CNA Insurance Employee Reviews

Found 390 reviews matching the search See all 396 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Administration (Current Employee) –  Lake Mary, FLJanuary 8, 2019
No training and terrible communication between management and employees. No accountability for employees work, no more quality checks. New top management only cares about the numbers and not the people.
Pros
Good 401k
Cons
Lack of communication, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moderately paced schedule providing sufficient break time and dress code.
Call Center Specialist (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 5, 2019
Phones and internet connections were rarely quiet. For the pace of claim intake (depending on claim line), the shift was over too soon. That is if you enjoyed the interactions provided within the intake process.
Pros
Paced to my satisfaction. Challenges in the IT programs developed for the group.
Cons
I'd have to get really picky for a 'con'. This was a good environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away , you will regret it
Underwriting Specialist (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 24, 2018
The St Louis is a very small office for the company that struggles with turnover of good employees. Management lacks experience and basic leadership fundamentals and there is zero recognition of employee engagement. Not sure why the decision was made to even open up a St Louis office to begin with as things were running much better when we were part of another branch. Wouldn’t recommend unless it happens to be your only option and you need a job.
Pros
Occasionally allowed to work from home
Cons
Too many to name
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good projects but lots of politics
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 14, 2018
Culture is either too relaxed or too busy to get work done that's required of others. Flatter organization relies on few individuals to make decisions. It's almost tougher for sub-ordinates as they aren't empowered enough to make those decisions that is required for them to be successful at their positions.
Pros
Work from Home, Work-Life Balance
Cons
Politics - feedback about you is given to others, not you directly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Processing Specialist Representative/CSR (Former Employee) –  Lake Mary, FLDecember 10, 2018
None to provide as this company does what they need to keep a float. They have had their share of struggles to balance the need for the employees and for the business overall,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WWO lacks strong intelligent leadership
Director (Former Employee) –  Lake Mary, FLDecember 8, 2018
The leader in WWO Operations consistently seeks Scape goats for her own failings. Poor leadership, no vision, short tempered with a culture of fingerprinting. Successes are either ignored or someone else takes sole credit for something they had little or nothing to do with. Plays favorites and expects everyone to kiss her rear.
Pros
Great pay, average health benefits, great 401 match
Cons
Bad culture, poor leadership with a wandering vision.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 15, 2018
Leadership is changing, however, it continues to be a financially solid and positive place to work. Everyplace has it's ups and downs. I enjoyed my time with CNA.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistent Focus
Senior Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 15, 2018
The company has trouble defining and following a path. It outsources almost every critical function and poorly manages its vendors. Management is very focused on the financial bottom line but neglects to pay attention to the quality of the operations or the well-being of its employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CNA Insurance Company
Outside Sales Associate/Field Rep (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKNovember 13, 2018
CNA was a first job for me. It offered many opportunities for growth and continuing education. Especially in the commercial and personal lines management field. Great starting point for my career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Becoming a tough environment to work in
Assistant Vice President (Current Employee) –  Lake Mary, FLNovember 9, 2018
Recent leadership changes have negatively impacted the culture at CNA. The company as a whole is a good strong company and very sound financially. It is positioned well in the marketplace, but the culture of the company has significantly changes in the past year making it a tough place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for them!
Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 6, 2018
Very very bad working atmosphere. Negative reinforcement and back stabbing is encouraged. Management is in constant fear so they are not willing to step up to take responsibility for their own actions and blame their mistakes on employees.

Very high paying though
Pros
High pay, great benefits
Cons
Be prepared to be blamed for things your managers do. Very negative vibe in the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best jobs i ever had
Kelly Contract Services (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 31, 2018
This is one of the best jobs i ever had. The company back in the 90's was so great, until they had a massive layoff. The management was great and so was my co-workers. I learned a lot about insurance working there.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
high turn over of lay-offs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Claim Compliance Technician (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 26, 2018
CNA is a great place to work, you will learn a lot about the business and meet great people. The culture is relaxed and flexible. The hardest part is probably advancing or going from one department to another.
Pros
great work- life balance, competitive salaries
Cons
advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get experence
Direct Billing Rep./Agency Service Rep. (Former Employee) –  Maitland, FLOctober 26, 2018
Worked direct billing and agency service rating. Rated custom account policies auto, properties, liabilities, etc... (large accounts like U-Haul, Hellmann’s Mayonnaise, etc.). Took the training to become a Agent Service Representative. Fast pace, enjoyed working there. Management was good. Hardest part was when they would not accept my letter from my doctor to request FLMA leave because I became sick and they let me go shortly after that. I enjoyed my job after all the training I got from them and really missed work there.
Pros
Kept you busey never had time to get bored.
Cons
CNA didn't work will with someone who became sick.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work for
Y2K Technical Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 23, 2018
Multiple roles and positions to choose from. Great management and work culture. Hard work, its busy but it makes the day go by quick. I would work there again
Pros
Free lunches and meals at times
Cons
Long commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience and learned lots
Claims Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNOctober 20, 2018
It was such a long time ago I worked here but I recall good people and it was an adventure learning the job duties since it was such a different job than previous.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a Great Company
Intake Specialist (Current Employee) –  Wyomissing, PAOctober 16, 2018
Great company to work for however managers have favoritism and only advance those they want to advance not based off performance goals and achievements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Declining Workplace Culture
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Lake Mary, FLOctober 8, 2018
Due to unforeseen changes, the work environment has decreased in quality to cover for increased quantity in the work load and you feel as though job security is questionable.
Pros
Health benefits
Cons
No sense of family
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The benefits are great and hours are flexible
Policy Service Support Representative (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 6, 2018
constant change, transitions, revolving door. If you perform well, my experience has been that cna does recognize and embrace the good performers and has practices in places to compensate those who peform well, are innovative, and pro active.
Pros
unlimited overtime
Cons
30 min lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid work environment, cost focused
Director of Strategy, Planning and Reporting (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 5, 2018
A large, dynamic operation that continually focused on cutting costs. A fast paced culture that is somewhat siloed based on functionality and responsibility.
Pros
Excellent compensation
Cons
Risk averse environment, hard to meet other employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CNA Insurance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 396 reviews
5115
4125
388
239
129

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight