Bowman Consulting Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Party Chief / Field Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Annapolis, MDApril 16, 2018
great people good atmosphere unfortunately not much chance to advance the location of the work was nice and the commute wasnt bad a little old school in their thought process
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New office, very small but with good people
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Alpharetta, GAFebruary 20, 2018
I was not with them long but the company treated me fairly. Benfits were standard for an engineering company. It was one of the few companies that did not pay by the hours worked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at and gain experiance
System Administrator (Current Employee) –  Chantilly, VAMay 6, 2017
Working in Bowman's IT department is stressful. Mainly due to the fact that there are only a people in the department for a company of 600+ employees. Each person in the IT department has to be able to juggle multiple things at once to complete their tasks. However, it is a great place to learn a lot.
Pros
benifits
Cons
lots of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going through restructure but it is becoming a much better place to work.
Engineering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 9, 2016
Didn't like my first few months at the office but have recently enjoyed working there due to the restructuring of the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
needs better management
prodution staff (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJuly 15, 2014
staff is friendly, but very unexperienced. management is very disorganized. new employment training is poor
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Servicing the Oil and Gas Industry
Director of Engineering (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJuly 15, 2014
Oversee the administrative and engineering functions of production staff. Assist in the development and procedural aspects of the natural gas pipeline engineering department. A typical day encompasses business development, management and design responsibilities. The days are long, but rewarding. The work environment is founded on the principle of "responsible freedom". Everyone is respected for their professionalism and desire to succeed. The entrepreneurial spirit is alive and well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company for work
Survey Crew Chief (Former Employee) –  Chantilly, VAFebruary 20, 2014
It's a good company for work, but not designed for any kind of
family life, per diem was low and they made a deal with those
who lived a good distance away to work 10 days then be off
4 which worked fine until they decided that wasn't good enough,
work needed to be 7 days a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to start a surveying career
Instrument Operator (Former Employee) –  Leesburg, VAFebruary 9, 2014
I started my surveying career here, and I was very satisfied with Bowman.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I have ever worked!
Administrative (Former Employee) –  PittsburghDecember 31, 2013
Horrible place to work. No training, micromanaging, people working 7 days a week only to be thrown under the bus. Upper management is not on the same page. No one is consistent . Sneaky and underhanded. If I could give negative stars I would. Very dysfunctional.
Pros
Health & 401K benefits.
Cons
Upper management needs to be on the same page, no training, employees do not get along, tattletales, frequent arguments, bad HR practices
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Jr.Party Chief (Current Employee) –  PittsburghDecember 19, 2013
Perform Asbuilt survey including pipe tally, weld mapping, and preliminary stake out. I enjoy the work and the people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not waste your time!
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Chantilly, VAJune 30, 2013
The old Bowman is gone! The new Bowman only cares about US expansion. You will be over worked, under paid, not treated fairly and wake up and realize that you are wasting your professional life!
Pros
Zero
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Land Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Leesburg, VAMarch 16, 2013
I enjoyed my time at Bowman. The people are friendly and it has a great atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you are an engineer
Soil Scientist/Geothermal & Soil Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Chantilly, VAJanuary 21, 2013
Environmental section was very small and company did not market the department as they did for the engineering and surveying. A typical day of work was managing projects. I was respnsible for getting the work and doing the work. I was a one man team for the majority of my time there. I didn't have much interaction with other coworkers.
Pros
flexible work schedule
Cons
limited work, no interaction with other employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
OFFICE & SENIOR MANAGER / ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Chantilly, VAMay 19, 2012
Project management, design, mentoring, marketing and client repersentation.
Learn a lot more about making a business sucessful.
Great corporate management, but some of the office management left a little to be desired.
Great people eager to learn.
The hours.
Doing my job and seeing the end result and dealing with my clients.
Pros
good work environment, corporate structure, good people, benifits of being a part of management, company benifits
Cons
work life balance, management attitude in some of the offices
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bowman Consulting. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 15 reviews
50
48
34
21
12

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture