Play YouTube video button

Brookfield Zoo Employee Reviews

Found 183 reviews matching the search See all 185 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
Brookfield Zoo selected this as a representative review
Rewarding and strong work-life balance.
Employee (Current Employee) –  Brookfield, ILApril 19, 2019
Brookfield Zoo is a high quality employer with a great work-life balance for employees. The management adheres to industry standards and best practices. The zoo is a leader in it's field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Food Associate (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, ILMay 17, 2019
I happened to clean the restaurant the entire day some days, which consisted of me emptying the garbages and cleaning tables through out the day. Other days I would either cook fries, burgers, or prepare sandwiches the entire shift.
Pros
Discounts, free zoo admission
Cons
Stressful shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
SECTIONAL SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Brookfield, ILApril 22, 2019
Most management are completely detached from their staff. Resulting in unnecessary steps to fix things that aren't wrong, while most actual problems get ignored.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work, meet a lot of new people
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, IL 60513April 5, 2019
it was a good place to work and all, I met a lot of new people and made some new friends. a typical day at work was standing 8 hours or more during the summer you stand for a longer period of time. the management was good except when you will want to take some days off they weren't always fair. the hardest part of the job was keeping up when it got busy. the most enjoyable part was meeting and becoming friends with new people.
Pros
meet great people, good pay
Cons
short breaks, no free lunch, etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeper
Keeper (Former Employee) –  Brookfield IlMarch 28, 2019
The animals and guests were the best experience. One cannot help but learn a great deal working as a keeper. The hours shift during seasons and one must be able to comply with those changes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Picnic Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brookfield, ILMarch 27, 2019
Great place to work
You said this would only take a few minutes
I have no interest in any more reviews
I liked every place I have ever worked and never wanted to leave any of them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Admission Associate (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, ILMarch 13, 2019
They very unorganized and lack of communication. I really enjoyed working there but I wish there was more opportunities to learn different things. I did not like how I was getting in trouble for doing my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Park Safety officer (Current Employee) –  Brookfield, ILFebruary 9, 2019
Things can go sideways in a matter of seconds. It is on you to figure out what to do and how to do it. There is little to no on job training provided and you are assumed to know what to do in situations that have never occurred before.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard-working environment surrounded by supportive co-workers.
Animal Care Specialist Intern (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, ILFebruary 8, 2019
typical work day involved usual animal care tasks for each routine within department, learned a wealth of information related to the wide variety of species within the department, management was easy to work with and supportive, workplace culture was productive as many co-workers had been there for a while, so everyone knew how to work with each other well. no hard parts, just alot of work, most enjoyable part was probably the sense of accomplishment obtained when the work day was done, knowing I made a difference in the animals lives for the day.
Pros
experience gained with variety of species in department
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at, but not many hours are given.
Seasonal Admissions Associate (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, ILJanuary 21, 2019
Although it is open 365 days a year, not many hours are given throughout the year due to the amount of people being hired. The people working there are great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love that place
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, ILJanuary 19, 2019
Nice place to work! Great benefits, you get to see all the animals anytime you want , friendly people and visitor, close to my home , it’s always entertainment going on there
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Client Service Associate
Client Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, ILJanuary 8, 2019
I enjoyed working at the zoo being able to interact with several different customers and got a long great with my co workers it was a fun place to work.
Pros
Free food drinks and attractions
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun interesting always doubling on
Guest Services/ Parking Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, ILDecember 21, 2018
Beautiful park to work in. Guests are always telling me how much they love visiting and seeing the animals. Something is always going on. Field trips, Weddings, Prom, Birthday parties and meetings.
Pros
Fresh air
Cons
Sometimes the weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours during the summer
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Brookfield, ILDecember 21, 2018
Brookfield zoo is great to work at during the summer there’s plenty of hours the environment is fast paced but very compelling. During the winter hours are very limited once January comes around a majority of people are laid off till the summer time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredibly fun but very stressful
Motor Tram Safari Guide (Current Employee) –  Brookfield, ILDecember 14, 2018
I absolutely love working here. All my coworkers are incredible and it is awesome to be able to work outside. However, the management does not really know what's going on and there is a terrifying lack of communication.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the relaxed culture at the Chicago Zoo
Bartender/Bar Department (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, ILOctober 14, 2018
As a second job it's perfect to supplement your income, the management is great, you work around/near animals which is relaxing in itself and you're not pressured to meet any deadlines like you are in a corporate setting.
Pros
great tips
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream Job
Internship (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, ILOctober 5, 2018
Working at Brookfield was an amazing experience for me. The people were great, very friendly and helpful. I would recommend Brookfield to anyone looking to be happy in their work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place for your family to come and see the animals
Food Preparer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 4, 2018
My review of working at Brookfield zoo was productive . I made sure i set up door for custmomer consumption and making sure i take orders correctly as they come
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at brookfield zoo
Cashier/Server (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, ILOctober 3, 2018
Brookfield zoo was my first job. It had alot of pro's and con's like getting free zoo passes when you first start. Having to work in between your school scheldule. But also alot of bad things.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was kind of cool day
Picnic Attendant (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, ILSeptember 30, 2018
It was a smooth day but i was on my feet the whole day. My feet use to hurt so much and I only worked 2 days a week and didn't get paid enough for all the work I did.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Internal Auditor (Current Employee) –  Brookfield, ILSeptember 18, 2018
Great place to work! Lots of great employees. Learn so much about what it really takes to run a zoo. Learn and have hands on experience with animals.
Pros
Fun, laid back & stress free
Cons
Hours! When the weather is bad, you don't go to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brookfield Zoo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 185 reviews
588
455
330
28
14

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

3.5InHerSight Score

3.3Personal Development

4.3Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight