisted of good change over procedures with the Head Custodian. I learned how to manage a buildings over all cleanliness, and communication skills. The management was very relaxed as long as you were doing what you were supposed to. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Hardest part of the job was the vacuuming, it took about 4-5 hours to finish all the classrooms and hallways. Most enjoyable part of the job would be all the friendships I made and outing events for staff.
Pros
Free Bus Pass
Cons
On feet all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and fun place to work
Special Education Student Aide (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COOctober 18, 2017
A great place to work if you interact with children and people well. The hours are great, pay is good, benefits are superb, and recognition is often awarded for a job well done.
Pros
Great working environmnet
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Food Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boulder, COOctober 13, 2017
a great place to work. Hard work but everyone pitches in and helps each other. nights and weekends off are a giant plus. Every day is a great day at work
Pros
all
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with open dialogue regarding ways to change procedures
Attendance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COOctober 12, 2017
In Boulder Valley Schools there is room for advancement, comradery, wonderful staff and full support from administration and district office. The staff is open to suggestions for more efficient ways of completing a task.

First thing in the morning is to pick up phone calls and enter attendance issues. I then answer incoming calls after all messages are taken. I help with the front desk reception area when needed and answer the phone and direct call to correct person, help students and staff with questions and concerns.

The hardest part of the positions I held at Boulder
Valley Schools is getting out of work on time.
Pros
open minds for suggestions in all areas
Cons
Sometimes ther is no time to eat lunch away from your desk
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical
Field Engineer/Tier (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COOctober 12, 2017
Middle Management is Great - Upper Management has their own agenda and will try to crush anyone who does not agree with them
Work is typical, crunch times at the beginning of the school year and during state testing.
The IT director has unrealistic aspirations that is dumped on those below him.
Supervisors and managers, for the most part, are understanding of this.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boulder Valley School District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 44 reviews
525
417
32
20
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.3Culture

Boulder Valley School District Reviews by Location