Brightview Employee Reviews

Found 597 reviews matching the search See all 601 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Crew Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Marlboro, NJDecember 11, 2018
very structured environment with well run company strong management and safety is always addressed all equipment is well maintained. Trucks are new and always serviced. benefits are offered from health care to 401k packages would recommend working for this company Many locations if you wish to relocate
Pros
good company strong management well run
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Crew Lead (Current Employee) –  Pensacola, FLDecember 9, 2018
This company could do a lot more for their employees, instead the high ups get " higher up!" Management does not train! They walk around with a chip on their shoulder, talking down to their employees instead of helping them by educating them. I had to threaten them with hr numerous times for trying to hustle me with my pay and position. This company has the resources
but is very greedy and stingy!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad job
Irrigation Technician/Snow Removal (Current Employee) –  Midvale, UTDecember 6, 2018
Moved to Utah from California. Told me guys where averaging a certain amount of hours and now I am not really getting any hours. Spent thousands of dollars on the move and now it really isn't working that well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Irrigation Technician (Former Employee) –  Fruitland Park, FLDecember 4, 2018
It was a good job to have and really is a opportunity for the right individual I hope that one day if I ever move back down south to work for brightview again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career minded professionals BEWARE!!!
Worker (Former Employee) –  Irwindale, CADecember 2, 2018
Career minded professionals BEWARE!!!
Upper management is not forthcoming, uncommunicable and deceiving...
Once you've negotiated and signed their offer letter, be prepared to fly solo and figure out their inner office routine and spreadsheets. Steer clear of approaching your immediate supervisor for information on any scenario after they've been "in a meeting." Their answers are always interpreted as being bothersome. Don't believe anything upper management tells you, regardless of how it sounds, they're never at face value. And that only gets worse if you're still around after the new hire probationary period. One day they praise your abilities and strongpoints, the next day you're sitting with HR conducting an exit interview before searching for other employment. . .
Pros
Kitchen is packed with snacks, soda and water, free to employees.
Cons
Tight parking stalls and guaranteed car damage from shady colleagues
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Landscaping (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MONovember 30, 2018
The typical day was not "typical." There were various things to do and various obstacles to be crossed.

All in all, we have a fun time doing it, but the pay is not enough.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good job for a teenager with no bills
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MDNovember 29, 2018
Its a ok job if u not supporting a family you make good money only in the summer time and then hours start to slow you work a lot and don't really make much money the people that make the most don't even do a lot of work
Pros
Learn alot as far as landscaping
Cons
Don't make a lot of money from all the work you doing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Crew (Former Employee) –  Circleville, OHNovember 29, 2018
Take good care of their members and one of the best places I have worked at. The management there is amazing, very strict on the safety for the members of the crew.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working out doors meeting new clients
Accounts Manager (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLNovember 27, 2018
A full day of work with various tasks to complete.
Always learning.
Management could spend more time with customers, they don't know our leaders.
Safe working environment always teaching and talking working safe.

Satisfying customers with less time spent (larger book of business) in quality time.


Working outdoors and creating landscapes for relaxation and enjoyment.
Pros
Heath Care-safe work enviroment
Cons
long and unproductive meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A failing company
Manager (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 26, 2018
Too many transitions, and too many bosses. Horrible planning and transparency. No specified path for employees, and since the company has turned into a blinded profit organization, they have lost a lot of business and credibility with their customers. The company seems to be hanging on by a thread.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor management and goals
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great landscaping job to wor kat.
Labor Worker -Start Date (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana, CANovember 23, 2018
I had a great expereince working at Brightview landscaping. I got along with all my co-workers as well as my supervisers and managers, It's a great job for those seeking a job that requires working outdoors and being hands on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of folks
Lead Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calabasas, CANovember 20, 2018
everyone nice, building beautiful. national company. could use team building and better system roadmap. uses E1 as ERP system. Has numerous in-house developed systems. has antiquated systems that require lots of support. nice place to work.
Pros
nice people
Cons
could use better IT strategy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run from this company
Associate Production Manager (Former Employee) –  HomesteadNovember 16, 2018
Protect your self!!! Keep records of everything you do. Make sure you keep good records of your Hours and the hours of all of you crews. If you are an Associate Production Manager , Remember that you are responsible to Hire your crew not your account Manager .
Pros
None
Cons
To many to name
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, good coworkers, great benefits!
Crewman (Former Employee) –  Sewickley, PANovember 16, 2018
This company is great to work for. New equipment, safe, great benefits, fun environment, fast paced. Would recommend this company to family and friends.
Pros
Supply uniforms and safety equip.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brightview was a good company to work for
Landscaper (Former Employee) –  Deltona, FLNovember 15, 2018
Working at bright view was very fulfilling for me. I love working outdoors making properties look very neat and clean. Planting, and trimming tress was my favorite job there.
Pros
working outside
Cons
communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Lenexa, KSNovember 8, 2018
Avoid at all costs. This company is full of liars and cheaters... they will make you feel like a H2B Visa slave worker, except, that you do not get any of the benefits !
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
eh.
Employee (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCNovember 7, 2018
This is a typical landscaping company walking the tight rope between quality work and the bottom line. I would not work there again. ..............
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a nice place to work just long days
Landscaper (Current Employee) –  Chesapeake, VANovember 7, 2018
It’s a good place to start a career if you have no experience . They show you how to use the equipment and properly maintenancing the equipment. Also very understanding with felons and criminal records.
Pros
Laid back
Cons
10 hour days in the summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 6, 2018
Excellent company to work for. In my time at The Brickman Group I was heavily mentored and trained. I was able to manage my portfolio with a combination of my own skills, expertise and experience together with the many tools and support from great managers and coworkers.
Pros
Great expense account for my clients
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this place like the plague
Chemical Technician (Former Employee) –  Las Colinas, TXNovember 5, 2018
They bought our company. They lied from the very beginning. Account managers don't last long here because they leave asap to a better job. Their emphasis on safety is merely a disguise to keep the insurance companies happy and to use as a club on the workers. Don't expect to get overtime. If you are an ordinary worker do not expect PTO. If you are thinking of leaving, take all your PTO before you tell anyone because they will take it from you. Avoid this place.
Pros
plenty of work because nobody wants to work there
Cons
lies, poor management, stock is dropping like a stone
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brightview. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 601 reviews
5163
4170
3138
268
162

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

1.8InHerSight Score

1.5Personal Development

2.0Career Opportunities

1.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight