Boulder Valley School District Employee Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Based on 32 reviews
Ratings breakdown
515
415
32
20
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 32 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have enjoyed interning as a Student Teacher in BVSD.
Student Teacher Internship (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, COMarch 19, 2018
As an unpaid student teacher, I cannot comment o salary or benefits. I will say that I love the environment at my school and would love to work anywhere in the Boulder Valley School District.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Challenge High Reward
Director of Communications (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COMarch 9, 2018
Excellent, collegial work environment in a high achieving and challenging work environment in a stressful K-12 public school district with daily media oversight.
Pros
Highly dedicated school board and engaged community
Cons
Community has tendency to second guess staff often
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a very pleasent time there
Bilingual healthpara (Former Employee) –  Boulder, CONovember 28, 2017
All the teachers and parents were very nice especially the kids loved the kids. I enjoyed the school it was very diverse as well. So many differnt cultures i enjoyed learning about wh I'll le i was there.
Pros
Helped the children
Cons
I got sick
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family orientated work environment
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Louisville, CONovember 7, 2017
A typical day at work consisted of good change over procedures with the Head Custodian. I learned how to manage a buildings over all cleanliness, and communication skills. The management was very relaxed as long as you were doing what you were supposed to. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Hardest part of the job was the vacuuming, it took about 4-5 hours to finish all the classrooms and hallways. Most enjoyable part of the job would be all the friendships I made and outing events for staff.
Pros
Free Bus Pass
Cons
On feet all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and fun place to work
Special Education Student Aide (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COOctober 18, 2017
A great place to work if you interact with children and people well. The hours are great, pay is good, benefits are superb, and recognition is often awarded for a job well done.
Pros
Great working environmnet
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Food Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boulder, COOctober 13, 2017
a great place to work. Hard work but everyone pitches in and helps each other. nights and weekends off are a giant plus. Every day is a great day at work
Pros
all
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with open dialogue regarding ways to change procedures
Attendance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COOctober 12, 2017
In Boulder Valley Schools there is room for advancement, comradery, wonderful staff and full support from administration and district office. The staff is open to suggestions for more efficient ways of completing a task.

First thing in the morning is to pick up phone calls and enter attendance issues. I then answer incoming calls after all messages are taken. I help with the front desk reception area when needed and answer the phone and direct call to correct person, help students and staff with questions and concerns.

The hardest part of the positions I held at Boulder
Valley Schools is getting out of work on time.
Pros
open minds for suggestions in all areas
Cons
Sometimes ther is no time to eat lunch away from your desk
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical
Field Engineer/Tier (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COOctober 12, 2017
Middle Management is Great - Upper Management has their own agenda and will try to crush anyone who does not agree with them
Work is typical, crunch times at the beginning of the school year and during state testing.
The IT director has unrealistic aspirations that is dumped on those below him.
Supervisors and managers, for the most part, are understanding of this.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great part time job where you help children learn after school
Assistant Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Boulder, COAugust 28, 2017
It was a great relaxed job where you get payed to hang out with some great kids and help them with their homework. Management isn't the greatest at communication and can be hard to get along with. The other employees are fantastic to work with though and it's a great environment otherwise.
Pros
Benefits over 20hours
Cons
Not a lot of hours and takes up an awkward chunk of your day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational related work
DATA SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Boulder, COJuly 30, 2017
Typical work involved data cleaning and inspection. Work culture was friendly and supportive. Opportunities were provided for growth and advancement. Would recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive District
Secondary Language Arts teacher (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COMay 18, 2017
Progressive District. Work, much like life, is what one makes of it. Rather than complaining about what's wrong, I choose to be proactive and contribute to the solution.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent school
CASEY MIDDLE SCHOOL - STUDENT TEACHER (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COMay 17, 2017
They really care about teaching the kids through both traditional and experiential methods, which adds to the value of the students overall learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, frustrating environment w many bosses
Support Secretary (Current Employee) –  Boulder, COApril 13, 2017
Any school district is run by a large hierarchy with too many bosses. Sometimes that can get frustrating, but the benefits are good.
It's nice to have the summer and Spring Break off work.
Each day is a little different because of the students.
Pros
The work varies day to day, summers off !
Cons
too many bosses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great social group, very friendly management
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Boulder, COMarch 26, 2017
I have very much enjoyed working for the BVSD transportation department. The training exceeds the standards set forth by the DOT and has enabled me to feel competent and skilled as a school bus driver. Management is quick to respond to questions and to work with employee's personal needs. Other employees are friendly and easy to get along with.
Pros
Full benefits with part time work
Cons
Some of the busses are a bit old
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience. Learned from my colleagues.
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COSeptember 22, 2016
Good experience. Collaborated with colleagues to make decisions that were in the best interest of kids. The hardest part of the job was the political nature of the position I was in. Worked through it.
Pros
Principals I supervised. They were great!
Cons
Politics of the position I was in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dependent on what branch you work for!
Site Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Broomfield, COAugust 8, 2016
I've worked solely for the Life Long Learning Branch, and have worked there for 6+ years. Since I've worked at BVSD a long time, I have had a variety of both positive and negative experiences, mostly positive though!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stellar District
Teacher and Liaison (Current Employee) –  Boulder, COJuly 2, 2016
Innovative, equity, and transparency are positive words they strive for. They have bilingual schools and alternative schools.

On the negative side, they need to work on a diverse working staff in all their schools. Students need role-models that they can identify with and feel empowered to achieve higher education.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like what I do, operating wide format and color copiers
Copy and Print Specialist (Current Employee) –  Boulder, COApril 25, 2016
A typical day consists of filling work from an online Digital Storefront. Most aren't ready to output, and must be revised for printing. I order supplies for my jobs and jobs of coworkers. When coworkers need assistance, they usually come to me. We have no manager over the shop to help with work flow and problems, so we do the best we can.
Pros
40 hrs a week
Cons
No manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting workplace
SAC staff (Current Employee) –  Gunbarrel, COMarch 20, 2016
Co-workers were nice
Hardest part were the non-listening kids
Most enjoyable was seeing kids laugh and smile
The management was alright
I learned lots of patience
A 4 hour work day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tutoring at a local high school
Math and Science Tutor (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COJanuary 18, 2016
I tutored a small group of students a couple times a week in math and science. This tutoring program was part of a college class I was taking and was not paid but rather graded. Tutoring was a great experience and it was beneficial to me to be able to help others in the subjects I enjoyed most.
Pros
Experience teaching others
Cons
Not a paid gig
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boulder Valley School District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Boulder Valley School District Reviews by Location