Brevard County Employee Reviews

Showing all 24 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very strict
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, FLMay 9, 2018
Very hard to work for.
Not family friendly.
Management has favorites.
Hard to get time off.
The customers are always
right even when they are not.
Also the customers can
speak to you how ever
they want to.
the customer speak nasty
and use foul langue.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See below
Firefighter/First Responder (Former Employee) –  Melboourne and total Brevard countryMay 2, 2018
I was a county fire fighter working sghift 24 on 24 off 24 on 72 off, Responsibilities included what today is always required to have extensive schooling

Responsibilities included not limited to; dispatcher, driver/engineer, firefighter, ambulance driver 1st aid, truck maintenance, hydrant maintenance. As to driver/engineer. ladder truck, 750 pumper, forestry truck (s) water tankers etc. All forestry vehicles originally surplus military equipment, 10bys, weapon carriers, tankers. Re
built by firefighters when not responding to emergencies.

In other words we were writing the book on firefighting used today.

work culture since we all had our lives in each others hands at one time or another It was a close brotherhood

Worked both Melbourne fire department and Brevard County fire rescue
Pros
exciting challenging
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working as a crossing guard
Crossing Guard (Current Employee) –  Cocoa, FLJanuary 10, 2018
The job is ok, love working with the kids. The pay is ok for parttime, but we don't have any vacation pay or we can't get umemployment when we are out of work for the whole summer. In order to work this job you must have another job or some type of extra income coming in.
Pros
easy job
Cons
no paid vacation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Environment
Tax Collector (Current Employee) –  Titusville, FLJanuary 9, 2018
Challenging and expected to know all the facets of the functions of the tax collector office. Learned a wealth of knowledge regarding working with titles, registrations, complexity of problems related to the customer and insurance, county and the state. Management styles not conducive to a positive learning environment. Cut throat and tendencies to bully employees. Love the interaction with a variety of people. Talking on the phone and problem solving while working another problem at the same time without making errors.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
not a pleasant work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transported deceased
Transporter (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, FLJanuary 8, 2018
Transported deceased bodies from hospitals, nursing homes, and residences to Funeral Homes and crematories as required. Night job with calls coming in at all hours of the night. Very hard regarding sleep time.
Pros
Variable time off
Cons
Getting woke up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GReat place to work with wonderful people
Facilities Electrician (Current Employee) –  Viera, FLDecember 28, 2017
work 7- 330 M-F. Limited OT is available, but don't count on it. Pay is rather low for any position but harmonious relationships with other workers. Not much chance of advancement, but there is for continuous improvement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, but only temp position.
Office Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Viera, FLOctober 17, 2017
Loved working there, great people and hours. But was only a temp job. Loved working in a place that helped people with different programs in the county.
Pros
Monday-Friday 8am to 5pm
Cons
Only temp job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bus Driver
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Cocoa, FLSeptember 25, 2017
I learned how to drive a bus which I thought I would never do and learned the inside and outside of a bus and what it feels like to be the one to transport kids safely.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brevard County is a fun place to work and a great place to gain experience.
Firefighter/EMT (Current Employee) –  Palm Bay, FLAugust 26, 2017
The training i received at Brevard County fire rescue is excellent. We had a 12 week training program in orientation. Brevard County Fire Rescue is a department in which one can get great job experience. I would recommend Brevard County fire Rescue to a friend as a great department to learn from and gain experience in the field as a Firefighter/EMT.
Pros
Great training and experience. Health insurance, medical, and dental.
Cons
Long Commute and low pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Supervisor
Residential Caregiver/Companion (Former Employee) –  Harbour Island, FLAugust 23, 2017
Enjoyable company to work for, well managed, organized and great scheduling. Co-workers functioned as a team, which is extremely rare in this industry. Problems were addressed promptly and fairly. No stress or hassles with this company. I would work there again if ever living in the area.
Pros
Plenty of hours if wanted, good co-workers and excellent manager.
Cons
Company shirt not my favorite, but plenty of other uniform options
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A true family feel
Lieutenant (Current Employee) –  Coco, PRAugust 1, 2017
Working in the corrections field is often overlooked, being in this profession builds a true family environment with my fellow officers! The Sheriff's office truly cares for its staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Special Olympics Swimming co-coach (Former Employee) –  Merritt Island, FLJuly 6, 2017
Not sure why I am being forced to review a company that I volunteered for.......... It was a fun expereince when I was younger and looking for volunteer work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some good, some bad, no real chance to change.
Precinct Technician (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, FLJune 19, 2017
I enjoyed the work. I loved some of the people. Most of us just trying to make enough to survive. And that was about it. We needed some newer tools, but we always made do and the job got done.
No advancement, no insurance, no bonus, but we got Holiday pay.
Pros
No real customer contact for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all work program
Scat lead bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, FLApril 30, 2017
great place to work, good people,the paid could be better. Team work is great. Everyday can be different from the next which I enjoy it also can be very stressful at time also.
Pros
flexiable
Cons
stress can be great at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good 'til they let me go
Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Brevard County, FLFebruary 6, 2017
They let me go for a cheaper employee, so I'm not happy. I have nothing good to say so I'll say nothing. And that's all I have to say
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy the outdoors
Park Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, FLJanuary 30, 2017
Good place to work for being in nature and being able to meet people of Brevard county,good hours.and benefits,early morning work,learned how to deal with people and acquired new skills.
Pros
good working hrs
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manage and secure the elections voting site.
Sheriff's Deputy (Former Employee) –  Viera, FLAugust 24, 2016
Manage and secure the elections voting site. Secure the perimeter and ensure that no one is breaking the city code. Ensure that all signs are within city code boundaries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Titusville, FLJune 21, 2016
Performed routine maintenance or minor repairs to landfill gas collection and power generation systems, including equipment such as pneumatic pumps, blower or flare systems, and condensate management systems
Addressed and handled customer questions and complaints
Knowledge of storm water collection and control, maintenance of storm water collection canals
Pros
A great place to work
Cons
very hot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain litigation experience
Owner/Managing Attorney (Former Employee) –  FloridaNovember 28, 2015
Great place to gain litigation experience. Taught you how to handle large case loads and deal with unanticipated problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wefwg
Storekeeper (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, FLNovember 11, 2014
ggrgrgraerwfhlweb wen' 'efh;ewfhjwef
wfehjhejwfhfew
wefqijweflhjljewflwe
fwlhfhlw
Pros
stable, all holidays off and paid, on the job skill learning opportunities
Cons
not much pay for required work, no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brevard County. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 24 reviews
57
410
36
21
10

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture