Boy Scouts of America Employee Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Based on 1,362 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5768
4348
3163
242
141
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,353 reviews matching the search See all 1,362 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Rockaway, NJJuly 17, 2018
I worked for Camp Winnebago as the dishwasher for the summer of 2015 and 2016. despite the long hours the staff and scouts were what made it fun. the most enjoyable part of the job was seeing that the kitchen staff were appreciated and taken care of. the hardest part of the job was standing for roughly twelve to thirteen hours a day.
Pros
friendly people, great experience
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Camp Counselor
Prep Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Windsor, NYJuly 16, 2018
If you work here you know what you're signing up for. Pay isn't great, they give you a tent to sleep in during the week. Food is alright. There is a certified medic on site
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and underpaid
District Executive (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 15, 2018
The work environment is unhealthy. Much time is spent in meetings where your work product is compared to your counterpart's work product - with the intent to " motivate" those who aren't keeping up with expectations.

Expectations are unreasonable in every area of your job functions so you are never able to meet much less exceed the requirements established as part of the company assigned SMART GOALS.

The only thing that I enjoyed during my time here was working with many incredible co-workers who worked tirelessly to make the best out of a very frustrating situation.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
Work life balance didn't exist
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Boy Scouts are not the same now as when I worked there.
Controller (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNJuly 14, 2018
When I worked there team work was a must and customers keep the place open. We had a lot of volunteers which did take up a lot of time. It was stressful trying to bring in donated money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun yet structured environment
Counselor (Former Employee) –  Mentone, ALJuly 14, 2018
The BSA has a fun yet structured work environment, a friendly work space tempered by a workload sure to keep you busy- as long as you are capable of bringing your own sense of accountability and honesty, then it's a place where you can go far.
Pros
Free meals, relaxed atmosphere on and off the clock, flexible schedule
Cons
Some long days were required, large staff could sometimes hinder communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scouts
Registrar (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYJuly 13, 2018
A typical work day was ever changing and fast paced. The management had a history of not treating the administrative staff with respect. The culture of the office could be kind and inclusive and then change to exclusive within moments. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to help volunteers achieve their goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work Envorinment
Unit Serving Executive (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City Ut.July 13, 2018
Very Friendly work environment with individuals that want to help you succeed. You will never find a more diverse group of people to work with. The work can be stressful but is very fulfilling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule with a friendly atmosphere
District Executive (Former Employee) –  Batavia, NYJuly 13, 2018
Some weeks included night meetings and weekends so the days were flexible and managed on my schedule. The Executive Director is wonderful, and highly-trained. He made the long hours a lot of fun
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Driving throughout two counties
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, enjoyable, and a great learning opportunity.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Avalon, CAJuly 13, 2018
Such a great place for a summer job. The people and management you work with become your family and everything about the job is so amazing, relaxing, fun, and a great learning experience for first time jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boy led adult supervised
Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJuly 13, 2018
Very stressful place to work with no true purpose or realistic expectations. Not the most put together events. Working at the camp was a nightmare. Enjoyed working with the boys but not the adults.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CLeaning
Cleaning Specialist (Former Employee) –  Hermantown, MNJuly 11, 2018
I enjoyed cleaning at Boy Scouts. It helped me with my weekly gas money and incidentals. I worked after hours andcould clean at my own pace which was nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experiences and life skills/
EAGLE SCOUT (Current Employee) –  Aurora, COJuly 10, 2018
Working with the Boy Scouts of American taught me about who I am and what I can do with my future. The BSA built me to who I am and what I am trying to become.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Summer Job A Young Adult Could Have
Trading Post Manager (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJuly 10, 2018
I held multiple positions around the summer camp. We were trained to be good leaders and make good examples for the kids that would come through our camp.
Pros
Fun Work Environment, Great After Hours Activities
Cons
Long Hours, Live at Work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boy Scouts of America
Emergency Medical Technician (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXJuly 9, 2018
A purpose driven organization who does good work in it's communities and takes pride in it's employees. A great organization to work for and learn with!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a volunteer, including leading one of the younger Scouts.
American Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, NCJuly 9, 2018
I was able to give back to the less fortunate and have bonding time with my boys. Volunteering with this organization taught me patience, teamwork and leadership skills.
Pros
Leadership skills, patience, time management and teamwork
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding working with youth.
Volunteer Work (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles County, CAJuly 8, 2018
Volunteer adult leader working with youth 8 to 21 years old. Not a paid position or job. Requires one unit meeting a week, one week end outing a month, one committee and district meeting a month and one week long term summer camp program.
Pros
Mentoring youth and having an inflence on their life.
Cons
Although its principals are good, because its of adults egos, its not free of politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, educational, and eye opening.
VOLUNTEER & COMMUNITY (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, CAJuly 8, 2018
Although I didn't get promoted as I often wanted to, I still learned the same skills as the rest of the boys in the troop. Such as First Aid and Lifesaving, Outdoor survival skills, and basic firearms safety.
Pros
Great leadership training
Cons
The acceptance of Girls in the Boy Scouts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Petersburg, INJuly 5, 2018
I had fun working in the kitchen. I made new friends and got a good taste of the real world. The experiences I had shaped me into a better person that I am glad to be at this current place and time.
Pros
I got to work with younger scouts
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pressure
Senior district executive (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJuly 5, 2018
High pressure, production oriented, always looking for handouts in money or time. Not allowed to volunteer for my sons activities because of time..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, very busy.
Senior District Executive (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 3, 2018
I loved working with the kids. Most of the time had great volunteers! Long hours, on call 365 days a years, 24 hours a day! The staff becomes a family and learns from each other!
Pros
You can make your schedule most of the time.
Cons
Long hours!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boy Scouts of America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight