Brooklyn Public Library Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviornment
Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 6, 2018
It is a great place to work if you are interested in collaboration, advancing your career and expanding your knowledge. It allows you to work with young children and parents. It is a great way to build people skills and interacting with young minds.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow pace work place
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 3, 2018
I was a volunteer here for a few year. It was very slow pace I enjoyed Working with the kids and tutoring them. This was a great way to build my resume.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
calm
Library Page (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 14, 2018
days are usual slow , book shelving gets crazy after a holiday , meet really interesting people . staff is great only if you a people person . its really a people person job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable but sometimes difficult.
Volunteer Library Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 12, 2018
overall the work place at Brooklyn public library was enjoyable. the best part about working there is helping the patrons the comer into the library for many different reasons. it"s both satisfying and fulfilling to know that i could help and put a smile on their face. the hardest part about working here would be the difference of opinions as well as the attitude of most of the staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its the Brooklyn Public Library!
Technology Resource Specialist (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 23, 2018
Many different personalities to work with, customer service (Both internal and external) is very important.

Team efforts and autonomous roles depending on department and job title.

Most teams or staff become close knit / family like in positive and negative ways.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun enviornment
Library Associate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 8, 2018
Resolve customer concerns, Listen to upset customers and explain companies policies and make the best decisions to resolve the issues. Learned split second problem solving. Help customers with computers and job hunting. Create programs for patrons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was amazing
Pages Associate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 27, 2018
My experience at Brooklyn Public Library as an Intern was an amazing experience. If you love reading books and working in a relaxed environment, this job is for you. I've learned how the system works in the library, learned how to reserve books, send books away to the right library. Also, I was very handy on translating for the people who didn't speak Spanish. Stocking books was a very easy, relaxed, slow duty to do. People in the library are nice and the supervisors as well.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review for Mapleton Branch only
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 14, 2018
Horrible place to work. Poor management. Co-workers were "old-timers" and not friendly or open to newcomers. Branch old and falling apart. No one worked as a team. Don't work there unless you like to be miserable..
Pros
close to my house
Cons
so many
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine
Librarian (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NY 11234January 8, 2018
Served both breakfast and lunch to the kids at the Library
Properly shelved the books
Took stock of the books in all the other branches
Handled late and replacement fees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A book nerd's dream
Library Page (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 26, 2017
I love working at the library, interacting with patrons and helping them out. Intensity varies by day and time. There are some quiet hours, but then also periods of business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Team work.
Technology Resource Specialist (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 18, 2017
The Library consist of Team work and fun. At the library you are encourage to share ideas and start exciting programs to keep the diverse public that we encounter on a daily basis engage.
It is a fast pace environment which consist of not only Parents and children we deal with homeless, Mentally challenged people also which can create a stressful environment,however it is a pleasure working here, you learn something new everyday and everyone helps.
Pros
Benefits, Staff and work hours
Cons
Some Management are a bit incompetent .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn.
T4 Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 4, 2017
Great place to work however you won't be hired if you have family members or relatives working in the same organization. Sadly said, there are numbers of family members working within the same units and departments. They are either the very elite, lucky or the not so truthful when applying for the job.
Pros
Great place to work in.
Cons
Don't hire family members even if they are qualified or highly recommended for the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
common work day
Part-Time worker (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 1, 2017
depends on whatever day it could be slow or a fast paced . youll meet wonderful people . work load sometimes feel like you dont get paid enough. but working at the library is great for a first job
Pros
Discounts
Cons
not suitable for a financially ambitious
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 11, 2017
working at the library was interesting because i found cool interesting books to read and i also tutored kids after school at the library as well. the library was organized and well taken care of , awesome staff.
Pros
free computer excess
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job ever
Office Aide III/Clerk (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 11, 2017
A typical day at work was always great the customers was always pleasant the staff was always Super fun loving people to work with al so very professional .
Pros
great opportunities
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Employees/Coworkers
Shelf Organizer (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NY 11209October 7, 2017
Everyday is a fun day at library.
Learning how to shelf hold books was the best!
Management is excellent.
Workplace is beautiful and safe.
The most enjoyable part of the job was learning how to scan books for holds.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a well balanced job place
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 19, 2017
My job daily would be different it would be simple like restocking books on bookshelf and unloading packages. Also at times i would help out during events.
Pros
Work exexperience
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
library page
Library Page (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 14, 2017
putting unwanted books away . want it process more.
would like to learn more, to work on the library. help with customers.
fixing shelfs. like to work with people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 30, 2017
This was a very relaxed environment to work. The staff was very patient and helpful during my time as a volunteer there. My fellow volunteers were very friendly as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part Time
Part Time Employee (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 8, 2017
A typical day working for the Library was always a pleasure, I was managed by a set of great women who taught me a lot, it was my first job. I would help organize the shelves, help customers find the books they needed and most importantly got to participate in Art & Crafts.

The only con was the budget cuts, which is why I had to find a new job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brooklyn Public Library. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 97 reviews
538
434
314
27
14

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

Brooklyn Public Library Reviews by Location