BWI Companies, Inc. Employee Reviews

Showing all 34 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Carrollton, TXJanuary 16, 2019
I worked there for ten years and it was the best job I have ever had. Great Division Manager RN!! Great sales manager TB!! Great transportation manager DP!! Great office manager LS!! Great transportation supervisor CD!! If you have the opportunity work here! It was unfortunate I was not able to further my career here, but what a great bunch of managers and supervisors.
Pros
Great managers/supervisors and great pay
Cons
Can't think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some good people work there.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Carrollton, TXNovember 23, 2018
Typically the days were repetitious. The people for the most part were like a big family. Management could use some refresher classes. Office drama would be the worst part.
Pros
People
Cons
The drama
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good family like atmosphere.
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Meridian, MSNovember 4, 2018
It's a good job with good benefits. The company also does alot for their employees and would recommend anyone to work there.... You also get all major holidays off. I work at nights and work Sunday thru Thursday and off Friday and Saturdays.
Pros
Good benefits....
Cons
Work nights and don't get my hours...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BWI was like family
CUSTOMER SERVICE/SALES (Former Employee) –  Greer, SCOctober 24, 2018
It was a pleasant experience working with the BWI team in SC. They were very supportive, and open to everything. Not a tremendous amount of growth opportunities, but overall I enjoyed going to work everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Administrative assistant (Former Employee) –  Carrollton, TXOctober 8, 2018
Management has terrible attitudes and sets staff up for failure. Doesn't care about staff personal life only cares about making money. Does not provide staff with sufficient protective gear to protect from fumes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things were fine for me.
Transportation Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSAugust 13, 2018
I believe some of the drivers were done wrong. It wasn't horrible place to work, Upper management could have made thing better for the drivers. I believe warehouse workers should have worn masks.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
Upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
forklift operator Rodeo
Warehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSJuly 11, 2018
Come in get job duties
how to work computer to get orders out
Management was alright
Culture was okay
Working short during busy season
was getting perfect trip bonuses and safety bonuses
Pros
bonuses
Cons
nights shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSJuly 11, 2018
I had an overall excellent experience while working here.The staff was always on time, my supervisor was phenomenal, and everyone knew and understood their objective.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like one big family
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Nash, TXJuly 1, 2018
great coworkers. we were like one big family. fun place to work. always celebrating birthdays and work anniversaries. fast growing company. great benefits.
Pros
friday breakfast
Cons
desk job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place at one time
Former Sales Employee (Former Employee) –  Greer, SCApril 26, 2018
Gen Mgr had zero people skill’s. Could not be trusted at all. Knows nothing about the industry but thinks he’s an expert. Poor decisions regarding people and products a the Corporate and division levels. Sales reps pay constantly being changed for the worse. Zero motivation for the sales force.
Pros
Solid Sales Team
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Greer, SCApril 18, 2018
Poor choice of management hired by corporate. No experience in job field. Very little social skills needed in dealing with day to day customers and employees. Very non trustworthy.
Pros
Excellent Sales Group
Cons
Poor Choice of Sales Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work in Texarkana
DIVISION SALES MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, TXFebruary 26, 2018
But there are much better places as well - small town company with a small town mentality
Not sure you can trust management either as they don't show much loyalty to their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Family Oriented
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  MissouriJanuary 5, 2018
There are a lot of office political garbage going on in this business. Many of the office employees made up there own set of rules to follow regardless of what was in the company handbook, The leniency was nice to a point but there is a definite need for more consequences for those who choose to ignore company policy on a regular basis.
Pros
I had an AMAZING boss
Cons
Serious office politics - RIDICULOUS
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work, but low pay
Accounts Receivable Clerk (Current Employee) –  Nash, TXDecember 6, 2017
I enjoy my job at BWI, but if I had a complaint it would be that in almost 5 years I still do not make $12/hr. The health insurance is expensive (it costs me over $400/month) and does not cover much. The people are wonderful and we get a consistent 40 hrs/wk. I would recommend this job to someone looking for entry level position, but not someone who is looking for more.
Pros
Free breakfast on Fridays, hour lunch break, job stability
Cons
expensive health insurance & low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot from working at BWI
Accounts Receivable Clerk/Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSAugust 29, 2017
I enjoyed the years that I worked at BWI and learned many essential skills. I worked closely with the Office Manager to cross train in all positions in the office.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very laid back job
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MSJuly 7, 2017
Good place to work. Very good schedule. Home most night. No where you going. Just got really to work in on type of weather. And do mind doing a lil work. Paid pretty good
Pros
Get meal voucher
Cons
Pallet turn over you got restack it
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workers
wearhouse worker (Current Employee) –  Schulenburg, TXMay 1, 2017
Have a few workers that like to push there job duties on to other employees. Even team leads instead of being a leader they give there jobs duties to the other workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security
Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, TXApril 16, 2017
They seemed to have no respect for loyalty. Poor management no consistency. They would rather hire two young people then pay one experienced loyal employee. Corporate greed runs rampant there. My job was safe and I was told I could always come back but just bored with doing the same thing for 26 years.
Pros
Uniforms job security
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity
Greenhouse Territory Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 28, 2017
A typical day at BWI is anything but typical. One day you are on the road seeing 10-15 accounts and the next day you can be in the office following up on orders, availability and shipping. Strong emphasis on communication and relationship building. To the end user you are the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive contiues trainng
Territory Manager/ Distribution (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 5, 2016
Great company to work for Multiplelocations through out south west US. Benefits are great and plenty of room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport