Burlington Stores Employee Reviews for Sales Associate

3.4
Overall rating
Based on 6,323 reviews
Ratings breakdown
51.6K
41.6K
31.8K
2687
1693
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 890 reviews matching the search See all 6,320 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked & under paid
Sales Associate (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Winterville, NCJuly 21, 2018
This place will leave workers underpaid and overworked. The schedule was never consistent and interfered with my sleeping patterns. The most possible hours are during Thanksgiving and Christmas seasons, but hours are still quickly cut. You can be removed from the the schedule on the weekend at the last minute and management will not call to warn you, wasting your gas and time. Workers are rude to customers. Too much gossip and drama there, without benefits or decent pay. If you are not retiring but need a tiny part time check for the moment, accept the job while still doing applications elsewhere and going to college. Workers always quitting there. It is difficult to get breaks and lunches on time because plenty ignore you on the walkie.
Pros
Use as a stepping stone to another job
Cons
Awful raises, poor treatment from management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good expirence but becomes stressful overtime
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 18, 2018
The job actually is very straightforward you're told to do a task and complete in a certain amount of time. Usually you Ethier would be on the sale floor recovering your specific assigned area or you be up at the front being a cashier. The issues mostly are an organization, their times their no supervisor and over tie many full timers and assistant manager would leave or transfer. The closing also has issues due to the sometimes lack of worker scheduled to close and the expectation of work done in a short amount of time. This leads to workers leaving later than they expected too. The hardest part sometimes is meeting expectations of the store manager
Pros
work expreince flexiable hours
Cons
Poor mangerment, work shedule is conssitent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not enjoy time working there
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dearborn, MIJuly 18, 2018
Terriable structure & customer service. There was me since of priority. Nor was there equal opportunity for all employees. Just a temporary job, that can't stay clean, nor structured when it comes to service
Pros
Short breaks
Cons
Dirty store
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work site. Gained retail experience.
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 16, 2018
I would mostly come in and do the same thing each day. I only worked 5 hours so It wasn't bad and I got to choose my hours. I had to wear all black as a uniform . I helped customers when needed and restocked and reorganize for my 5 hours and would do the same in repeat each day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I dont really have nothing to say abput burlington
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hanover, MDJuly 15, 2018
I don't have nothing to say I worked there for a while it was not for me managers were ok some were straight mean The main boss was older as he'll and didnt kno what was going on in his store. They don't give you paid time off or vacation days. No benefits
Pros
No free lunch
Cons
No free lunch. Do sick days no vaction time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing co workers and management
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Waldorf, MDJuly 14, 2018
I enjoy my job, never a dull day. I honestly love and enjoy the always busy, running around and organizing parts of the job! My management and my supervisors are kind, understanding and all around very kind and east going, true leaders and i am so lucky to have landed this job .
Pros
Mandatory 30 minute breaks
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCJuly 13, 2018
It started off great, but the management is absolutely terrible. Management was very disorganized and they never aided their employees needs. Managers got rude towards my ending period so it drove me to not return
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review
Full Time Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Linden, NJJuly 9, 2018
A typical day at Burlington would be to clock in, grab walkie talkie, place merchandise on the sales floor, assist customers and possibly ring up customers on the register if needed. I learned how to be a lead over Sales Associates and to take care of multiple departments at once. The job is easy and hands on learning. The most challenging part would be to ring on the register because I never had experience doing that before working here. The most enjoyable part is placing new merchandise on the sales floor and setting up displays according to holidays and seasons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job review
Sales Associate/Accounting (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJuly 6, 2018
Little to no structure. Scheduling is very unorganized, and turnover rate is very high. Mist the time rules are not followed by employees, and there are rarely no disciplinary actions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun good enviorment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VAJuly 3, 2018
Love clothew and interacting with people good service very clean and dedicated to customers and employees reliable teammates Hii great standard of leaderahip
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Burlington Stores?

Ask a question
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy workplace always helping customers
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Lawrenceville, GAJuly 2, 2018
keeps you busy and on your toes but needs work with management. provides great experience opportunities as well as learning different sales strategies not to open for schedule friendly home issues always short-staffed
Pros
employee discounts and family discounts
Cons
not very schedule friendly along with family and home issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYJune 24, 2018
They don't care if you are busy in your department, they will take you out of your department and then make you go to a different department to work in it and then make you go back to your department to clean it up after working in a different department all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not like other retail
Full Time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 23, 2018
I worked there for about 4 months and this was my second job. Customers were rude 24/7 and management was never around to even help with anything. Nobody else would help you even at night time felt like I was basically doing my department by myself.
Pros
Pay every week
Cons
Short breaks, not enough pay, stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad retail
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth, NJJune 23, 2018
Quality and accuracy of work.
Ability to meet established goals and deadlines.
Communication skills.
Collaboration skills and teamwork.
Problem-solving skills.
Attendance and dependability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun and safe work place it helped me learned new things and meet new people.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXJune 22, 2018
Burlington was a safe and fun productive work environment it helped me over come my many fears and it also helped me learn new things and meet new people. It was very challenging at first but my coworkers and my managers all were there to help me and to motivate me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Burlington
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 20, 2018
Since the first day at Burlington I felt a connection with everyone and there was absolutely no hesitation whenever I would ask for help. This is why I love Burlington. We not only treat each other like family, but every single customer who shops at our store. I appreciate the fact that this company took time to train me and teach me everything I need to know
Pros
Love the additional employee discounts days!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One person, multiple departments.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZJune 19, 2018
During my time there I was a full-time college student making $7.00 an hour being required to close down multiple departments by myself. Unfortunately BCF has a history of taking advantage of their employees and staff members. Working in departments that are as big as some stores in the mall, then being required to upkeep fitting rooms and floor was a constant struggle of appeasement with management.
Pros
1/2 hour lunch breaks.
Cons
Does not offer benefits or fair starting pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kids job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Daytona Beach, FLJune 19, 2018
Fairly easy work. Good for younger people or those who have retired and need something part time. Messy inventory being that is a discount store. Lots of customers stealing. Management was serious but okay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail job in the heart of NYC
Part Time Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 18, 2018
Typical retail job on 14th street. Wear comfortable shoes for sure. I learned major conflict resolution skills from observing supervisors along with experiencing events of my own dealing with conflict.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Burlington Coat Factory
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 18, 2018
I'm currently a new employee here and so far management has been amazing and working with me on days I need off. As well as back up payment types through the company. The most enjoyable part of the job for me is meeting new people and interacting with coworkers. The only thing about the job I have been having trouble with is the dress code because I currently don't have money to but new work clothes.
Pros
15 to 30 percent associate discount
Cons
dresscode
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Burlington Stores. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Women's ratings

2.0Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

0%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss