Boyd Bros. Transportation Employee Reviews

Showing all 29 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMay 30, 2018
Great company to drive for I have no complaints, great pay and benefits. Family oriented, very big on safety and really look out for their drivers making sure you have good home time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Boyd Bros. Transportation
June 1, 2018

Thank you so much for the glowing review! We appreciate your kind words!

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Truck Driver Class A CDL (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMay 4, 2018
This company is a very good company to work for it has that family oriented vibe great attitude with management and safety is enforced highly the company takes good care of the drivers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Boyd Bros. Transportation
May 7, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback.

1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNApril 9, 2018
Not a good company to work for wouldn’t recommend someone to work there my expectations wasn’t met my time there wasn’t good the home time sucked. Bad experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Official response from Boyd Bros. Transportation
April 12, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. The satisfaction of our drivers is always our top priority, so we regret that you had a negative experience with Boyd Bros. We would be happy to discuss your specific situation offline. Feel free to contact us directly at lfurnell@boydbros.com or 334-775-1398.

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pro
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALDecember 8, 2017
a day at work was getting a load and then driving to get unload and then get the next load ,,i learned to trap the load the way boyd went me to,,,the management was really good at boyd,,, the hard thing way trap the load
Pros
free lunch in training
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Official response from Boyd Bros. Transportation
December 13, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback.

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Faced paced work environment
Driver Manager/Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 24, 2017
Boyd Brothers is a good company to work for. However, there is major animosity between the sales and driver managers in the operations department. I have learned a lot about the trucking business since I have been a Boyd.
Pros
Job Security, Challenging, Satisfaction from helping fellow employees with daily problems
Cons
negativity from unsatifaied coworkers, animosity stemming from an unequal bonus program
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Probably a good place to get your feet wet in flatbed industry
Former truck driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 20, 2017
Worked there 20 years was a great place to work that turned into just a place to work ,hated to leave but seniority stopped meaning anything
Company has turned completely opposite of what MR.BOYD built
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine place
Flatbed Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 11, 2017
Seems fine at first but then everything starts being taken from your check. And the higher cpm doesn't help because the less miles due to the legal stops that are required.
Pros
None
Cons
Crushed dreams.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
CDL Class A Driver (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJune 29, 2017
Great place to work at. They keep you moving. Great dispatchers. The trucks are newer and run quite well very little brake downs if you have a problem they will fix it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company To Drive for
Flatbed Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJune 24, 2017
I enjoyed Driving for Boyd Brothers I had a Nice truck,good Paying Runs , and Friendly Company to drive for the only downside And It isn't due to Boyd Brothers It's the Trucking industry Is The Stresses of The Road Which makes hometime very important to me And When You don't get Home that makes My Job 2 times harder but overall they Get you home As much as Possible
Pros
Good pay, Nice truck, Good DM's and Maintenance, Friendly company
Cons
Hometime
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flatbed hauling anything
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMarch 24, 2017
Worked there when still family owned was a great company to learn the flatbed industry. Dispatch was helpful and willing to work with you. Well maintained fleet
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham AlabamaMarch 21, 2017
Work there two different times six months each time first time 6 months was great nice good employees that great dispatcher next time turrible that's all I got to say about it they need some help
Pros
Decent equipment
Cons
Not enough miles
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked long hours and it was a good company to work for
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMarch 14, 2017
I enjoyed working for Boyd Bros. they made sure you got home time which most companies didnt care if you got home or not
They helped me when I went out on a medical and kelp me on as long as they could. I had a heart attack after trying to get seen by the doctor I was seeing. I am complete healed and could go back to work for them but I have move to be with my son I south Dakota.
Pros
good company
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good place to work
Over the Road Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALFebruary 10, 2017
It's a ok job to work for great company dispatchers well sales are slow at times needs to get a class on how to dispatch but other than that I can't complain my family eating every night so that's all that matter
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A safe and enjoying work place.
Truck Driver OTR (Current Employee) –  ArkansasNovember 1, 2016
It's a good place to work. The pay is ok due to you being out on the road every weekend or however freight is that week. They get you home every weekend if you want home time and it's just a good place to work period.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well ran company
Flatbed Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJuly 7, 2016
With this company I was learning the business. They have a good training program. I believe after there training program I was ready to work for anyone. Management was very knowledgeable and helpful. The only down fall was the pay I was receiving was not enough to survive off of. Being a flat bed driver was the best job I ever had.
Pros
Traveling
Cons
Not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for. Clean environment, friendly faces, & new trucks every 3 yrs.
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJune 22, 2016
There are ups & downs on every job but traffic in crowded areas is the worse. I got used to it & adjusted well. I became an even more safe & efficient driver as time passed. The management was great but the best part of the job was the paycheck.
Pros
Freedom of the road
Cons
Being away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home weekly is false
Driver (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHApril 5, 2016
Over all a decent place to work but you do not get home every week. Plus a lot of times you're only home for 24 hours or less.. I'd say home a couple times a month is more accurate.
Pros
Pay is pretty good.
Cons
No quality home time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Skip this company
Driver (Former Employee) –  AlabamaApril 5, 2016
Boyd is probably not the flatbed company you're looking for. Upper management and the administrative staff look down their noses and are very condescending toward the drivers. My impression is the drivers are looked upon as little more than trained monkeys. It is apparent Boyd has little regard for drivers as evidenced by the orientation: substandard meals, disorganized topic presentation, unpleasant facilitators, and inconveniently located accomodations. In addition, the pay is among the lowest in the industry and benefits are expensive for a family. The sign on bonus program is a joke, paid out over many, many months, while the referral bonus is even more laughable. The turnover rate is 100% which is to be expected considering the fact that the only thing not deducted from your check is the chaplain service. They want perfect securement and tarping but only pay $26.00 per load. I apologize for not giving more specifics about my own experience, but I do not want to be "black listed" by Boyd which they have been accused of doing by several drivers I know.
Pros
Blue Cross Health Insurance
Cons
Something not right about the administrative staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright workplace
Driver (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 28, 2015
Pretty good company have a lot of freight and good dispatchers great company to start your career with and make pretty good money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented
RECEPTIONIST/ADMIN ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Clayton, ALJune 15, 2015
Company claims to be family oriented and they are if it is involving the family of one of the VPs or the owner. Everyone that works there is trying to find a new job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 36No 14Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boyd Bros. Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 29 reviews
511
45
39
22
12

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

Boyd Bros. Transportation Reviews by Location