BTS Research Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Biologics Safety Testing
Lab Technician II (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 19, 2018
Opportunities for promotions. Good learning experience. Hire entry level directly rather than through third party contacts. Lower pay than big pharma. Sometimes unrealistic expectations for turn-around time. One advise is to expand the facility and offer better compensation to attract more talent.
Pros
Expanding and actively hiring.
Cons
Facility undersized for number of employees due to growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work Starting out
Reseach Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 15, 2018
I have been working at BTS Research for more than 3 years:

-well paid.
-Receive on the job training.
-opportunities to learn new skills.
-opportunities to continue education.
-option to move to other departments with little experience.

One advice is to hire more staff.
Pros
well paid, Receive on the job training, opportunities to learn new skills, opportunities to continue education, option to move to other departments with little experience
Cons
no work/life balance (way too much overtime and forcing people to work off hours), on call at all times
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent if you can adapt to the job
Technician I (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 11, 2018
Good place to get experience in a clean room environment, or for experience with animal handling and husbandry. Honestly, the job won't be for everyone. work is almost entirely in clean rooms, with you inside for the entire shift, and the work can be physically exhausting. Other than informing about overtime in advance, things are mostly fine. I ended up leaving for work more related to my field.
Pros
Decent pay for the area and benefits, lots of hours while I was there
Cons
You're not sitting down except on breaks, and the work is in an area that houses a lot of rodents, so it can smell. This wasn't a huge problem for me but it definitely can be for others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a pleasant experience. Great benefits, but you are just a number in the system.
Research Specialist II (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 8, 2018
I was a former full time Research Specialist at BTS Research. Nice work atmosphere, you get paid extra hours. Also, some days there is free breakfast or lunch, or people just bring donuts to share.
Pros
You can't beat their benefits. Healthcare, retirement, discount program, etc...
Cons
You are just another name in the big company. If you want to feel you are important in the company, this is not the place for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok company to work for
Employee (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 5, 2018
I worked at BTS Research full-time. Lots of opportunities to switch locations, the company pays for certification tests. Need more help from floating supervisors - hands off is good... but seeing your supervisor once a year is unacceptable.
Pros
Great benefits, lots of opportunities to move within the company
Cons
Limited time off, no structure or guidance from supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall
Employee (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 2, 2018
BTS Research offer a strong benefit package (including medical, 401K match and perks). Direct supervisors are good to work for. Overall employee moral can be low at times, negatively often times breeds negatively. Can be difficult to move up the ladder.
Pros
Benefits, perceptive managers, Certs paid by the company.
Cons
Fellow coworkers do not pull their weight. Research staff treats you like the help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheap ownership run by poor apathetic management
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 16, 2018
Avoid, people run themselves ragged working to create accurate data & caregive for animals housed in a poor facility with little to no help for upkeep
Pros
Meek existance
Cons
Abusive greedy company
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a recommended place of employment at time I was there.
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 30, 2018
At the time I was there staff had good thoughts but management did not consider. Management needs to listen to staff and take their suggestions or consider.

Staff was very knowledgeable and had lots to train newer staff in.
Pros
Variability in studies
Cons
Work/home life was not well supported.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BTS Research
Accounting Manager (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 30, 2018
not a company to work for. Bad management. Company is in a brink of bankruptcy. Employee turnover is very high. No training no further employee development
Pros
birthday cake
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unprofessional management manage professional
Study Director (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 1, 2018
person against person, group against group, the management make this people find another people's fault, this group against another group instead of cooperating to complete a project. The more work you do, the more responsibility you take, the more blame you will receive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Animal Husbandry Technician (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 14, 2017
BTS was a nightmare for many reasons. Vacations could only be had in off season times. If machinery broke down they would take forever to get them fixed and they made me wash cages with acids to get them clean wearing kitchen gloves. I was burned on my upper arms. The air conditioner did not work in my room and I was forced to leave it many times during the day. There were no drains in the cage wash room. Things were just not done right.
Pros
Paying job
Cons
Bad workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Vivarium Technician II (Current Employee) –  SORRENTO VALLEYAugust 4, 2017
I love working with dogs and nhp .I love the company but I don't like the management don't know how to work they only know how to get tell workers by.And that;s not right .
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 31, 2017
Bad work environment, small company, confused management structure. Many people quit due to poor work environment. Not recommended. Pay also below industry average.
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Company
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 26, 2017
California - Staff discriminates
Small company does not give raises or bonus to employees.
The work conditions, salary and benefits were all at a very low level
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BTS Research. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 15 reviews
50
47
30
23
15

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.4Compensation/Benefits
2.1Job Security/Advancement
2.4Management
2.4Culture

BTS Research Reviews by Location