Boyd Gaming Corporation Employee Reviews

Showing all 202 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They had free turkey giveaways during the holidays.
Runner (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVNovember 13, 2018
The typical day was either hectic or very slow depending on how busy it was during the conventions were, because the conventions were the driving force for the restaurants, and the hotel. Also if you had a top billing shows at the resorts stage shows.

I learned a lot of new experiences and new types of cultural diverse relationships, because our resort had to cater to international visitors and out of state customers. The management were always trying to be upbeat, because we are to ensure the hotel guests are to be the best to ensure their return to our resort for the next time.
The hardest part of the job was that nothing was routine, there was always something different to do, we had to rotate our duties to other restaurants on the resort.

The most enjoyable part of the job was getting tipped when it was needed most to see if I did my job well.
Pros
It was an experience that you had to learn the fine art of hospitality.
Cons
Business at the resort can be busy or slow pending on the flow of customers coming in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place to do Nothing
Information Technology (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 22, 2018
If you're interested in seeing what 1950s "Old Boy" systems are like, apply at Boyd. If you're a woman, a minority, or simply not a white male, do not expect advancement.

Salaries are about 26% lower than the national average (per role) and there is no direction to what an individual can do to grow. Raises are non-existent and management is unqualified and lack direction, avoid this company.
Cons
Unqualified Management, No Career Advancement, Low Salaries
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management needs reworking.
Dual Rate Security Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Michigan City, INOctober 17, 2018
My coworkers are honestly the only reason I have stayed as long as I have. The immediate supervisors are kept out of the loop just as much as the regular team members. It's the managers and directors who seem to have a lack of care for their staff, atleast for my department. We cannot retain employees due to the mismanagement of the current staff and the new hires dont see it worthwhile to stay because of the current climate. If you submit a suggestion using the provided suggestion box, you never even so much as recieve a response.
Pros
Cheap lunches
Cons
There is no communication.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
PBX Operator (Current Employee) –  NevadaOctober 13, 2018
I enjoy my job at The Orleans but it is very hard to financially live on the wage Boyd gaming pays their Operators. There are no cost of living raises.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management ive ever endured.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Michigan City, INOctober 2, 2018
In my experience with Boyd gaming there is an utter lack of any coherent management. I've lost count of the times I've been lied to. Ultimately they don't give raises. Loyalty and integrity mean nothing to management. I would never encourage anyone to work for Boyd. I have known many people that work at other casinos never have they experienced anything like the typical "boyd" experience. My interview was a "bait and switch" which lead me to endure conditions I would never had if not for the false hope of a future with this company which is a bold face lie.
Pros
Its a beautiful property
Cons
The total lack of professionalism among management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid boyd
Beverage (Current Employee) –  Henderson, nvSeptember 22, 2018
Do not work here. They treat you like garbage. Ran this place into the ground a long time ago. The gm is a real piece of work. Lp with a chip on her shoulder. If you like being talked down to and disrespected on regular basis then this is the place for you. They even try to set you up to get fired on the regular.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Digital Marketing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVSeptember 19, 2018
good company to work. Friendly staff and very good job security. The work culture is 2nd to none. The company is still growing so if you are interested in growth this is the best place
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wondeful work Envirnoment
Race & Sports Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVSeptember 5, 2018
They care, and it sjhows. Gret atmosphere and wonderful people to work with on a daily basis. I am glad I came here. Wish I came sooner. People rave about the foosd
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Truth
Dealer Dice (Former Employee) –  Northwood, IASeptember 2, 2018
In the casino industry, you will be expected to meet the needs of the guest. So if you are required to stay late because they don't want to close a game, you're stuck. If it's too slow to keep people, you can get out, or be forced out. The hours are poor, and no incentive to work nights. You will be put on a schedule that is the low end of the totem pole, and you will drop the most tips, but you get payed the same as everyone that can't drop a dime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative but easy
Table Games Dealer (Former Employee) –  Mulvane, KSAugust 16, 2018
If you are looking for good pay without a degree, this is a good job, but not a career. Everything else else pretty much sucks about this company but I'll leave it at that.
Pros
Pay and easy work
Cons
Healthcare plus all employees are indisposable, just numbers
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy my job, but I do work hard.
Manager (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 9, 2018
As a manager at one of the properties, I do work hard, but enjoy my job. The management staff are friendly, collaborative, and supportive. Staffing is an issue, though. The company in general likes to work with a lean staff which generally means more hands on work, and less supervising, for managers.
Pros
Free lunch at the properties
Cons
Work weekends; sometimes 6 days/week
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment and amazing culture
Graduate Internship (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 9, 2018
Boyd Gaming offers a great culture, amazing coworkers, an executive team that cares, but has lower than market pay. Benefits also are lacking, high cost healthcare and PTO has been reduced. Despite this Boyd has much lower turnover than other companies within the industry. If you want to be an allstar and get allstar pay, look elsewhere, if you want to be part of a team, look no further.
Pros
culture
Cons
pay and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this company at all costs
Drop Team Member (Former Employee) –  Mulvane, KSAugust 6, 2018
No training, they throw you right in. Also they all hate new employees and you will be harassed by co workers. If you do get a job here, don't talk to anyone if you can and don't trust anyone. Everyone working here will stab you in the back if given the opportunity. The managers use fowl language on the floor right in front of customers. Very un professional. The HR department have relationships with employees (friendships). This is bad due to the fact if someone doesn't like you, they can just tell HR to get you into trouble. They have a massive turn-over rate and you will know why!
Pros
Pay is ok
Cons
corrupt HR, unprofessional staff, hazing of new employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working there
BOX OFFICE ATTENDANT (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 2, 2018
It is a fun, exciting and interesting position. It can get a little hectic at times depending on the event happening but overall it is good. The training can get overwhelming when you are first starting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There always seems that they never have enough help in the different departments. Not a well paid job. Annual raises are very poor.
Sportsbook ticket writer (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 29, 2018
I enjoy the customer interaction with the job I perform. The company has a hard time staffing the Department I work in. I never here positive remarks from other employees, just the negative. Support from management is poor. I feel a better job in communicating can result in a positive work environment.
Pros
Friendly coworkers
Cons
Poor pay rate. Raises very low for time worked for company. Lack of support from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would love to go back
Laundry Sorter (Former Employee) –  Henderson, NVJuly 24, 2018
Typical day included sorting the bed linens and towels or sorting table linens by color. Hardest part was hanging the sheets on the proper ironer. Made a good friend there.
Pros
Made a good friend there
Cons
On your feet all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just my part of the property
Hostess (Current Employee) –  East Peoria, ILJuly 16, 2018
Nothing is set in stone. Everything is always changing. Some managers are so dependable you never want them to leave while others you wish would actually do their jobs. If you have little to no seniority you wear a uniform. If you are able to have a position like a lead or something else you basically can wear whatever you want. It is friendly to tattoos as long as they are appropriate. Jewelry is basically whatever you want. Piercings and hair have limitations. The best parts of the job can turn into the worst based on what the circumstances are. The customers can be wonderful an almost become family while others treat you like a thief and something they are allowed to stomp on. The coworkers are generally great. There is always something going on and never a dull moment.
Pros
employee discounts, guaranteed breaks
Cons
customer playing card statuses, no more gambling on our property if you like to gamble
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair Job
Snack Bar Attendant (Former Employee) –  Michigan City, INJuly 5, 2018
Working in a high volume business required use of customer service skills by greeting and taking food/beverage orders from guest. Prepare and serve food in accordance to established service standards (SafeServe certificate required). Operate cash register, complete cash and credit transactions, and maintain an accurate bank at all times. Maintain cleanliness of work area at all times. Operate all necessary snack bar equipment. Majority of shifts are 8 to 12 hours with mostly standing and walking throughout. Required to lift up to 40lbs. Maintain all licenses or certificates including OSHA safety skill training.
Pros
Pay and Benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work.
Casino custodian (Current Employee) –  Henderson, NVJuly 2, 2018
[Joker's Wild Casino]:The place has horrible management and they are just awful. Warning Just don't apply with them. Our staff is short handed and they want us to do they impossible.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressfull
Agent (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJune 16, 2018
worked in room reservations. the job was fine it consisted of answering phones and data entry. the environment in the office is awful no moral support and management will help depending on what mood they're in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boyd Gaming Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 202 reviews
550
454
344
221
133

See reviews about

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.6InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

2.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight