Buffalo Public Schools Employee Reviews

Showing all 80 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too much drama
Groundskeeper/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, MNAugust 17, 2018
Way too much drama, sometimes we all need to take a step back and assess what is really important, Insurance is good, but expensive. Labor union is weak.
Pros
pay is fair
Cons
health insurance is too expensive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Buffalo public schools school 93July 30, 2018
I love working for the board of education , I enjoy working and helping the children. And also love the people o work with , I would like to receive some heath benefits
Pros
Job stability and union
Cons
No room to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Students
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJuly 12, 2018
I do my job for the students. There are many things wrong with BPS. There are many teachers and MANY administrators who should be disciplined and dismissed and who are instead shuffled around the district and kept at top pay. This is not fair to the kids and definitely is not fair to the staff members who work hard everyday.
Pros
The students
Cons
The teachers who don't belong there and get away with being there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with professional.
Interpreter and Instructor (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJune 14, 2018
I did volunteer work at Buffalo Public schools. It was not a paying job. I was happy working with different kind of people from different part of the world.
Pros
learning new experiences.
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheerful, hard-working crew
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMay 13, 2018
I currently work in a Pk-8 public school building with approximately 1200 students. The most enjoyable part of the job are the children. The staff is extremely hard-working and easy going.
Pros
kids, staff, parents
Cons
not enough time in the day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent organization
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMay 10, 2018
I am grateful to be part of this beautiful family well known as Buffalo Public School. I've learned a bunch of good things in this organization. They treat well the employees and they are very organized.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going but can be stressful
Jantorial Services at BPS #43 (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMay 9, 2018
The schools are easy going but can be stressful who aren’t used being treated like a maid or a peasant in a workplace. Other then the that and low paying wages everything else about the job is great.
Pros
Free lunch and health care
Cons
Low compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMay 5, 2018
Awesome staff and environment. I learned a great deal from this position and would recommend this organization to those seeking meaningful employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer for after school program
Level 1 Psychosocial Fieldwork- Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYApril 18, 2018
I only attended after school program for the children. I helped kids with their homework and played in the gym. I did not have any benefits or things of that kind because I was only a volunteer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYFebruary 21, 2018
You'll never get rich but will be enriched by working with and for the children. The days can be trying and sometimes long but once you make relationships the time flies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Schools in general
Certified NYS Teaching Assistant (TA) Retired (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYFebruary 19, 2018
Although the benefits are great, the overall system in today's schools are broken and do not allow teachers and staff to do the best job possible. Everything is in favor of students whether they are right or wrong. Teachers have to worry about every word and action they take.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
broken system
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Classroom Volunteer
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJanuary 23, 2018
I have volunteered at School #99, Makowski for many years. I enjoy the open style classrooms and the energy of the teachers, building wide. I know that these professionals hard for their students, and the students do so in return.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYDecember 24, 2017
I have good classroom management some days my job can be very streeful I really enjoy watching the kids learn new things the hardest part of my job is getting to know each child
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Administrative Secretary (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYDecember 21, 2017
I've worked for the Buffalo Board of Education for most of my life. It is a wonderful organization to work for. I've held 6 clerical positions and one first line supervisor's position over the years. It has afforded me a wealth of experience, opportunities, and plenty of growth. The benefits are wonderful.

In my current position as an Administrative Assistant, I answer the telephones, schedule excursions for students attending Buffalo Public Schools, order all supplies and maintenance/service work, process and pays all invoices. update department's web page with scholarship information and employment opportunities for students. Type all documents, including all contracts. Process extra curricular payroll for 80 Guidance Counselors, Administrators and Teachers. Schedule and book venues as necessary. Maintain attendance for students formerly suspended.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
There really aren't any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review summary
General Maintenance Worker (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYNovember 28, 2017
I learned a lot at my current job but I am ready for advancement at this point of my life. The job had great benefits but didn't offer room for pay increase.
Pros
Workplace Culture, Health Care
Cons
No advancements, No pay increase
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYNovember 20, 2017
everyday is a different experience. decent place to work. many different opportunities at all of the schools. i would recommend this to someone who is just starting out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day in the Life
Supervisor of Music (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NY 14204October 17, 2017
I'm going to leave opinions to those who have had the honor of working for BPS. You're as successful as the efforts you contribute and the lives that you change.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Job, Difficult Role
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYOctober 15, 2017
Working with the students is rewarding.

$100/day is too little to meet basic necessities like rent, car insurance, car payment, phone lease & payment, internet, groceries, dry-cleaning, gas. Ended up using a cash advance once to pay my bills.

Satisfactory if you can get 2 week and 1 month assignments and have a base school.
Pros
rewarding, fulfilling
Cons
low pay, lack of stability
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buffalo Schools
School Clerk (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYSeptember 29, 2017
It's a great organization to work for.
I've worked with the organization for nearly 29 years and it has been a great experience.
Am looking for an evening part time position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good intentions !!
Mentor Manager (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYSeptember 6, 2017
a very fast moving and confusing place at times
learn to move on
management needs more training
work culture need staff morale to improve
hardest part of job was to trust leaders
most enjoyable was to see students grow and achieve academically
Pros
Student growth
Cons
Trust issues with leaders, Lack of support
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Buffalo Public Schools. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 80 reviews
522
422
326
26
14

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.1InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

1.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Buffalo Public Schools Reviews by Location