Broward College Employee Reviews

Found 338 reviews matching the search See all 341 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management isn't the best...
Administrative Specialist III (Former Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLFebruary 4, 2019
Broward College has many great leaders but lacks opportunities for growth and lack of resources at times... I think it is a great stepping stone for moving on towards something better in the future.
Pros
Company has great professional people who care for students
Cons
Organization, lack of resources
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative Atmosphere
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Davie, FLFebruary 1, 2019
I had the opportunity to teach at Broward College for 20 years as an adjunct professor. I found the facilities to be very good and my managers have always been both helpful and supportive.
Pros
Great Enviornment
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated to producing quality nurses
Adjunct Nurse Educator (Former Employee) –  Davies Country Acres, FLJanuary 30, 2019
The workplace culture was pleasant and there was a clear cut commitment to produce the most qualified nurses in the county. The instructors were driven and dedicated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on which industry
Specialist (Current Employee) –  Davie, FLJanuary 22, 2019
Broward College has many options, and has great employee benefits. However, if you are a part-timer, do not think that you will be given any recognition.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About Broward College
Assistant Professor of Mathematics (Current Employee) –  Davie, FLJanuary 20, 2019
I've had a rewarding career there. They just have high turn-over in administrators, and each one wants so many changes, it's hard to keep up! I would like to feel valued more for the hard work I do.
Pros
Job security, great colleagues, excellent students, freedom to teach what I wish.
Cons
Administration constantly changing, lots of work for little pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job experience
Chemistry Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Davie, FLJanuary 18, 2019
Working in the lab was great due to having a good lab manager who was very considerate. It was a great job and it gave me great experience in the lab setting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic Contribution
Business Professor and Instructional design. (Former Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLJanuary 2, 2019
My job at Broward College provided the opportunity to interact with a diverse population of students while making a positive impact on the lives of students, faculty, and staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Good Environment, but low pay
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLDecember 29, 2018
Job requires a lot of experience, education, and preparation but pays less than required. The worst part of the job is the job security, as well, as pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best part-time jobs to get while in college.
Admininstrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Davie, FLDecember 24, 2018
Pros:

- 27.5 Hours a week are stable and guaranteed.
- Monday - Friday work week with the weekends off.
- Holidays off including Spring break and Christmas break.
- Staff and Faculty are very friendly and professional.
- Job duties are simple but tasks and questions can be very broad.
- Parking is never an issue.
- Can slack off a bit and even eat at your office when quiet.
- Looks great on your resume.
- Great way to get Office, Customer Service, etc experience.
- Company hosts fun events for staff and faculty.
- May qualify for discounted courses.

Cons:

- Extremely difficult to get a job here, even for Part-Time positions.
- Getting a Full-Time position is near impossible.
- Pay is very lackluster compared to average of Admin Assistant.
- Communication can use some work here.

Conclusion:

This is an amazing job to have while going to college because the benefits associated with it outshine what most low-wage jobs even offer. It is very difficult to get hired here since it took me nearly 2.5 years to finally get hired here after countless of applications submitted.

I have been here for 2 months and I can say I enjoy it very much. Though I don't plan to be here for much longer since I graduated with my degree in Finance and now seeking full-time employment. For all young college students out there, if you get a job like this, hang on to it for as long as you can because its hard to find anything better.

4/5 would recommend.
Pros
Hours, Holidays, Easy, Experience, Discounts.
Cons
Hard to get hired, Pay, Full-Time offers rare.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learning experience
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Coconut Creek, FLDecember 20, 2018
I enjoy helping students with their homework and give some good tips about how to succeed in any exams. I learn from them also sometimes. The hardest part of the job sometimes is to give the student different strategies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Math tutor (Current Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLDecember 16, 2018
Very flexible, not stressful and comfortable place to work as an active student. Perfect match for additional income, and for getting experience. Would recommend.
Pros
Schedule
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unable to become full time
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, FLDecember 3, 2018
The time it takes in order to become a full time professor at Broward College was very long, and still wasn't guaranteed. It was also very much a "who you know" place to work versus a "what you know".
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are a lot of nice people to work with
Academic Technologist (Current Employee) –  Davie, FLNovember 30, 2018
I work at Broward College and the best part of working here is the people I work with. The worst part is if they think you are doing a good job, stuff tends to be piled on you with out extra compensation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary
STUDENT ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLNovember 16, 2018
It's fine as a side hustle that can lead to other side hustles. You won't make enough to pay for school and live on your own. Part-time is an understatement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Orientation Leader (Current Employee) –  Davie, FLNovember 10, 2018
Worked there since I was 18. Best years of my life.
I started with a scholarship position and quickly advanced. They are always open to try new things and work with school schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Clerk/Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLNovember 3, 2018
Performed general office suppost in multiple work areas within campus. Greeted and directed incoming students, faculty and visitors on a day to day basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced family environment
Payroll Specialist/A/P Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLOctober 7, 2018
excellent work environment it was like a big family had a great time loved the work i did the system was very user friendly and it was a fast paced environment with strict deadlines loved it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You must actively stay on top of communication with supervisors to stay employed
Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLOctober 5, 2018
As a part-time employee who has been seeking and has applied for full-time employments over the last 12 years, not once was I accepted for full-time employment even though my qualifications and experience far surpass that of the individuals who were selected for the positions. Once, I was even told that I was not selected because I did not meet the equal opportunity ethnicity requirement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Previous Employee
Financial Aid Representative (Former Employee) –  Coconut Creek, FLSeptember 29, 2018
Broward College is a great place to work. Most of the managers are a pleasure to have as leaders.
I was treated with respect and care by this compnay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to adjunct
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLSeptember 22, 2018
I was an adjunct professor there for about a year. Even though my commute was far, it was worth it. I enjoyed the students, the faculty, and staff. It helped develop and grow as a professor.
Pros
Good starting ground for young adjuncts
Cons
distance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Broward College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 341 reviews
5186
497
336
214
18

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

3.8InHerSight Score

3.8Personal Development

4.1Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight