Brigham Young University Employee Reviews

Found 633 reviews matching the search See all 638 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative space where I could learn
Upholstery Specialist (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTJuly 16, 2019
I loved working as a student at Brigham Young University. I was able to collaborate with experts of all different fields within the physical facilities realm and learned valuable skills from all of them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College workplace
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTJuly 16, 2019
Don't think me reviewing this college will do anyone any good, and I doubt anyone will read this. Nevertheless i have write this to post my resume. Rather bothersome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging
Sports Camp Counselor (Current Employee) –  Provo, UTJuly 12, 2019
Each week I would receive a new sport and group of participants to work with. Each day I supervise and interact with the participants during evening activities and devotionals. A hard part is making sure the kids are safe and having a good time. Patience is a huge part of this job.
There is a 6 hour break from 9am-3pm, where the participants go to practice and the counselors have off.
Pros
Free housing for Monday-Thursday, all three meals are paid for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Good College Job
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTJuly 5, 2019
During my time as a research assistant, I was able to manage my own schedule, work directly with the graduate student in charge of the project, and had a lot of input into how the project should go.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed position
Lab TA (Current Employee) –  Rexburg, IDJuly 1, 2019
Being a Lab TA is pretty easy, especially with a morning shift. No one comes online for help and no one's in the shop. It was very relaxed. I had plenty of time to do my homework.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and Well Payed
Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Provo, UTJune 24, 2019
This is single handedly the best college job anyone could ask for. It pays very well and is very stress free. There are not a lot of responsibilities other than watching patrons and being ready to wrap ice or give a bandaid. Very manageable and they allow you to do your homework when you aren't on rotation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and hard-working!
Brigham Young University Outside Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTJune 23, 2019
Working at BYU was such a great job! I became friends with almost every person I worked with and because of that, work became something I looked forward to. There was a lot of different responsibilities which means work was never the same or boring. There was always something new to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow-paced way to retain language skills
Teaching Assistant and Tutor (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTJune 22, 2019
Fun job and a great way to have opportunities to speak Japanese. Great for people who enjoy tutoring and have lots of patience, some students take the courses more seriously than others.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Only evening hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment where people cares for you
Data Visualization Specialist (Current Employee) –  Rexburg, IDJune 14, 2019
At Brigham Young University - Idaho, people like to help each other. Teams work really well together. I miss more specialized management, with great professional experience.
Pros
Great environment, opportunity to run projects.
Cons
Few benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as a student
RUSSIAN 101 INSTRUCTOR, INTERNSHIP COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTJune 10, 2019
BYU focuses heavily on developing their undergraduates, and I was no exception. I worked a total of three jobs, two of them concurrently at one point, and the mentorship I received from my employers was invaluable to me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Issues
Professor (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTJune 9, 2019
There are too many issues with the culture on campus. Its an elitist group that does not reflect the mormon church. The church truly should step in and do some serious reviewing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Department With Great People
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTJune 4, 2019
I really enjoyed working as a resident assistant and look forward to working for housing again next year. While on average it doesn't seem like you are working the required 20 hours a week, all the small little things you do add up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Roulette
Part-time Custodian (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTJune 2, 2019
My manager was great, but whenever I had to work with some others it was a very different experience. Whether it's going to be a great place to work or a terrible one just depends on where exactly you land.
Pros
Convenient for students.
Cons
No work-life balance, as the religious scrutiny is ubiquitous.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Laie, HIMay 31, 2019
Flexible hours
Respected leadership team
Consistent schedule
Teamwork
Opportunity for growth
Assist with other projects as needed
Consistent work routine
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lifelong Learning in work
Transcriptionist (Current Employee) –  Provo, UTMay 17, 2019
Being a research assistant was a perfect job while I was taking classes, and I learned a lot from it as well! It was awesome to have the flexibility to work whenever I needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and fun
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTMay 13, 2019
It was a wonderful experience where I learned a lot and grew so much while also having fun. I use the skills I learned from BYU consistently in my new field of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Custodial Worker (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTMay 7, 2019
It was a good workplace with good management. I was able to work with a good team of people who were diligent, and we were able to work collaboratively.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Muy buen ambiente laboral
preparación y traslado de alimentos (Gatering) (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTMay 1, 2019
Es una empresa que cumple en tiempo y forma cada uno de los puntos del contrato
Pros
Seguro medico privado
Cons
ninguno
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment with incredible people
Campus Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTApril 29, 2019
I loved working here. The people are friendly, the pay was solid, and the culture helps you thrive. The hardest part was dealing with uncooperative patrons, but coworkers stepped in and helped to make it relatively easy.
Pros
Relaxed environment, Solid coworkers
Cons
Out of date uniforms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Brass Librarian (Former Employee) –  Rexburg, IDApril 26, 2019
This work was very flexible and I could work at times convenient to me. As a student, this was very good for me and worked well with my class schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brigham Young University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 638 reviews
5400
4185
343
27
13

Ratings by category

4.5Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.3Management
4.4Culture

Women's ratings

3.7Fairygodboss Score

33%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

67%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss

Brigham Young University Reviews by Location