Boy Scouts of America Employee Reviews

Found 1,818 reviews matching the search See all 1,828 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's more than a job, it's a lifestyle
Employee (Former Employee) –  Pleasant Hill, CAJanuary 17, 2019
People who work for Scouts love scouting. The pay is low and you have a ton of work. You are expected to work nights and weekends in addition to being in the office during business hours. The camaraderie is great and the job can be fun at times, but often it is long days with little reward. We do it for the kids and that's what keeps us going.
Pros
great co-workers
Cons
management's unrealistic expectations & lack of appreciation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers were easy to work with. Enjoyed working with volunteers
Registrar Assistant (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJanuary 17, 2019
I went into this job with very little training. The job was very disorganized, and I had to learn how to do membership through trial and error. I asked a lot of questions about how the job should be done, but never got answers. The previous Senior Executive retired and left our Council losing money. My job was cut due to this.
Pros
Understanding coworkers
Cons
Very disorganized. Upper management does not listen to employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter Job
Scout Leader (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJanuary 17, 2019
Make a difference in your community and world today by joining the boy scouts or girl scouts and give of you time and energy to build a brighter tomorrow.
Pros
Awesome Experience
Cons
Not enough to live on
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer work
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  AnywhereJanuary 15, 2019
got a lot of volunteer hours with them.
wish I kept track of the exact number of hours.
but easy way to get hundreds of volunteer hours.
work depends on who you are with.
Pros
a lot of volunteer hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
PROGRAM SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 14, 2019
not bad for students going to college they are very believable with hours if you are bilingual its a higher pay you have to be willing to deal with children from 1st graded through 5th
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be
Eagle Scout (Current Employee) –  Greenwood, SCJanuary 14, 2019
Not a job, volunteer your time.
Get to work with kids
Give back to the community
2 hours a week
Fun for all ages eleven through 18
camping and survival skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was wonderful
Jr. Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Yakima, WAJanuary 12, 2019
you wake up in a scout camp which is usually in a forest, eat breakfast, raised the flag, teach scouting merit badges, eat lunch and dinner, lower the flag, free time, then bed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eagle Scout
Eagle Scout (Former Employee) –  Danville, CAJanuary 11, 2019
Managed a huge logistical project at 15 years old. Tells you all you need to know about leadership development. Huge aspect of learning responsibility and character.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grueling and demanding workplace
DISTRICT DIRECTOR (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSJanuary 9, 2019
Their idea of multi-tasking is criminal. You are constantly working on two or three major things at a time. I learned a lot working for the Scouts, but wouldn't want to go through the grinder again with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Applicable
Boy Scout (Former Employee) –  IllinoisJanuary 8, 2019
Why can't I opt out of this?

Your system isn't letting me opt out of this and it's very irritating. I have better things to do than waste my time on your forms.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, Hard Hours
District Executive (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 7, 2019
You get to meet and work with the best people in your community but the hours are killer. You will often have a full day in the community followed by evening meetings. Occasional weekend work and early report times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once in a lifetime
Program Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 7, 2019
It was a good environment to help the kids and to teach also. Performing skits was also an upside the kids loved that. Management could have been better though
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with very nice outdoor facilities
Sports Director (Former Employee) –  Greenwich, CTJanuary 7, 2019
Had a great time interacting with the children and loved going to work everyday. All of the staff always brought great energy and enthusiasm to the workplace.
Pros
Fantastic Staff
Cons
Short breaks, Slightly underpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization loved my first job
Den Leader (Former Employee) –  Mountainside, NJJanuary 6, 2019
Just watching and making sure all kids were safe. Had a great boss and a fun time for my first job. I would recommend to a friend or someone who is just beginning his working career.
Pros
laid back
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To help youth to obtain skills for their future.
Office Asst, Registrar and Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 3, 2019
Productive in helping youth develop skills for use in their future. Providing customer service and updating advancement and training records for youth and adults. Providing reports for management. Good rapport with coworkers. Learned to use Doubleknot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Raven Knob Scout Reservation (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCJanuary 3, 2019
Great place to work. Loved serving my community and helping youth. Great outdoor education program and people who become family. I still happily volunteer with the organization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
most amazing experience of my life
Boy Scout (Former Employee) –  waipio in HawaiiJanuary 1, 2019
when i use to live in America i decided to join the BSA it was the best choice i have ever made. i have made lifelong friends and and know first aid, knot tying, leadership and being myself.
Pros
new friends, life skills, leadership skills
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i liked working with the boyscouts
Health officer (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTDecember 30, 2018
I enjoyed my time with the boy scouts. The only real problem I had was that it was run by old men who had bias towered the LDS church. I made a lot of friends and got experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meaningful organization, No personal life, Very heavy workload, High Expectation Environment
District Executive (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 30, 2018
It was good being part of an organization that helps deliver such a valuable program to youth. However, having much of a life outside of work was simply not possible for me with the District Executive position. While this is largely dependent on the things that need to get done in your district, all District Executives work many more hours than a regular job because the workload is very thick. When your district is low on manpower, and the existing volunteers have an anti-council attitude, this only adds more responsibilities and hurdles to the already heavy workload of a District Executive. This is a very fast-paced, high expectation environment and you unfortunately will have to learn by fire because there is little training/preparation given to you before you are expected to perform the duties of your job.
Pros
Helping with the implementation of a valuable youth program
Cons
Grueling hours, very high expectation environment, minimal training to get you prepared to do the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer work
VOLUNTEER SERVICES (Former Employee) –  Severn, MDDecember 28, 2018
I volunteered to teach 11 to 18 year old Scouts. My classes last summer were Personal Management and Communications. The Scout culture is one of honesty and trust.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boy Scouts of America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 1,829 reviews
5967
4489
3246
270
157

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight