BUTLER TRANSPORT Employee Reviews

Found 29 reviews matching the search See all 32 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
OTR Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSMay 22, 2019
70 hours worked did not compare to 70 hours of pay on hourly positions,they trived on micro-tasking which limits driver control,some managers human others machine like they had one terminal,but ran in many states.Only thing I enjoyed was 34 hour re-start and home time
Pros
nice equipment
Cons
no regard for how hard life on the road is
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could Have Been More
CDL Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSOctober 21, 2018
Would Have StayedIf The Companie Woul Have Been More Orgonized And Respectfule Of My Needs And Not Maid Me Sit After My Home Time .Im A Runner And Never Wanted To Leav My Pay Sufferd From Sitting At Customer To Get Loaded
Pros
N/a
Cons
always Sat LongTime After Going Back After Home Time Not Fair To Familie
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over the Road as a solo driver
Solo Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSOctober 12, 2018
I enjoyed driving cross county 8 years. The hardest part I feel was small back road and up & down the mountains.But I did it safely. My day starts at 3 am most of the time. I was able to pick up loads and deliver on and before time.At times i had drop and hooks. There are times live loads.Sweeping out trails.Checking on a daily bases the maintenance of the truck.Each day I learn something different to keep me safe from state to state.
Pros
Love to see and learn new things everyday
Cons
Miss my growing family
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  United StatesJune 25, 2018
Good pay easy dispatch but hard to find places to deliver to good equipment nice terminal all way ready to help they under stand your problem i wish i could have stayed but i had family problem
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Dont no
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with Butler transport
Company Driver (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, KSJune 19, 2018
Butler Transport is a great place to work for. On another note it is quite hard to balance family and work, considering the fact you have to be on the road at least two weeks straight in order to make a decent living.
Pros
Decent pay, great staff, job security
Cons
No 401k, not enough home time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the company hate to leave
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, KSMarch 5, 2018
Awesome company I'll be here until I find something on the west coast. They gave me the truck I wanted, keep me running, and I love that I'm not just a number
Pros
Family oriented, good miles, good pay
Cons
none to me
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSFebruary 15, 2018
Very Very disrespectful to their Drivers. low miles. bad trucks . lots of loading , and unload time not payed for . last place you want to work.......
Pros
none
Cons
no detention, low miles . disrespectful
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough hours
Charlie Bollinger /Driver manager (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KS 66118December 30, 2017
Some days went to work and was sent home do to lack of work and for a one hour drive to and from I could not afford to work here long .about six hundred a week was take home not good for rriver
Pros
None
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to live on what you maid
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSNovember 1, 2017
They were good people the health insurance was 300 dollars a week and i could not being home enough money after insurance i was having pay check less then a hundred dollars a week cant live on that with a wife and kids over the road
Cons
High cost insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Door to Door Shuttle Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Westminster, MDOctober 31, 2017
I would definitely recommend this employer. It is one of the easiest most rewarding jobs i have ever obtained. I would go back if the opportunity arose.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start at
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, KSAugust 9, 2017
Butler really treats its trainees like a part of the Butler family. 5 stars from me compared to other companies who want to put you on a bus and even some that wants you to pay for your own room and food to attend orientation. There safety training is tops in the industry. Safety is most important in my eyes so for the Butler staff to go above and beyond stressing the safety aspects of the industry is right up my alley and what I was looking for. Driver trainers are excellent too.
Pros
Take good care of trainees
Cons
Getting used to waiting
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company
Driver (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSJuly 10, 2017
Overall Butler is a good company to work for. Pay could be better, but they have good equipment and do there best to keep you running.
Yes there are times that you may have to sit and wait for a load, but on average, I always had a load within an hour or so.

Getting ready to go back for the 2nd time.
Pros
good equipment, and staff
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Butler Transport
Office personnel (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, KSMay 19, 2017
Safety Mgr harasses the drivers especially those with cameras. Poorly managed. Employees are compensated decently, but no 401K and terrible insurance package. Company gets load detention, but will not pay drivers for detention. Extremely hostel HR/Payroll person.
Pros
Give those a chance that have a previous questionable record
Cons
Micromanaging of drivers by safety and poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are always updating equipment
Driver (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSMay 16, 2017
I had an accident that was not my fault and I got blamed anyway. Very safety oriented and dot minded good equipment good dispatchers.
Pros
Pay + per diem
Cons
Insurance too high
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun easy job
Professional Valet Driver (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 25, 2017
I started this job as a second job for supplemental income. I really enjoy it! each day is something different and you get to interact with plenty of different interesting individuals. Co-workers are great and young crowd. Very very fun
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do your job. Dont start sh#t You will be just fine.
Driver, dispatcher (Former Employee) –  kcksApril 12, 2017
Worked for them numerous times. You do your job and be professional. They will treat you the same. Act like a dumba#s. Well you get the picture. They try to accomodate hometime. This is a business. If you need that much hometime work at Mcdonalds. If the wheels aint spinning then the bills dont get paid..
Pros
Truck like a pro. Treated like one.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding
ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSMarch 14, 2017
I liked working at Butler Transport. It challenged me everyday. I enjoyed my work and everyone that I worked with. I liked learning new things and being able to learn new processes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Truck Driver Class Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSJanuary 24, 2017
Ok good place,people ok help you when you need it and mechanics work hard to get your truck in too fix on time works are good too talk too.
Pros
Ok good place
Cons
Ok good place
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, KSJanuary 4, 2017
Good people keep you moving honest and dependable good benefit package for drivers honest dispatch treet you like a person not a number owners care about the drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean and safe work place
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSDecember 6, 2016
get up do a pre-trip inspection map out my route decide was is the best one make ontime delivery as fast and safe as possible .
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BUTLER TRANSPORT. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 32 reviews
55
411
37
24
15

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture