Brightview Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disrespectful
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Navarre, FLJuly 6, 2018
Everything is good except management too many bosses telling you different things they talk down to you disrespect you act like they're better than you
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didnt like it
Landscaper (Former Employee) –  Calabasas, CAJune 27, 2018
It was a good company at first then jobs got weird traveling with no row time 3 hour drive sometimes leave didn't really train you left you to do something you didn't know what to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job with rewards
Concierge and Residential Aid (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 19, 2018
Fast paced job with rewards of making new friends and relationships with the tenants as a Caregiver and Concierge. No day was ever the same and plenty of smiling faces
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scam artists, promise clients the world, do not deliver. Not enough man power, no mechanics , equipment always breaks down.
Crew Leader/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, NYJune 18, 2018
Not a good job. Learn what you can and get a real job. The equipment is broken down and safety only counts in there favor. When it comes to doing difficult jobs they will throw you in an inferno.
Pros
Independence in a sense (crew leader)
Cons
Everything, con artists, sign that contract, they got you
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
landscaper (Former Employee) –  Longwood, FLJune 18, 2018
go in at 7:30am, get in truck with other co workers and go to job site and cut grass, weed eat, edging, what ever they told me to do I would do. spend long hours on commericail property cutting and edging
Pros
full time steady job
Cons
supervision
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair
Landscape Laborer (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 15, 2018
This place is unfair and managed poorly. The hardest working people including myself are the most underpaid and under compensated. Very few do their jobs or do it right. Management plays favorites. The hours are insane as well. Too little people and too little equipment to productively, safely and healthily complete the tasks at hand
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Sexy IPO
Manager (Former Employee) –  Orange County, CAJune 11, 2018
This is not a sexy IPO, its a landscape company going public. I rather invest in soybean famers.

For working at BrightView, it was a complete waste of my time. This company is a nightmare for people that have a true "la pasion" in the green industry as stewards to our mother earth.

BrightView's only view is on money, profit, and their biggest asset is not their people, but the profit they bring to their new shareholders.

A very unhealthy place to work and unless someone that has been with the company with actual pull got you the job and can actually protect you from getting harassed, laid off legally or not, you will be open season from upper management from day 1, as I was targeted from the two face pricks in the Irvine office location.

Plus, their benefits suck, where the medical coverage is garbage (thank God I had coverage from my wife's insurance), no dental or eye care, no 401k match, and they didn't even assist with moving costs. It was a complete regret and a waste of my time, where even years later, I don't even tell people or list on my resume I worked at BrightView.

See in this wonderful green industry, BrightView had a place, but they have bullied many outside their walls and rubbed a lot of people in Orange County (and I am sure elsewhere) the wrong way, and no one is impressed. Good Luck.
Pros
Close to the toll road
Cons
Little Benefits, Management, Stressful, Cutthroat
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairly stressful, overall.
CREW LEADER, LANDSCAPING (Current Employee) –  Morrisville, NCJune 5, 2018
Brightview pays better than most companies in this field, but they try to cram too much work into a week. If you love a fast-paced, challenging environment, this may be your kind of place. If you don't like having to leave a job done much less than perfectly, then don't work here. I think the ideal type of person to work at Brightview in junior or middle management is a person who doesn't mind confrontation and likes to have every moment of their day filled with something to do.
Pros
Pay, benfits
Cons
Stress, coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Danvers, MAJune 4, 2018
At Brightview senior living in Danvers, there is. bad management which led to drama in the workplace which was very unprofessional and not enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Brightview landscaping (Current Employee) –  Canton, MIMay 30, 2018
Can't deal with the heat
Great workers. Its too hot to be cutting grass for 14 hours a day. Amazing coworkers. Great management!!! I can work long days just not in direct sunlight
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
Tree care (Current Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAMay 28, 2018
Very good place to work hard work. A lot of overtime , managers know what are they doing ,, safety is a must in this place , party every month if yoy work safely
Pros
Overtime hours
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Landscape Laborer (Current Employee) –  Puyallup, WAMay 28, 2018
Good place to learn how to use lawn maintenance mowers. The proper way to use weed eater, trimmers, edger, blowers, and how to rack and use a hoe. Safety first.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brightview is a nice place to work. I did learn a great deal while working there.
Senior Living (Former Employee) –  Bel Air, MDMay 22, 2018
Brightview Senior Living is a nice place to work. They promote from within...but you have to really put your self out there and get them to notice you for them to see your potential. Brightview does have some great people working for them. Finding the ones that support you will determine your success at Brightview.
Pros
401k match. Employee incentives.
Cons
Could be better Corportate Management support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, takes up a lot of your time, work as a team
Landscaper (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, DEMay 22, 2018
Little breaks, walk at least 10 miles a day you learn how to use all machinery you also learn how to work with different people. You learn how to adapt to the different work environments.
Pros
Learn how to work every machinery
Cons
Short breaks, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very outgoing
Landscaping Laborer (Former Employee) –  Whittier, CAMay 19, 2018
It was fun in the first few months was working with rosehills company, then the company fired 10 employees and we had got 2 new managers and they didnt know what they where doing
Pros
some free lunches, and holidays off
Cons
short lunch or somtimes never had lunch and with full labor only got 10 min break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Account Manger
Tree Account Manger (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 17, 2018
I started with Brightview as a Tree Climber and they where really good to me. The pay was great and they supplied me with my own climbing gear. Nothing but the best climbing gear. I was working for a small company on a Saturday and was hurt. They didn't fire me witch I was supprized. Then the Account Manger position came open and they hired me for that position . They are a great company to work for even if you start at the bottom you can always work your way up
Pros
Good place to work
Cons
No con
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Fair!
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calabasas, CAMay 17, 2018
Hired at one position; given three more paid positions after those in the positions left/fired; not compensated for the gain in job duties; successful in those new roles; asked for an increase after a year of doing all four positions; sadly never given more money. If you want to work hard and enjoy doing what you were hired to do and taken advantage of by adding the duties of three other paid positions all at the same time doing those said positions very well and NOT being recognized in an increase in salary then work for BrightView at the corporate office.
Pros
The workforce out in the field are wonderfully hard workers!
Cons
Nepotism
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies i ever worked for. Your apart of an amazing team that wants to help you succeed
Landscaper (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYMay 12, 2018
BrightView is one of the most challenging and competitive companies I worked for. From management all the way to entry level employment, they collaborate and communicate as a team everywhere you go and with everything you do. Working for this company has its difficulties as it's very physically demanding but its lots of fun and the people you work with become like a second family and are there to help you be the best version of yourself you can possibly be.
Pros
Great hours and plenty of overtime. Awesome group to work with and for.
Cons
Changes are always made at the last minute and you just have to be prepared for them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management
Branch Administrator (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCMay 6, 2018
Enjoyable work environment and management was very flexible. A laid back work environment with a great staff.
Great place to network with other branches to help with job questions.
Pros
Great boss
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a relaxing environment and fun place to work at
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Lakewood, NJApril 24, 2018
I feel like they can be more serious about jobs and not do jobs half way but on the other hand they are good teachers and I learned a lot about landscape and they treat you with respect
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brightview. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 95 reviews
523
418
329
29
116

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.5

2.1Personal Development

1.9Career Opportunities

3.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight